We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value with easy access to the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Madrid
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value with easy access to the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

The hotel just what it claims to be,3 stars with a good pool and a large garden. I found the staff friendly,the food is not the best but its OK. I went with a group (the only Englishman) from where I live just north of Madrid so I can see 2 points of view. The Spanish know that if they want luxury they go to a parador or a 5 star hotel. If you get a bit bored in the hotel there is a subway under the road for easy beach access and there are some good beach bars right on the beach also a decent Engish pub (the rovers return) just to the right of the main hotel entrance. I would stay there again. Early in the season spanish pensioners stay here on subsidised holidays, They mean no offence, they are just here to enjoy themselves (no drunks) and the sardines on the beach!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmacMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    294
    310
    126
    96
See reviews for
321
354
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights with a baby and a 3yr old. Able to check in early at noon straight off the train from airport which was great but the room was small and we could barely fit in a cot for the baby. There was a small safe balcony and everything was clean. The room had a useful fridge, hairdryer and bath/shower. We found the buffet breakfast and dinner enjoyable with enough variety for 2 nights although the evening meal (7-9.30) was a bit late for a British family. The hotel was providing mainly for Spanish pensioners who were friendly. The outside pool was empty which you might expect in March but the indoor pool was closed as well on our first day and the spa was 10 euros per person so this was a bit disappointing. It was a short walk to the beach and in a quiet suburb with Fuengirola about 40 mins walk along the prom to the main resort or 10 mins on the excellent train. All in all it was worth the 50 quid per night we paid as we saved a lot on meals going half board. Families will find that the Spanish love kids and there are numerous good quality play areas everywhere including in the garden of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caffypenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

We were advised by our travel agents that this was a superb hotel with lots to do (wrong)... Once we arrived there, we found the hotel full of spanish people who were rude and ignorant towards us and several other british people that were staying at the hotel and made us feel like out siders throughout our weeks stay. The entertainment was focused around the spanish people who were on their 2 week free holiday and very little for us to do. The food was repetative, mainly pork and fish every day and was only luke warm and the snacks were absolute minimal and the same all day every day. When it was meal times we and many of the other british guests were pushed and shoved away from the buffet counter ( i mean an excuse me or a polite guesture would'nt hurt )..We even got a couple of finger guestures, i suppose its a new way of communicating!! The rooms were basic and in need of repairs and decorating. The staff were obliging towards us and the cleaners cleaned the rooms daily which was good.
We came to this hotel for a relaxing break after an awfull year of ill health to find it was stressfull to say the least. One poor couple came for a weekend break with their child which was the only child in the hotel, only to be made unwelcome in the lounge by the spanish guests then asked to leave the room by the management, needless to say the mother of the child stayed in her room reduced to tears because she was denied her holiday weekend break with her family.... Everyone has their own experiances and opinions of this hotel and this is mine!!...I understand it was early in the year and the weather may be unsociable, but we did not expect to be made unwelcomed and made outcasts by most of the other guests... Not a good experiance for us although the rep was good/helpfull and very knowledgable...Thanx for your kindness Alli. x

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juandbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fuengirola hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

Recently just come back on boxing day, this is our first time on board during x'mas. We choose this hotel because the package come up is the cheapest one, also my mother-in-law stayed in this hotel too. She been this hotel last 12 years when everytime she visited Costa Del Sol.

I can understand why some british not very happy about the hotel full of Spainish people BUT we are in Spain not only we need holiday, the local like holiday too. The staffs seems fine by us, not over friendly but they do their job right.

Hotel seems full of elderst people would like to stay, not really bother us at all. Hotel facilities so far so good, indoor and outdoor swimming pool, very big lobby and a lots of seating areas, let you play card game or just relax. One thing I like the staffs in the hotel, Bar and Restaurant areas they're not come to push you order drinks, feel very relaxing.....

Foods: Considering the money you paid I would say the foods average. No complaints at all. The X'mas meal very good too(package price include), Turkey, Gammon Ham, Seafoods Baskets, free champage, white and Red wine.

Locations: The Best. Only less than 5 mins walk from the train station(Torreblance stop) only 30 mins from the airport and 45 mins to Malaga city, the near resort just 5-15 mins, by train very handy. Only 3 mins walk to the seafront.

Rooms: Good size bath room and we have a decent double bed, housekeeper clean the room and new towels every day.

I would like to stay in this hotel again, if the food improve a bit then is prefect.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steplulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

Arrived at the hotel 6th December late evening, once checked in, was offered a cold meal by reception. This we were impressed with. The hotel is quite big, has a lovely reception area, with plenty of lounges to relax in, plus internet is at hand, although a little bit expensive, but it was there. The staff are really nice, and helpful. The room was very clean, not over large, but adequate, and had a balcony which looked over the pool. The hotel also had an indoor poor, and spa, and massage was at hand if you required it. The food I must say, considering how much we paid for the holiday was excellent, breakfast was always full, but plenty for everyone, evening meals, always something on the menu you liked, a mixture of hot & cold evening meals, the soups were very nice, and desert contained various homemade cakes, gateaus, fresh fruit, yogurts and icecream. Different types of bread & rolls available at all times. The only downfall I would complain about is the walls between the rooms are paper thin, and if you had a neighbour that liked to be up at 6am you were up with them, because you could hear absolutely every little detail, from waking up, going to the toilet, putting the kettle on and chatting. Our neighbours were particularly noisy, especially when they came in at 2am - taking showers, pulling the chain, laughing, so we were woken the minute they opened their door, and awake until they decided to go to sleep. They were not considerate at all, and after talking to other guests, they had the same problem. Apart from that, I could not fault the hotel, and with guests being noisy that is all down to the calibar of the individual, and not really the hotels fault. Considering the hotel was not full, I hate to think what it would be like if 100% occupied. I would come back here possibly in quiet season, but definately not summer season, because I feel I would be walking around like a zombie with the lack of sleep. If asked by my friends I would tell them the hotel was excellent value for money, but to beware of the noise that could happen if your neighbours were inconsiderate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, Essex, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

We came to choose the Fuengirola Park hotel for our stay as our usual choice of hotel was closed for refurbishment. The Fuengirola Park was described as a "sister hotel" and we chose it assuming it would be very similar to our usual choice.

In actual fact, we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel, which exceeded our expectations in most respects, right from the time of arrival.

Firstly, when we arrived, at 11:00pm, the restaurant had closed, but we were covered a cold meal due to our late arrival. We declined the offer, but thought it was a nice gesture anyway. We were offered a choice of room, and requested one on the top floor. This we received.

The room itself was quite roomy, and very clean. During our stay, the room was cleaned thoroughly every day, with clean towels being provided. We could not fault the maid service.

The hotel offers a good range of facilities, with both an outside and indoor pool. There is also a Spa, for which a charge is payable.
There are gardens, a large lounge area, plus a couple of large bars, one which has evening entertainment. We did not see the entertainment on offer, but believed it to be relatively basic. (Bingo and a duo singing).

The hotel is very comfortable, and the staff are very pleasant and accommodating.

The restaurant offers a good range of food. We always found something to our liking. There are always several salad options, plus 5 or 6 hot dishes. There is always a selection of cold meats and cheeses on offer too. Breakfasts are equally good, although it can be a little mad at breakfast time if the restaurant is busy.

Our only disappointment with the hotel is in its fundamental construction; two wings situated around the central pool area. This has the effect of "trapping noise", which resonates to the rooms that face the pool area. Some rooms face the road and may not be subject to this. However, the walls between the rooms, being constructed of honeycomb bricks, offer little sound insulation. It is quirte easy to hear conversations in other rooms. The worst area is the bathroom where, on several occasions, I had to check I was in fact in the bathroom alone. I could speak to the people next door without raising my voice!!

The hotel sits very close to Torreblanca Train Station, about 5 minutes walk away up a slight hill. From here you can catch a train to several other resorts. Fuengirola is 2 stops away, which costs 1.35 euros. Note that the hotel is actually in TORREBLANCA, not Fuengirola. We did not find the location a problem due to the train station location.

We travelled to FUENGIROLA, LOS BOLICHES, BENALMADENA, TORREMOLINOS and MONTEMAR on the train. Train travel is cheap, and trains run ON TIME every 30 minutes. Its a great way to get around. Also, a trip to PLAZA MAYOR (1.5 euros) is worthwhile, which is a purpose-built shopping and entertainment complex open from around 10:00 am to 11:00 pm each day. Here you will find some major shopping chains aswell as several good-value low cost factory outlets. There are many restaurants there too.

All in all, we would not rule out staying at this hotel again, in the "low season". We feared noise to be a significant issue if the hotel was very busy, for the reasons stated.

It offers very good value for money, and is generally very pleasing.

However, we would not make it our first choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mstribli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

I booked my stay in this hotel through a Spanish company called: Viajes Torreblanca, with a lovely English girl called Suzanne. I had research the prices of this hotel with many other companies and this one by far had the best price.
The hotel itself has just been upgraded with a big refurb. The rooms are standard and adequate with a flat screen tv, fridge and air con. Although we had half board, we didn´t eat there every night, but the days we did, the food was excellent.
This hotel is not in the centre of Fuengirola, but for us it was not a problem as there is a bus-stop right outside the hotel. The hotel is 5 mins walk from the beach and round the corner from the train station.
By far the best part of this hotel is the new spa area they have. We swam every day in the huge indoor pool and also treated ourselves to a few spa treatments.
On the whole excellent value for money and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tapdancer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monarque Torreblanca
Hotel Monarque Torreblanca
#13 of 37 in Fuengirola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.6 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Gardenia
Globales Gardenia
#14 of 37 in Fuengirola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#30 of 37 in Fuengirola
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.7 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monarque Cendrillon
Hotel Monarque Cendrillon
#28 of 37 in Fuengirola
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park

Property: Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park
Address: Camino antiguo del ferrocarril S/N, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Fuengirola
Fuengirola Park Hotel
Hotel Fuengirola Park
Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing