We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We booked here in for 4 nights and it was stunning! The room was beautiful, very clean and comfortable. The food was great and very tasty. The infinity pool is everything that you can dream about and more. We hired a car and spent some time driving up and down the coast but to be honest I reccomend just staying in the hotel and relaxing!

I honestly don't see how anyone could ever complain about this hotel, it exceeded all of our expectations!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pageme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Having just returned I feel compelled to write a review

Pros
Very clean
Food Good (but not great)
Rooms - clean and very comfortable ... but the layout wont suit all. The combined toilet and shower door is different!
Infinity pool - spectacular
Facilities superb

Cons
Location - naff ... if you are not fit or in good shape you are stuck (unless you get a taxi) or use the resort train. This train stops at 6 ... and is on a very reduced service as end of season (cancelled on our last day). With no hotel alternative transport that is not acceptable for a hotel pretending to be 4*
Staff - most would benefit from customer service course
Only one English channel on the telly (that was Al Jazera)- come on ... when we left most of the residents were English (and like another reviewer - its background noise) while getting ready to go out.
No tea & coffee in the room - for 4* we would have expected
Layout is just strange - if you stay you will understand

If all THB Hotels are similar it will be my last stay in a THB hotel - just not my taste ... maybe I am too conventional! But this is definitely not a 4* Hotel and it is in a 1* location

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank broadstonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Made good use of inset days from school and enjoyed 4 nights in this very new spa hotel. Lived up to all our expectations and more. Great food, clean comfortable rooms and rooftop infinity pool to die for !

Room Tip: I think they are all good .
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a fantastic Hotel. The food was out of this World, freindly attentive service, Infinity pool is everything the photos promise and more!
A very modern Hotel set in beautiful surroundings with awesome views from all over the Hotel.
Spacious and very comfortable rooms.
We had a lovely holiday and the only fault we found was the strange lighting in the dinning room - keeping the room in perpetual twilight!
We went on a deal with Travelzoo and the price was fantastic for the 4* plus experience and we didnt find it over priced for a Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea sea views and balconys - we looked out over the tennis courts which I think is th...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from 7 days at the Higueron.
Rooms were lovely,very clean although we did have a Junior suite.
A little dissapointed that some families with small kids shared the same rooms as Children getting playfull and boysterous at nights not always welcome.
A kettle would have been great.
The bars close by 10.30pm and as you are a distance from anywhere this isntalways welcoming.
The restaurant didnt seem to open at a set time and we didnt manage a meal there yet.
We walked to the beach over 5 days there and back and yes you do need to be fit but we enjoyed it to the disbelief of everyone.
The gym was free and well equipped
The spa was well equipped
the staff were welcoming and efficient
The pools were all clean and well tended too.
prices were fair
Breakfast was good and plenty choice
Overall we will definately be returning and hopefully some of these points will be rectified and then in our books they would get full marks

T

Room Tip: Definately a suite for the extra its worth every euro.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was so excited to stay here after seeing the pics and it lived up to its image. I can see it might not be everybody's cup of tea as it's very modern and a little eccentric but that's what I loved.
The reception was very helpful and we found our room with ease. We'd booked a suite and so glad we had, it was amazing. A split level apartment with two bathrooms, two flat screen tvs, funky decor and a great view from the balcony. It was so spacious, you didn't feel like you were in a hotel. We headed straight to the bar for a drink and even though it was raining it didn't dampen our love of this place. The bar overlooks the infinity roof top pool. The whole place is just really 'cool' kind of reminds me of an expensive Ikea!
Breakfast too was amazing, everything was fresh including the orange juice. Only pain was going up to queue at the counter to get a hot drink while your food went a bit cold. It would be better if they served it or you just took a mug and teabag to a hot water dispenser.
All in all I wish our stay was longer and we could have enjoyed it in the sunshine. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonezy203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Me and my fiancé stayed here in September 2012 (the only week it had rained in Spain for ages). On arrival it looked fab, out in the middle of nowhere and very hard to find we were so pleased to finally find it. When we were told our room number and got out of our lift to the 'blue' theme I thought we were in a disco, bit weird but still looking forward to seeing our junior suite.

To be fair the room was lovely, fizz on arrival, two plasma screen tv's and a mini bar and a very private balcony which was nice. The spiral staircase was very creaky which was a tad annoying and the only channel on both tv's was discovery max.

The infinity pool was stunning, views were amazing, very contemporary and idilc setting. Relaxed atmosphere and very chilled out.

You can also hire these little electric cars out for €25 for 2hrs which are great fun if u remember your licence. Everyone was looking at us and laughing, even the police when I was whizzing down the road well over the proverbial speed limit.

Buffet was good, I like a lot of choice but my fiancé hated it, he also thought the doors leading out from the restaurant to the patio were hinged wrong on the latch which would not last five minutes and it was a bit too minimilistic.

Also you are stuck in the back end of nowhere and if you don't have transport which they prey most people don't it is quite expensive at almost €10 per vodka at the hotel when you can get them locally in fuengirola for a quarter of the price and an insight to the local culture. You are directly in the middle of torremolinos and Marbella and next to belmadena port which is very pretty and well worth a look if you are there. Mijas is also very traditional and the views are spectacular and takes ten minutes to get to, I would highly recommend; the little church is amazing.

For good food try mijas playa......seabass is unbelievable and James fillet steak must have been at least 500kg, I have never seen a steak so big!

Nice if you want a retreat.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kellytumilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
2.1 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,019 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,458 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
3.0 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#29 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,279 reviews
3.1 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron

Address: Avenida del Higueron, 48 | Autopista Costa del Sol, Salida 217, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain (Formerly THB Reserva del Higueron)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: $99 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron is located near Malaga and Marbella, Spain, vibrant cities on the Costa del Sol. This private resort is in a tranquil area with stunning sea and mountain views, and is exclusively for adults 16 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva Del Higueron Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing