We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good holiday to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monarque Torreblanca
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A good holiday to remember”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel, staff were friendly rooms were clean and tidy, air conditioning was provided as well as a mini fridge! Food was alright but I feel it was more catered for the Spanish so most nights we went out for tea rather than staying in! The cleaners were great had new bedding and sheets each day as well as clean towels which really made a difference! The hotel also provides free wifi (you have to ask for the password) lifts were easy enough to use but your better of using the stairs at meal times as they get very crowded. Overall I had a fantastic stay and the hotel is superb for my likings!! Will definitely be visiting again in the future!! Oh and I forgot to mention the train that passes by behind the hotel, me and my partner used the train several times during our stay to travel into fuengarola centre and Los boliches cheap travel to get to and from places efficiently and quickly the trains have air conditioning too which is always a bonus!! Thanks for a great stay and hope to see you again!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Bpj240795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    272
    167
    46
    34
See reviews for
267
210
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We found the hotel was very dated but spotlessly clean on the inside. Our room was cleaned everyday. The only complaint I have is there must be a great shortage of pillows. I had to use the blanket from the wardrobe. The food was fine. the soups were lovely and you could always find something to suit you. The staff were lovely and very helpful.
The only place that let the hotel down badly was outside, not the gardens because they were beautiful. The white tables and the sunbeds were not cleaned. at first I thought the tables were grey marbled plastic but they were supposed to be white. Even after I had complained at reception about the state of the small tables at the sunbeds nothing was done. The dirt on them was terrible. The other place that didnt seem to be cleaned to often was the balcony outside the bar and the tables there also. This was where you would go for a drink to catch the last blink of sun in the afternoon and this is where the smokers had to go so you would think staff would be coming out to clean it every so often but that was not the case. We paid a lot more for this holiday than we have ever paid before but I would class this hotel as barely 3*.
Great location, beach lovely, sunbeds on beach only 4euro, station right next door but the dirt outside at the pool area and balcony, and lack of pillows lets this otherwise a gem down.

Room Tip: go for a proper drink at the wee bar beside the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crosspatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days in October and have never been so disappointed with a hotel. we only wish that we had read the many bad reviews before we booked.
It is true that the hotel is perfectly placed right next to the train station so there is no need to pay for costly transfers from the airport and the exterior looks newly painted but this is where the good impressions stop.

There is nothing 4 star about this hotel. It may have been once but wouldnt even rate 3 stars compared with other places we have stayed

The tables in the dining room were only set once a day ( that being for dinner ) Once the table had been used you had to collect your own cutlery and glasses and usually knock the crumbs off too !!! There was no wine waiter so if you wanted a drink you had to go and get your own from a counter , even wine. The tablecloths and serviettes all looked as if they could do with a good wash and starch.

Sadly the food was a big letdown too. Choice was very limited . The saladbar was vertually the same every night throughout our 10 day stay with the same cold meats every day.Not even any nice dressings ( plastic satchets ) The show cooking was also disappointing with cold ham on 3 nights. Nice as the ham was 3 nights was a bit too much. There were no nice ice creams , just tubs.


Our room could best described as shabby and in need of decorating. The minibar was so ineffective it wouldnt keep milk from going sour for 24 hours. The room wasnt cleaned properly throughout our stay nor did we have so much as a clean pillowcase. Nor was our bed made at all during our stay. When you learn that 1 poor girl is doing the whole floor on her own you are not surprised at the poor service.

the evening entertainment was practically non exsistent. That didnt worry us unduly but a lot of people look forward to it.

If you are thinking of going to this hotel think again or better still DON T!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 316Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fuengirola hotels

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel dates from a different era of UK package holidays and it is a reflection on our raised expectations that we now consider the hotel past its sell by date. The hotel is spotlessly clean and staff are all very helpful. After arriving at 3am (Monarch Airlines aaaaaghhhh !!!!) we were met by the night porter Jerome who hurried us in and took our bags. He then ushered us to the dining room where the chef had left a very nice cold salad for us !!!. Room was clean and functional but not what we would now consider 4 stars. Food in the restaurant was really good with a wide choice and very well cooked and Antonio was helpful and always cheerful. Overall a good stay with my wife and grandson who made full use of the free wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views for a cooling breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnthonyandAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for a five day break 20-25th Sept,we basically wanted some sunshine and relaxation.Knew that transfer from Malaga would be easy,cheap and painless and it was.Hotel location good for beach,bars and along the prom.Rooms were dated,but clean,spacious,endless hot water,efficient aircon and good sea view.Service was helpful and friendly,food good and pools/gardens very well kept,quiet and relaxing,just what we wanted.
Overall in our long experience,the hotel offered a good value short break in the sunshine!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here from 29th sept to 6th Oct 2012. I agree with most of the comments about it being dated but this didnt bother us as our room was spacious, clean and had a sea view. We were worried about the food after seeing previous comments but we were pleasantly surprised - the variety and quality was very good - we have had worse believe me!
The train from the airport is great and so easy and cheap to use - right next to the hotel. I would never book transfers to this area if I revisisted. Biggest let down for us re this hotel was the "entertainment" - really awful. We never stayed a single night in the entertainment room which was bas really as we were all inclusive. Aimed at the Spanish visitors, ballroom dancing type music up until tennish them normally some singer or bingo - really poor. Even a bit of karaoke or some well known European music before the act came on would have gee'ed everyone up a bit. Luckily there are quite a few bars within walking distance. It is a nice area - peaceful but stuff close by if you want it. We went to a lovley Thai restaurant on our last night for a change - visit if you get the chance. Begins with a Q and is between a Mexican/Indian/Italian and a Balti curry house.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and see view - we were on 8th floor and the view was lovley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susicNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We visited this hotel at the end of September wish we hadnt. The rooms were clean and spacious but very dated. The food was lousy and the entertainment was dire in fact the male of the duo actually stopped the female singing one song she was that bad. As in a previous review we met some lovely people which made our holiday if it hadnt been for them we would have looked for a flight home sooner. All Inc drinks are at half measures not a good experience especially as it was quite expensive for a weeks stay. We also witnessed outsiders coming in acting suspiciously and two english police officers who were on holiday had to alert staff to remove them. We were also sat on the terrace one evening and a RAT run across the railings. My advice would be to stay clear and book elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michellebentley08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
990 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#28 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monarque Cendrillon
Hotel Monarque Cendrillon
#29 of 37 in Fuengirola
68 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monarque Torreblanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monarque Torreblanca

Property: Hotel Monarque Torreblanca
Address: Avenida Torreblanca s/n, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monarque Torreblanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monarque Torreblanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monarque Torreblanca Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing