We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Aruna's Mira India - CLOSED

Aruna's Mira India
Price range: $13 - $46
Cuisines: Indian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Aruna's Mira India is located on the beach road close to the Sohail Castillo. The nearest street to the restaurant is Calle Heroes de Baler. The mosque is also located behind the restaurant. There is seating inside and outside on an open terrace with stunning sea views. Every Saturday night we hold 'The Aruna's Indian Experience' where you can wear our saris, have a traditional indian meal served on a 'thali' and dance to Bollywood music. A very enjoyable experience!! Booking is advisable for Saturday nights.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We ate at the restaurant during our one week visit to Funengirola as we were feeling like Indian food and read some good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were definitely not dissapointed! It was some of the best Indian I've had in any country (including India!). The flavours were spot on and you could sense the love for cooking from the food. It was like being invited to someone's house for an amazing dinner. Service was very friendly and welcoming, and we couldn't believe the the great value of the set menu. Would eat here all the time if I could!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LHamalainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunaShaw, Owner at Aruna's Mira India, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for visiting Mira India and for taking the time to write a review for us. We hope to serve you soon. Your reviews helps our business to succeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    31
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food was good quality and delicious & service was outstanding!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Found this restaurant on our last evening in Funegirola on Trip Advisor, the reviews were very good so we thought we could give it a go and have a bit spice whilst in Spain.
The restaurant itself is pretty small but does have outside seating and looks like your average Indian.
The owner ‘Aruna’ remembered us from our booking and was very professional and polite.
My partner loves really spicy food and Aruna and her staff explained really well how we might best enjoy her food by heat / spice levels.
We couldn’t make up our mind if we wanted hot or cold starters, but Aruna was very accommodating and offered to make something up as a mixed starter and she would add anything we wanted. It was delicious and couldn’t have asked for a better service and recommendation.
I ordered Chicken Tikka Masala ‘Hot’ – which was lovely. I love the taste of Chicken Tikka Masala but often don’t order it at home as it is not spicy enough for me. I certainly took advantage of Aruna’s spice level and it was beautiful! Best ever.
My partner ordered a Lamb Madras and explained the loves really hot food. Aruna recommended he had this ‘Desi’ spice style, which is a more intense Indian spice level than the usual hot or very hot.
I had a taste of this and it almost made me cry, but he absolutely loved it. I am so impressed that Aruna suggested our dishes and spice levels to perfection from listening to us. Usually at Indian restaurants I find it is either to mild or too hot.
We had a couple of side dishes and a couple of bottles of Rose wine. We went there no expenses spared, to have what ever we wanted, including coffee’s and liquors after our meal. All of this still came to under 90 euros.
By the time we finished our meal it was after 10:30 and was almost dead in the restaurant, which gave us a chance to speak to the staff and Aruna a little bit more.
They were all really lovely and openly happy to talk about their experiences.

This an absolute 5* Indian restaurant for quality of food, customer experience and overall aura of the evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLPOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunaShaw, Owner at Aruna's Mira India, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Mira India. Our customers help us to promote and drive our business forward and make us a success. We are pleased to have served you and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again from Aruna ans all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We ate at the restaurant twice during our week's holiday and particulary enjoyed the New Year's Eve banquet which had thalis, saris and bhangra dancing.
Excellent!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JakTarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunaShaw, Owner at Aruna's Mira India, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write a review for Mira India. We hope to see you soon and to serve you again. Thank you for your custom Aruna and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Tasty and good value”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We chose from the fixed menu (14.95 E I think) and enjoyed our food very much. The owner is very pleasant and friendly, hails from England originally. I love Indian food, and would certainly recommend this restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunaShaw, Owner at Aruna's Mira India, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for visiting Mira India and for taking the time to review our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas, Andalucia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We were just tired and hungry when we wandered into Mira India really. Knew nothing about it, but were in the mood for some Indian food, and the sari-clad mannequin sat by the entrance struck us as a funky detail.
The experience was just lovely. Aruna, the owner (who as it turns out comes from the same neck of the woods as my OH - the peak district) was upliftingly warm and welcoming. It might not be what everyone looks for on a night out, but we loved how chatty and engaging she was. She even brought the chef out and we ended up talking about spices and the many different ways of making a chai tea!
Food was yum: the mixer starter platter is more than enough for two, with really tender meat pieces. The peshwari nan was excellent - just a modest sweetness instead of the oft-encountered grossly sweet version, with lightly toasted sesame seeds which gave a delicious crunch.
If you like kulfi, Aruna makes all her own. We tried the rose and the mango - gorgeous and, again, pleasingly balanced sugar-wise.
They also do Bollywood evenings which I suspect must be great fun given the ambience when we were there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EliMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunaShaw, Owner at Aruna's Mira India, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Mira India. Customer reviews help us to drive our business forward. We look forward to seeing you again and to serve you. Aruna and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aruna's Mira India also viewed

Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing