We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It makes you want to stop seeking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Palacio de Carmona
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmona
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It makes you want to stop seeking”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

You come to Casa de Carrmona and you think that you don't have to look any further. You have the feeling that it is a home and not just a hotel, even with some elegant imperfections. The anti-Hilton or anti-Sheraton. Here, you breathe a delicately exotic air. This is the first time, in my life, II have managed to get to Spain, although I am a seasoned traveller.My expectations were high and I was not in the least disappointed. Andalusia is so beautiful, and Seville and also Carmona and this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    69
    28
    28
    43
See reviews for
40
168
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta (Europe)
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our holiday in Andalucia. We stayed one night at the exquisite Casa Palacio de Carmona and the memory of this hotel will linger on in my memory forever. It is certainly one of the most romantic places I have ever stayed in my entire life. The whole Palace is so utterly romantic that it could easily be the perfect setting for a film. Everything is authentic...one feels transported into another world. I only wish that we could have stayed longer.....the numerous Courtyards with flowing fountains, the exotic plants, the most beautiful breakfast room, our charming room, the grand Salons full of exquisite antiques and paintings, the enchanting loggias....I could go on and on. The owner, Philippe, is a charming host and took time to make us feel at home in his historical palace. This Hotel should be listed as a National Monument. It is truely unique!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This very old building is in a fantastic location and has been thoughtfully restored. We had an interesting room which was clean and attractive. The service was good. There is a private car park for a small extra cost. I would not only recommend but I would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you want a sparkling 21st Century up to date hotel, you will find minor things to gripe about at Casa de Carmona. Upkeep must be a constant challenge, as any of you with old houses can testify. Try keeping one that is 600 years old
But it you want charm, with fascinating nooks and crannies and a wonderfully attentive hosts you are at the right place. Ruth and I had a wonderful time here. We could pretend we were 16th Century nobility. The architecture, the plants, our hosts, our meal with friends who drove up from Sevilla -- it was all so gracious. This magnificent building embraces grace and charm -- fast disappearing from our culture.

But one must be realistic. I think Felipe and his wife do an amazing job (and they have two little kids to drop off at school each day). The graceful, tasteful lunch they served in the beautiful patio among the palm trees and the fountain could not have been more delicious (and romantic).

In the olden times I am sure there would have been a plethora of servants to attend to everyone's needs (think Downton Abbey. But if you want to step back in time and appreciate a peaceful sojourn, this is where you will be happiest. We thought the 19th century faucets were quaint -- and the hot water they delivered was hot.

Airport is right down the road. We had a delicious and thoughtfully prepared breakfast, got in the car and in less than an hour we had turned in our car and were on the way back to America. We are frequent travelers to Spain, andI look forward to seeing Felipe and his family in the near future..

Room Tip: Be careful to obey your Tom Tom. That cruicial (but not obvious) right turn by the gate saves you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had a wonderful time. Easy flight and car hire from Ryanair took us to Carmona. Fantastic tapas bar nearby at good local prices - fresh seafood and delicious anchovies on buttered toast. Easy drive to Seville the next day after extensive breakfast served by charming and well mannered host. It felt as though we were experiencing old Spain. Staff very helpful with advice on local restaurants and trips. So much better than staying in Seville.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Backzapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We decided to stay at this hotel based on a recommendation from our parents' friends who had been there about a decade ago, when then it might have been a 5 star hotel. Unfortunately, it is so obvious that there has been no maintenance and the place is really disgusting, definitely NOT a 5 star hotel, most likely a 1 star, everything we sat on was dusty and rusty, the rooms are absolutely freezing, we tried turning on the heating but it turned out to be letting cold air in, the bathrooms were in a disgusting shape, the breakfast was horrible, the pool was tiny and dirty, everything was a disappointment and we couldnt wait to move on to take a shower in another hotel! We wish someone had told us not to go there because it was definitely a waste of money and time. We suggest the Alcazar de La Reina which we entered into to compare - much cleaner and warmer!

Room Tip: None! We were shown 3 different rooms and all 3 had a rusty smell and looked 50 years old
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeenTraveller12356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The Casa is lovely. It is tastefully decorated and the young couple who run it are a delight. The interior is full of antiques and the rooms are old style. There is a lovely shady terrace and small ornate pool. The rooms are great and quiet. The dinner we had was excellent.
Carmona is a historic town a a good base for visiting Savilla by car or even by bus.
Casa de Carmona was a delightful surprise for my wife and I

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TunbridgeWellsTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmona
0.0 mi away
Alcazar de la Reina Hotel
0.4 mi away
Parador de Carmona
Parador de Carmona
#1 of 7 in Carmona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Rincon de las Descalzas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hacienda los Jinetes
Hacienda los Jinetes
#5 of 7 in Carmona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada San Fernando
Posada San Fernando
#6 of 7 in Carmona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palacio de Carmona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palacio de Carmona

Property: Casa Palacio de Carmona
Address: Plaza Lasso 1, 41410 Carmona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Carmona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Palacio de Carmona 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic centre of Carmona– a remarkably beautiful white village just 30 km East of Seville – stands the Casa de Carmona, a splendid XVIth century renaissance palace with 33 charming bedrooms. At the Casa de Carmona you will enjoy lush courtyards and living rooms, fine art and antiques, a fresh market cuisine, and the help of a knowing and well-mannered service – in sum, the palatial life of an aristocratic family. Since its opening in 1991, the Casa de Carmona has been celebrated by its guests and by the press. The Casa de Carmona is family-lived and run and offers affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Palacio de Carmona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palacio Casa De Carmona Hotel Carmona
Casa De Carmona
Casa Palacio De Hotel Carmona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing