We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Character and charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Palacio de Carmona
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Carmona
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Character and charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My parents and I have spent 10 days travelling through Andalucia and found Casa De Carmona to be our favourite hotel by far. The friendliness of the owners and staff to the character of the place really helps this hotel to stand out. From the sitting room to the rooms, from the courtyard to the entrance and the bar, the place really captured a feeling of yesteryear and the andalucian way of life. In listening to people staying there and some of the comments, the only criticism is that it is listed as a five star property instead of a four which perhaps creates a different set of expectations from visitors. The place drips with character with many undescribable beauties, often coming from its imperfections (see comments of others), however to myself and my parents, this all combined to create an extremely unique and real experience. We would gladly stay there again and recommend it to others who value an experience over oppulance or artificially created 'perfection'.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd0000000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    67
    28
    28
    43
See reviews for
38
166
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My finger has been hovering between Excellent and Very Good but, as my husband and I were captivated by the charm both of this palace/house and of its owners I decided on Excellent.

A couple of weeks ago we stayed at Casa de Carmona, conveniently situated in the middle of the beautiful small, old, hill-top town of Carmona, near Seville. This manor house was built in the 16th century and remained in the same family until the mid-20th century when it was sold to distant relatives. It is now the turn of Filipe and Reyes, a charming couple with 3 young children, to live there and run the place as a family home and a business. This requires love, dedication and resilience - all of which they have in abundance.

Filipe and Reyes are doing everything they can to help you enjoy your stay. There was a small hitch with our booking and, without us knowing about it until later, we were up-graded, without extra charge, to one of their premier rooms. Filipe has excellent English - should you need it - and is more than willing to chat to you and to share his local knowledge to give you local advice.

The building itself is stunning and we were enchanted with the atmosphere. Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished with a very comfortable bed, a large, comfortable sitting area to relax in, plus a large bathroom with bidet, 2 wash basins, bath and a separate shower.

Filipe is an excellent chef, and my husband commented that he had seldom dined in a nicer dining room - an adjoining converted stable. Pre-booking was appreciated.

Talking about food, as is often the case in Spanish hotels, it is advisable to make sure if you have booked just a room or if breakfast (lovely and generous) is included, and there is a charge for the private car park.

It is true that Casa de Carmona does not have the slick running or gleaming appearance of a hotel chain property. Some of the furniture is worn, there is a need for a lick of paint here and there and on occasion the management might seem a little bit disorganized but, as a uniquely Spanish living experience, offering a warm personal welcome, Casa de Carmona is a winner. Long may it last!





Some visitors might point out a few defects. It is true

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We literally lived in a palace!! Sooo beautiful! Philippe and Reyes made us feel like we were house guests. They made us feel right at home. We booked 2 double rooms and 2 triple rooms and instead of the triple share, they gave us an extra room which was so convenient. They prepared early morning breakfast for us for a morning excursion on a very short notice. Food though was quite expensive and it was too inconvenient to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The owners were so gracious and went out of their way to help pin down my travel plans, rent a car. The hotel is lovely, unique, with so much charm. I had a beautiful room with a view of the church. There's a wonderful courtyard, library, loggia, and entry way. It's a wonderful property with so much history and charm. I will hopefully come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this very special hotel. Very reasonable off season prices with a 5 star quality - antiques, bathrobes and minibar. Yes, it is a bit imperfect -- it is a very old, drafty Spanish manor home but it oozes character, drama and history and I would rather stay in such a unique place than a boring, lifeless chain hotel.

We enjoyed reading in the beautiful public drawing rooms and my husband even plunged into the outdoor pool - a dream, I am sure during summer.

Breakfast was expensive but delicious with eggs to order, iberio ham, cheese and toasted brioche.

We hope to come back with family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisVuittonforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice hotel in convenient part of old Carmona. Close enough to everything to walk. Restaurant closed during our visit so can't say anything about the food. Room clean and comfortable. Close to many restaurants and local market.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantasatnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Wonderful place in the centre of medieval Carmona. Spacious, beautifully decorated rooms and very friendly staff in this old Spanish family /stately home with 33 rooms. A must when travelling in the Seville area and very affordable, thanks to the financial crisis... A peaceful break from the bustling cities like Seville and Cordoba.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Froukje W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmona
0.0 mi away
Alcazar de la Reina Hotel
0.4 mi away
Parador de Carmona
Parador de Carmona
#1 of 8 in Carmona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Rincon de las Descalzas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hacienda los Jinetes
Hacienda los Jinetes
#6 of 8 in Carmona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada San Fernando
Posada San Fernando
#5 of 8 in Carmona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palacio de Carmona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palacio de Carmona

Property: Casa Palacio de Carmona
Address: Plaza Lasso 1, 41410 Carmona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Carmona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Carmona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Palacio de Carmona 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic centre of Carmona– a remarkably beautiful white village just 30 km East of Seville – stands the Casa de Carmona, a splendid XVIth century renaissance palace with 33 charming bedrooms. At the Casa de Carmona you will enjoy lush courtyards and living rooms, fine art and antiques, a fresh market cuisine, and the help of a knowing and well-mannered service – in sum, the palatial life of an aristocratic family. Since its opening in 1991, the Casa de Carmona has been celebrated by its guests and by the press. The Casa de Carmona is family-lived and run and offers affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Palacio de Carmona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palacio Casa De Carmona Hotel Carmona
Casa De Carmona
Casa Palacio De Hotel Carmona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing