We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappoints on quality and service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Pizzeria la Pergola

Restaurante Pizzeria la Pergola
Ranked #78 of 939 Restaurants in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never disappoints on quality and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We return every year to this pizzeria in Fuengirola and are never disappointed. We have been going for nearly 20 years and the waiters have seen us get engaged, married and now we go with our children. The children are treated well, the food is always of a high standard and the staff are extremely friendly. Looking forward to seeing everyone again in July!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieRafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    79
    16
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“never lets you down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Whilst on holiday, we have been eating at La Pergola for over twenty years, The food is excellent, the quality always top class.and you get excellent value for your money.
The tropical salad easily serves four as a starter and at 8 euros 50 is a real bargain. The pizzas are fresh and delicious and the pasta is home made. The baked alaska crepes for dessert are amazing.
If you want the privacy of one of the side booths it might be as well to book, or you might end up at one of the communal tables in the centre of the restaurant. This is a busy , buzzing restaurant with masses of regulars - visitors and locals.
They're situated behind the post office and are closed on Wednesday. A great place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MozSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, Essex, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent food and a great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

La Pergola sits behind the main Post Office near the Fuengirola Square and can be easy to miss. Even some of the local taxi drivers seem to be unaware of it. However, if you ask for the Post Office, its only a 2 minute walk, and sits at the junction with Calle Pelungeros.
Its quite an unassuming little place, and I initially visited it several years ago, drawn by its quaint exterior.
Its often full booked, so be prepared to have to reserve a table. If you arrive between 7 - 8.30 you will generally be seated immediately, but after this, expect a 45 minute wait.
There is a fairly extensive menu, offering typical Italian fayre; home made pasta, pizza, chicken, and veal weigh heavily on the menu.
During my weeks stay in Fuengirola, I dined at the restaurant 5 times, so our party had the opportunity to sample several dishes on the menu.
Starters are simple, but excellent value, ranging from €2.50 for garlic bread with cheese, to €7 for a "Cocktail de Gambas" (Prawn Cocktail), which is a wonderful creation. Homemade minestrone soup is superb.
Pizzas are very popular with the local clientele, and I tried 2. One, the Mexicana, was a little bland for my palate, but once I was provided with some chilli oil, it livened it up a treat. The pepperoni offering is very good indeed. Toppings are generous.
The Cannelloni was probably the best i had ever tasted, and very filling indeed. I must add that meals here are served HOT, and not lukewarm like so many establishments. I found this experience quite refreshing.
Hidden away on the menu are several salads, and there is an absolute gem amongst them; the Tropical Salad. The standard salad comprises mixed leaves, orange segments, pineapple, kiwi, avocaado pear, apple and mozzarrella as its main base. But as I discovered, you can add a portion of gambas to the salad for just €1, and turn it into a superb prawn salad. In fact, I chose this option twice. Priced at €9, it costs little more than the prawn cocktail, and is absolutely faultless. It comes with seafood sauce too.
Other dishes sampled by my party all met with similar approval, and only the lasagne failed to please. Whether this was simply a case of receiving the last portion cut from a larger lasagne, or whether the chef forgot to add enough bolognese sauce I do not know, but it was virtually 100% pasta. Other diners seemed to fair much better so I imagine it was just bad luck in this instance.
Desserts are relatively simple, ranging from pancakes to pastries. Worthy of note is the Tiramisu. I personally detest this overrated dessert, but having seen most diners choose this option, I decided to try it myself. I am sure it sent my calorie intake into orbit, but it restored my interest. It was without doubt mouthwatering and better than anything I have tried previously.
Drinks are moderately priced. I opted for a half litre of Sangria each visit, priced at €7, and this was indeed refreshing.
So overall, highly recommended, and great value, high quality food.
But be prepared to wait for a seat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mstribli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Food in Cosy Atmosphere...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have been here a few times now and always have real good food. Their fresh pasta is one of their best and never disappoints. Their Tropical Salad is another one of our favourite dishes, and their staff are always nice and friendly. It's worth to give them a try when you are around.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Narathip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The veal escalopes, we had a milanesa and the bolognese escalopes, were excellent and reasonably priced at 11.5 and 12 euros. The atmosphere is cosy Italian and on the night we visited, clearly popular with lcoal customers enjoying the food and service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillyMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Pizzeria la Pergola also viewed

Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Pizzeria la Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing