We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parador prices, not Parador services”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Parador de Cazorla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parador de Cazorla
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cazorla
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Parador prices, not Parador services”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a 3 stra accomodation but being a Parador it has Parador prices. The rooms were big but dated and a little cold. The staff were friendly and helpful. Given it is a very remote area (which is what makes it so atractive) it means you're going to have your breakfast and dinner at the Parador. Breakfast very very good. Dinner, make sure you stick to the local recipes and don't venture into the few nouvelle dishes, they're not worth it. For a culinary experience stop at the Parador in Úbeda. You'll pay the same price but the food will be that much better!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolLaViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    165
    54
    11
    6
See reviews for
89
237
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

For anyone looking to escape the world for a couple of days, this is a wonderful location to relax and walk in the mountains. However, the facility may prove limiting in the event of bad weather so choose the time of year carefully. It is probably best suited to the locals who can book at short notice.

We were originally booked for two nights into a standard room overlooking the courtyard, car park. However, for an extra 25 Euros per night we secured the only room with a balcony facing down the mountain. Although not exactly modern, room 12 was quiet, clean, spacious with a four-poster bed and plenty of hot water. What more do you need?

While we were there, the facility appeared to be about half full which suited the number of staff available. Whilst friendly and efficient, they may have struggled with greater numbers.

The restaurant menu was interesting with a number of local dishes. However, the venison came out overcooked. In contrast, the wine list contained a couple of gems, including the Louis Canas 2003 Reserva.

We had a fantastic day walking in the mountains so our memories are of very pleasant stay. However, if you’re limited for time, it’s probably not worth the detour.

Thanks to EuropeBlueSky for his suggested scenic drive via El Tranco. The views are stunning. However, driving clockwise on the A319, you could easily miss the signpost to the hotel at the junction of the JF7091.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Cazorla was our 3rd stop on the Andalucia Legacyll route earlier this month, (April 2013)
Everything was excellent.
I could not find fault with the staff, rooms, both bedroom and public rooms, food and views.
Nice walks with maps supplied by reception and a lovely local, and therefore inexpensive, chilled white served by Cesar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borrowedtheboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you look for quietness, silence and wildness there are no many better places to spend a weekend or three days in Spain. This parador is located in the heart ot National Spanish Park of Cazorla, former residence of spain dictator during his huntings of wild animals. You will have to drive 25 kms from Cazorla that means 45 minutes through a spectacular lansdape. Road is ok, but if you find a bus you must stop, they will not, they think the road is theirs.
As distances to civilization are quite long, you have to be sure of what you are going to do or expect from this place. I mean, at least you want to spend your time in the car, you have to plan your atcivities and life around parador.
If you like wildness and walking, no problem. If you just want to rest and read a book, no problem.
The hotel do not have many rooms, which to me is fine, not many guests, staff is more than friendly and pleasant. Rooms are big enough, furniture is mountain town style (maybe a refurbishment is needed). It has a terrace with views that will take your breath away. Also a pool for summer. A beatiful living room to have a chat or envoy reading.
There is wifi in lobby and living room, in my room wifi power was not enough. No mobile net but movistar (i orange, so no disturbing calls from job during holidays)
We saw deers and squirrels, there are a few of routes starting from parador, if you ask at the counter the will advise you properly
Meal was fine, not superb, but fine. If you plan to have a long walking excursion they can prepare for you a snack pack with sandwiches, fruits and drinks.
Due to location, half or full board is highly recommendable. At least two days
We will come back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

What's lovely place to stay. In the heart of forestry and mountains with fantastic views and walks on the doorstep. This place offers a welcome that beats all the other Paradors we have tried. Inside is warm, with a log fire in the lounge and comfortable sofas. The bar is relaxed and the dining room offers fine dining with emphasis on local foods using the best ingredients. A great place to try out the dishes you wondered about. It is about 20 miles from the nearest restaurant or bar, but this does not matter as the prices here are not high but the quality. Wake up to the sun beaming in the window over the mountain tops (and this was November!). Inside reminded me of an upmarket hunting lodge and while the outside of the building may not be the greatest architecture, the setting more than makes up for this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
262 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Cazorla was the first stop on the 3 night "Route of the Nazrids" package we had booked. Afte reaching Cazorla town we had a further 25 kms to drive through the mountains to reach the Parador. Unfortunately, we were driving through rain and cloud and so do not have the opportunity to fully appreciate the spectacular scenery ( although we had blue skies on our return and the views really are spectacular. The Parador itself is an old hunting lodge built, I an guessing around the 1920s and Franco himself allegedly once stayed here. The building itself could not be described as beautiful but the interior public areas were warm, spacious and welcoming with a roaring log fire in the big fireplace.

We had heard tell of poor service standards in some Paradors but our welcome was extremely warm and the staff to a man, wee very efficient and friendly which made for a very relaxing stay. We had booked half board and so ate in the restaurant. The menu was varied and interesting with lots ofregional dishes clearly marked on the menu. We opted for a starters of Rabbit Stew and Artichokes & Jambon with caramelised leeks followed by wild boar in red wine and fillet of venison. All the courses were well cooked and quite original ( as indeed they would be to us as it was "cocina regional"!). The wine list was small but the bottle of red we tried was excellent value.

Our room was spacious but not overtly luxurious, with great views over the valley to the east (the sun rising over the mountains was amazing. A big bath with loads of hot water and twin beds which were a little hard but apparently par for the course with Paradors.

There are some fantastic walks directly from the property. We were only there for one day and so took a short walk of 5 kms to Puerto del Tejo up through the forest to the top of the ridge to a viewpoint offering superb views across the valley below.

In all, we wished we could have stayed longer. Next stop, Ubeda...

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crellston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
286 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

At the end of a mountain Road is this Parador. The scenery is beautiful, the scent of the pines amazing and the silence is a bliss. The staff is friendly and helpful. A lot of wild life just outside the doors. The restaurant is however not that exiting, they try. No places nearby to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WebbDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazorla
1.9 mi away
Hotel & Spa Sierra de Cazorla
2.4 mi away
Hotel Coto del Valle
Hotel Coto del Valle
#3 of 11 in Cazorla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa de Cazorla
Hotel Villa de Cazorla
#5 of 11 in Cazorla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Puerta de Cazorla
Hotel Puerta de Cazorla
#8 of 11 in Cazorla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Guadalquivir
Hotel Guadalquivir
#2 of 11 in Cazorla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Cazorla
Hotel Ciudad de Cazorla
#7 of 11 in Cazorla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cazorla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cazorla

Property: Parador de Cazorla
Address: Sierra de Cazorla s/n, 23470 Cazorla, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Cazorla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cazorla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador de Cazorla 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Cazorla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cazorla Jaen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing