We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Rincon de las Descalzas
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Carmona
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Charming family hotel”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife being both the planner of this holiday and the driver of our rented vehicle decided to heed the urgent advice of tourist guides not to enter Sevilla by car, and chose this hotel in near-by Carmona as a point of departure for our expedition to Sevilla by taking a bus (yes, this is a long sentence).

Carmona is a pleasant little town worth a one-day stopover, and the Rincon de las Descalzas hotel is a highly recommended choice to spend the night. It has only a handful of rooms, "12+1" as the young woman at the reception told us, and they trust you with the front door key since after 22.00 hrs the door is locked. We stayed in the room called "Sexta," which overlooks no less than two miniature patios and combines a bedroom with a semi-separate little living with a bench and a desk. Everything is small and romantic in this friendly hotel, which has an elevator.

We left our car on the street (free of charge) close to the Puerta Cordoba, hoped for the best, and took a bus which runs almost hourly, takes about 50 minutes, and costs a few euros to arrive at San Bernardo bus station in Sevilla (from there, take a tram further into the centre; tickets can be bought from coin-operated machines on the platform). Two days later we returned to Carmona to pick up an intact car and continue our journey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    44
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
61
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

On a work-related trip to Sevilla we decided to use a Wonderbox gift to extend our trip to the weekend and stay in Carmona (a 20 min drive from Sevilla). It turned out to be this beautiful botique hotel, with every room/patio more beautiful and caringly decorated than the next. Even though there were at least 3 or 4 rooms occupied while we were there, we had the feeling we had the house to ourselves (which is what we wanted). In contrast to some other reviews I felt that it was really quiet and didn't remember hearing church bells. Maybe it depends on the room you stay in. Coffee was good and breakfast varied.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank anniewils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I would recommend this hotel for similar reasons to those in other reviews. Location is good, rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is very basic but sufficient. I didn't notice much outside noise apart from a wedding in the church next door.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apollo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

In an old building, with corridors opening onto lovely small courtyards, this place is full of character. Their website shows photos of all the different rooms; scroll over them and their name will appear on the screen, so you can try and select your favourite. We were in "Angelus", which was nice, but didn't have much natural light, being on the ground floor with window over one of the small courtyards. I guess this is the case for most rooms, but must be good to keep them cool in the summer (probably first floor would have more light). The bed was small and the bathroom not tiled so the paint was coming off in the wettest areas. Also, there was limescale on the bath tap. See photo. The hotel is very quiet. The bell of the nearby church, mentioned in somebody else's review, was not an issue for us, and would be heard also in other hotels, as they are all in the same area. The breakfast room was lovely and relaxing.
We parked our car in an unpaved area opposite hotel Alcazar de la Reina, which was free. Our favourite place for dinner was El Tabanco, which belongs to hotel Alcazar de la Reina, but has independent entrance.
Carmona is not to be missed and there isn't much choice of medium priced hotels. I would stay here again, trying to select the room in advance.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotourist75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliaMallorca
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

I agree with all the other reviews, this is a beuatiful hotel in a gorgeous town but please be aware that this hotel is next to a church and the clock chimes every half an hour with one chime and on the hour for the time. So our friends and us had a terrible nights sleep, and there was no way of drowning out the noise. We went to have breakfast and we must have been the only people in the hotel as there was very little available. There wasn't a single member of staff to be seen but someone had left us some cereal, buns and fruit. The milk was UHT left in the carton on the side half empty and warm and the orange juice was sunny delight!!! We took one look and decided to leave and find a cafe in the town. This hotel would be great for a couple on honeymoon as it is so romantic and abviously on honeymoon you wouldn't need much sleep!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2007

What a hotel!! One of the beautiful hotels I’ve been in. A unique hotel in a very beautiful town.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidTel_Aviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

I stayed here for one night in Sept. 2006. It was my last night in Spain after a 14 day trip. This was a very memorable hotel. The decorations are beautiful and the furniture. We had a conopy bed. There is a beautiful library with free use of computer, the only one on our trip. It is tucked away on a side street next to the church. Although the streets are narrow we had no problem finding it. Carmona is a beautiful gem of a little town. It is also on highway to the airport away from the traffic of seville.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmona
0.0 mi away
Alcazar de la Reina Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Palacio de Carmona
0.3 mi away
Parador de Carmona
Parador de Carmona
#1 of 7 in Carmona
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada San Fernando
Posada San Fernando
#6 of 7 in Carmona
109 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hacienda los Jinetes
Hacienda los Jinetes
#5 of 7 in Carmona
38 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel San Pablo Sevilla
Hotel San Pablo Sevilla
#76 of 175 in Seville
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rincon de las Descalzas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rincon de las Descalzas

Property: El Rincon de las Descalzas
Address: Calle Descalzas 1, 41410 Carmona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Carmona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Carmona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rincon de las Descalzas 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 rooms connected by flowered patios and picteresque ways, corners perfumed by fragances from orange blossom and incense, and under the sound of the constantly falling of the water on its fountains. Each room architecturally different and individuality decorated and furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Rincon de las Descalzas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing