We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS is food... of the highest order ”
Review of La Marmita

La Marmita
Ranked #9 of 1,248 Restaurants in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Serving Tapas with an English twist 6:30pm-9pm last orders 5 Tapas- normally enough for two, but you can always have more 5 Tapas- 32Euros, 3 Tapas 18 Euros Don't forget we serve Dessert Tapas too 5 Dessert Tapas 23 Euros, 3 Dessert Tapas 15 Euros We are only a small Restaurant so be sure to book.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

FORGET THE REVIEWS ABOUT SMALL PORTIONS!

La Marmita has built itself a solid reputation for great food, excellent taste and fantastic presentation served up at an unpretentious location with a welcoming attitude across the road from the beach at Fuengirola. The atmosphere is relaxed but with a passion for fine food & attention to detail. The views out to sea as the sun sets behind you are fantastic.

We are lucky to have dined at La Marmita on a number of occasions over the last 2 years - never have we come away feeling anything other than fully full. The variety of food served up under Nick & Simon’s famed concept is remarkable - “Twisted Tapas” take well known dishes such as belly of pork, mushroom risotto or fish & chips & transform them into large portions for tapas, served up with humour and style. True, you might look at what is served up for you and think that you won’t be eating your fill, but think again. My partner & I shared the 5x savoury TTs and then 3x TT desserts, after which we couldn’t eat anything else.

The secret to Twisted Tapas (we think) is the richness of the food with it’s multiple elements (up to ten miniature meals at one sitting) and textures which are further heightened on the palate by intense jus, gravies or purees, bringing the experience to a new level. The same applies whether you’re eating savoury or sweet. Quite honestly we don’t think you’ll find food like it anywhere else.

One of the particular strengths in how the La Marmita concept works comes with the way in which your food is selected. Tell Nick what you like - or don’t like - and Simon creates a variety of tapas tailored to your preferences. It’s why you won’t find a list of the tapas on the restaurant’s menu. Effectively you let them create a meal for you - and they know exactly what they’re doing. Of course, if you fancy something other than their signature feature there’s plenty of other options that ARE listed on the menu and a full range of drinks to go with them.

A word on securing a table - book. As soon as we know we’re going to be in the area we do this because there is limited seating and covers available. The food takes time and effort to create - this isn’t fast food - it is excellence on a plate, or several plates.

If you’re looking to dash in for a burger & a beer and then to dash off again, look elsewhere. If you want an experience to savour, try this place.

Date of visit: July 2018
5  Thank Grifster96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 598 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

We recently visited La Marmita on our wedding anniversary after reading reviews on TripAdvisor.We weren't disappointed! We have travelled a lot through Spain in the last nine years,and I have to say this was one of the best meals we have ever eaten.The service was excellent describing everything we were about to eat in the finest detail.We went for the twisted tapas option both savoury and for dessert.The originality,the flavours were just sensational!!The mushroom risotto was one of the best things I have ever tasted.If you have the chance go, you will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank Mervyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

Really great food nicely presented. Loved all of it especially the soup.
Chose the 5 tapas & 3 puddings but couldn't finish the puds as they were too rich - had a good attempt tho.

Would certainly return to eat here if we come back to Fuengirola -esp as the staff so pleasant too.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank minianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Our second year of visiting La Marmita which is now firmly, our favourite restaurant in Fuengirola.

Highly recommended is the twisted tapas, both savoury and sweet. A five portion savoury selection is plenty for two and a romantic way to share a beautifully presented, high quality meal.

Book ahead as this is increasingly a highly sort after destination when people realise how good it is!

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank florence034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

The food was really nice but very tiny portions. If you have an appetite don’t come here, very expensive for little food. Quality rather than quantity, five bites each for €29, we recommend de kroon(big portions nice food). We thought it was vegetarian but it was not. Excellent service (got free pudding and appreciated that) and chef but we are are too hungry.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank sorchaamuldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tribbster, Owner at La Marmita, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Of course quality over quantity !
No. . . we don’t give you a nosebag or trough !
I cannot fathom from your appalling English, if you thought, we were a vegetarian restaurant, of course we are not (more fool you) . . We are however veggie friendly . . . or if you thought the food you received wasn’t vegetarian . . . fortunately our chef IS a vegetarian and therefore has a subtle understanding of what a vegetable is !
With regard to the restaurant that you speak of so highly, it amazes me that you couldn’t be bothered to give them a review ! . . . Maybe it’s not that good.
We don’t care that you eat at other restaurants, we sincerely encourage you to do so, we do recommend Munchies, they are kind enough to send people to us, so we shall do the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marmita also viewed

Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Marmita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing