We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Piramides
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location near beach”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went in the height of the season so it was all a bit busy but hotel seemed to cope quite well. it is in a very good location in that it is one block from the beach and parking your car nearby should be easy when not in full season. Lots of spaces near the mosque when not competing with the millions of people trying to park near the beach in mid summer. Also you can walk to the centre quite easily. Only real downside was breakfast which was pretty awful.

Room Tip: As far as I am aware all rooms have partial seaviews but choose lower floors as lifts can get busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    314
    298
    170
    165
See reviews for
254
481
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strathaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to Fuengirola for a week on July 31st 2013 staying in the Las Piramides half board, and although it wasn't a bad holiday it was certainly the worst I have ever been on.

The hotel was by no means a 4 star! It was clean and comfortable but had absolutely nothing going for it and certainly was not worth what we paid.

If you are looking for internet access for keeping in touch with friends and family back home, then prepare to be disappointed! There is free wifi access in the middle of the Foyer which was a bit hit and miss, but that's it! Nothing available in the rooms, the bars, the restaurant, the pool, or anything outside the reception.

The food was very basic - mostly fish. The drinks (even water) were very expensive, and even the milk at breakfast was watered down. We ended up eating out for breakfast and evening meals!

We stayed for 7 nights, and for each of the 7 mornings we were there I had to report the toilet was blocked to the point of overflowing. Each day a maintenance man was sent up with a mop to 'clear' the toilet, but the moment it was used it was blocked again. There were no British TV channels on the TV in the bedroom.

The hotel caters mostly for locals and Spanish holidaymakers. There was little in the way of entertainment (and this was in the height of summer). There was an occasional piano player in the reception area bar with a piano that sounded like a tune was being beaten out on rusty tin cans, and bar staff who were very rude! Most people walked around like they were in a depression!

The TV in the bar only showed Spanish TV News. There was a Table Tennis table outside, and that was it. No games or anything for kids to enjoy.

The Outside Pool was okay to cool down in, but kids weren't even allowed inflatable beach toys. It was a shame seeing so many kids bursting into tears because the pool attendant told them they couldn't have their toys in the pool.

There was a keyboard player and drummer at night in the outside area who played nothing but spanish elevator music, which attracted, what seemed to me to be many 'older' spanish locals who only came into the hotel to dance tango's and whatever and then left again. Now we are no spring chickens, but we would have expected a far better choice of entertainment in a 4 star hotel.

The hotel is seriously in need of refurbishment and a little investment to move it into the 21st Century not to mention the need to cater for the multiple nationalities that pay good money to go there.

Fuengirola itself was a nice holiday town with an okay shingly beach, but, like the hotel, had absolutely nothing to offer! The usual raft of bars and restaurants, but not one of them had any entertainment on (apparently it isn't allowed in the town by order of the local Mayor). We would have at least hoped for a laugh at a karaoke bar, or a decent musician sitting in the corner of a bar entertaining us, or even some stage shows, but not a thing was going on other than street vendors interrupting you every minute while trying to eat and drink, trying to sell you fake sunglasses handbags and earphones!

I am not a holiday snob, but I do travel a lot for my business and have experienced many types of accommodation. For us, it is very hard not to be so negative as I always prefer to give people the benefit of the doubt, but in this case, I'm afraid I can't give much in the way of positive feedback. If you are under the age of 60 and expect a good memorable time while on holiday, this hotel is perhaps not for you.

Room Tip: Check the toilet flushes properly!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osirisja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fuengirola hotels

Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent 8 nights from July 24th to 1st of August, 2013. Large comfortable hotel situated by the beach, close to the town centre, station, restaurants, shopping centre and a amazing zoo. Overall nice environment around the hotel. Good for walks and specially along the sea where you can walk for about 8-10 km. Hotel has a descent pool but be there early to get a chair. Very clean pool and a pool bar where you can enjoy a beer or two. Cocktails are a bit expensive compared to what you have to pay outside. Around €6. Breakfast is OK but can be crowded and bit of a chaos but you get used to it and nice to sit outside and enjoy it. We only had dinner once at the hotel and it was a buffet and quite good. Wifi is only available in the lounge so you cannot surf in your room but that is OK. Very relaxing hotel and no pressure to dress up for evenings unless you wants to. Do not miss the flamenco show which was great. Try the saloon. Really nice lady taking care of you. Plenty of tourists information available at the hotel and the staff at the reception is very helpful. Even though the common areas of the hotel is a bit worn out the rooms were OK without been luxury. They clean the rooms everyday and does it well. All the rooms has a balcony with full or lateral sea view. We had lateral sea view. It is quite small but nice to sit and enjoy a drink. There was a small fridge in the room but I miss the kettle for making tea or coffee. I also miss the ice machines but the hotel does offer room service. Overall it is a great holiday hotel for families with children and at a very good rate. Do not miss the surroundings. Lot to see and enjoy. Beware of the people selling stuff outside. All are not honest. My wife and daughter got cheated by two ladies in the street who promised to make hair frills on my daughter and they said around €20 at the beginning and did more and more without listening to her, finally threatened and took €70 from her. We were leaving that day so we could not do anything about it. Otherwise I would have gone to the police. We were also warned about a lady selling carnations who steals. So please be careful and alert.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDS1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bham
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had read the very mixed reviews for this hotel but we managed to find a good deal so decided to book it! On the positive side, the hotel is well located in quieter part of the resort yet only a minute from bars/restaurants. The train station is 15 minutes walk away (you can walk along the beach front). It is just across the road from the beach (although have to pay 9 Euro for umbrella and 2 sunloungers as the hotel does not have an area on the beach - I dont think any of the hotels do though!) The hotel swimming pool and area around it was very clean, although it does not open until 9.30am and closes at 7pm , which I felt was a little early to be closing as it would have been nice to swim after a day out. There is a lifeguard on duty from 11-7.

The room was clean and quiet. I would suggest asking for a room that does not look over the central hotel area, otherwise you will have to listen to the very loud music that the hotel puts on each evening for a couple of people to dance to! The air conditioning in the room was very good too - much appreciated!

On the downsides, you have to pay 3 Euro per day for the safe in your room in addition to a 5 Euro deposit. Breakfast is served between 8 and 10.30 each day but if you leave it until after 9am then it is very fraught and certainly it is not a relaxing experience. However, as we did a day trip to Granada and needed to leave by 6.30am we were able to get coffee, cereal and rolls at this time, The food is ok - but I did not eat any of the cold meats or cheeses as these were not in a chilled cabinet. There was fresh water melon and melon each morning in addition to oranges and apples. A greater selection of pastries (there was only 1 kind + croissants) would have been appreciated. The free wifi only works in the reception area. Our shower head was broken (on the 1st day) and we reported it and it was fixed the same day, but I would have thought that this should have been reported by the cleaning staff as as soon as you ran water through it, it fell off!

Overall, I would recommend this hotel (and the resort) as I feel that the positives outweigh the negatives. I do feel that the pyramid/Egyptian theme is somewhat dated and that the management do need to spend money updating the hotel as a whole.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very large hotel with a lot of rooms so can get very noisy/busy when large groups arrive. It has very good location, close to the town centre and 1min from the beach.

The staff didn't look happy and were not friendly (apart from a couple of waiting people).

The choice of food for dinner was large but not of the highest quality, I expected more from a four stars. Breakfast was a bit like a canteen and stay away from the bacon, not nice.

The pool was good and for 5 Euros deposit, they will supply you with a towel.

Would recommend the area as there a several things to do but not sure I would the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulu1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have been here many times on golf holidays and decided to go for a week with wife and gran daughter.
Never seen anything done to hotel in last 10 years, rooms are still same small but practical no kettle and no WI FI.
Worst things about the hotel, breakfast-poor selection with bread about the best part and the evening entertainment, "the terrible trio" we nicknamed them are still here, can't believe it they are dreadful.
Best thing about hotel is that it's in a quiet area with some decent cafe's etc, come on spend some money and bring hotel up to date!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trigger131186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group for two nights. Nice enough but nothing special.
We had a group dinner one night at the hotel and the was not so good.
Room was ok, clean, nice shower.
Average place and I am sure you can find better in the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#28 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
1.6 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
639 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Piramides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Piramides

Property: Hotel Las Piramides
Address: Calle Miguel Marquez 43, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Piramides 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL PIRAMIDES Situated just 25 minutes away from Malaga Airport in the heart of the Costa del Sol, our hotel has 320 comfortable rooms and excellent services on the Fuengirola beachfront. The establishment is on the shores of the Mediterranean Sea, next to the beach promenade and near the town's commercial centre. The centre of Fuengirola is just 500 metres away. The hotel is formed by two buildings, each with ten floors and our facilities include a heated swimming pool completely free for our clients, and a gymnasium with a jacuzzi, sauna, weights room and massage area. Our rooms are bright and spacious, and the majority offer fantastic sea views. Our location offers you 320 days of sun a year and all of the attractions of the Costa del Sol arewithin reach, including 52 golf courses, several marinas, a range of beaches and Andalusia's historic cities. YOUR HOTEL IN FUENGIROLA Hotel Las Piramides has everything necessary to guarantee our guests a pleasant stay and offer a unique experience in a destination with a range of leisure options and activities Room features: balcony, sea views, TV with satellite channels, telephone, safety deposit box, air conditioning/heating, desk, shower, bathtub, hair dryer, free toiletries, mini-bar. STUNNING VIEWS Located by the sea, this hotel has an excellent location near Malaga Airport. It also has a wide range of services: excellent cuisine, free WiFi in the hotel lobby and WiFi available for a fee in rooms, and more. FUNCTION ROOMS Meetings and celebrations The hotel has large, luxurious function rooms that guests can use for a variety of purposes, including reading, card games and work. There is air conditioning throughout the hotel. FUNCTION ROOMS Salon Menfis: Maximum capacity of 500 people. Salon Minimenfis: Maximum capacity of 50 people. AZUL RESTAURANT Guests are informed that long trousers must be worn at dinner. Shorts are not permitted. CONVENTION ROOMS - Air conditioning - Podium - Appropriate lighting - Projection equipment - Sound equipment - Full video equipment - Host and secretarial service on request - Possibility of simultaneous interpretation - Photocopying and fax service - Conference planning service RESTAURANT Hotel Piramides has several restaurants and function rooms where you can enjoy an intimate dinner or a family meal. Our restaurants are located inside the hotel and by the swimming pool, offering our guests the perfect place for a bite to eat while they enjoy the swimming pool or beach. SERVICE TIMES Breakfast: 7:00-10:00; dinner: 18:30-21:30 in winter and 19:00-22:00 in summer TERRACE BAR Dances and shows with a band every night in summer from 9 pm. POOL RESTAURANT Enjoy your lunch by the swimming pool under a Moorish sunshade. BAR ORANGE A distinguished atmosphere with piano: ideal for a cocktail. Happy hour every evening ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Piramides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Piramides Hotel Fuengirola
Fuengirola Hotel Piramides
Piramides Fuengirola
Piramides Hotel Fuengirola
Las Piramides Fuengirola
Hotel Las Piramides Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing