We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Parador but strange town!”
Review of Parador de Carmona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Carmona
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Carmona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The Parador at Carmona is very impressive-a beautiful old building full of charm and character with stunning, breathtaking views. The bedrooms are ancient-again with amazing views, oozing olde worlde character yet practical and functional for modern day living. It is the surrounding town that fell short of the mark as far as we were concerned. To be fair, we were there in early December which may explain it. However, as we walked round the town to explore, everything was shut-most of the cafes, shops and restaurants (including the one recommended by Trip Advisor customers). It may well be that in season Carmona is a lively place, however, my advice is: if you do go out of season, enjoy the Parador itself and go into Seville for the day. In the absence of any good places to eat in the town (even the creperie was closed), we did eat at the Parador but the food was fairly indifferent. However, the breakfast was very good and a great way to start the day. We went into Seville for the day, parking at the station and taking a cab into the city-only five euros. I would advise anyone going into the city to take advantage of the "Boris" bikes as it is quite tiring walking round and cycling has been made very user-friendly with clearly marked paths to follow.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StHilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Carmona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

We're big fans of Paradors - Carmona was our 23rd and ranks among our favourites. Access to the hotel is through a double stone arch, part of the ruined castle attached to the palace accommodation. A large cobbled patio provides easy parking.

As you enter the hotel you begin to get an impression of the attention to detail which makes this Parador so special. The traditional tiling, stonework and brickwork are beautiful. There are comfortable seating areas, cosy in winter, and a beautiful arched patio with a fountain to provide coolness in the summer. Christmas decorations were subtled and tasteful.

Our bedroom and bathroom, with spectacular views over the plain below, were clean and fresh.

The restaurant is a magnificent room, and the food was probably the best we've had in any Parador. Their vegetarian offering was excellent and I can particularly recommend the duo of quiches, and the vegetable couscous.

We try not to repeat a Parador, but if we were in this part of Spain again, this would be our choice. Not only is the hotel lovely, but the village of Carmona is too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreneSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Parador de Carmona offers great views of the countryside. These views can be observed from the rooms, the restaurant, and the outdoor balcony adjoining the bar. Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable, though we did not have a room with a balcony. It's amazing to me how these very old buildings can be converted into modern day hotels offering a comfortable stay. Our room was quiet except that I have to mention that there were dogs barking constantly (not an exaggeration). There was a farm just below the parador and I assume these were working dogs minding the property. Since I travel with earplugs, this was not a problem for me and I was able to get a good night's sleep. I found breakfast at the parador to be good as they had a good selection of items. We ate 2 evening meals at the parador, which I did not find to be very good. I would suggest that you may rather want to check out a local restuarant for an evening meal. It was an easy walk from the parador into town. It was nice to sit in the park near downtown and watch the locals who gather there to socialize. Carmona is a pretty town to walk around in, though I didn't find anything much for shopping opportunities. A return to the parador offered opportunities to relax with a cup of coffee in the lale afternoon. If I were visiting Carmona again, I would likely return to the parador for overnight lodging and breakfast. It is unlikely, however, that I'd eat an evening meal there. Staff at the parador were friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank konstanzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Paradors are always great places to stay and the one in Carmona is no exception - amazing views, stunning location and the medieval building itself a stunner. Food is never that great in Paradors (not in my experience anyway) so I warned my dinner companions that we should just view the evening meal as an expensive fuel stop! It certainly wasn't cheap but wow! The food was exceptional, locally sourced, innovative, flavourful and served with panache - would go again just for the dining room experience. Breakfast was just as good as dinner!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheAdmirals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The Parador de Carmona is an elegant hotel. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean.
We had a room with a large balcony and spectacular views. The employees are very friendly and the service in the restaurant is absolutely professional. Breakfast is superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor. They have balconys that offer privacy.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmachen2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Spent two nights in a standard room atop the hill in Carmona. The room had a panoramic view overlooking the fields for as far as you could see. The bed was comfortable and clean; as was the bathroom. The fragrant (grape)bathroom amenities were consistent with the Parador brand. Bring your own hair conditioner as the Parador brand wasn't very good. We spent our first two nights here, visiting the charming town of Carmona one evening, followed by a full day in Seville.

Also stayed in Parador de Malaga-Golf (had awesome lunch at Parador de Malaga on top of the hill), Parador de Jaen, Parador doe Almagro and Parador de Alcala de Henares.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizcoughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Have stayed at the Carmona Parador a number of times and it does not disappoint. Its what the parador experience is all about, historic building, high standards, and a great location.

Carmona is a beautiful, compact town to explore. Some great tapas bars and friendly folk. Great base for day trip to Seville, about 35 miles away on the motorway.

Room Tip: They are all good
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hacienda los Jinetes
#5 of 7 in Carmona
38 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 176 in Seville
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Carmona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Carmona

Address: Calle Higueral del Alcazar s/n | Carmona, 41410 Carmona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Carmona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Carmona
Price Range: $129 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Carmona 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador de Carmona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Carmona Seville
Parador De Carmona Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing