We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located - Beautifully remodelled” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Coso Viejo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Coso Viejo
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Oslo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Centrally located - Beautifully remodelled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night March 2010 in a room on the 3. floor (2. floor in Spain). A double door with a "French" balcony opened up to the plaza and the view of the hill above.

The interior of the hotel is very tastefully done. Our room was very nice (if a little small) but with a large bathroom which I particularly loved - the bathtub, the warm, glowing colours, the choice of tiles and the attention paid to the details.

Everything was new and sparkling clean. The curtains were competely dark (no light shone through). The windows were tight. I always travel with earplugs, but no need here. Even if it was Friday night and a football match in town, we slept like logs.

We found the reception staff helpful and considerate. (A little Spanish goes a long way.)

We had breakfast in the hotel, although not included in our deal. However, we found the food, the service (even if they were nice ladies) and the breakfast bar a bit below the general standard of this hotel. The spacy lobby with its light, the beautiful tables and surroundings would have given the day a perfect start. A point for improvement?

We did not find the lack of parking a problem. You can make a short stop in the plaza in front of the hotel if you wish. Or if you have light luggage, it's just as easy to go directly to the car park in the centre (the hotel offers a discount if you pay the fee in the hotel).

Once you've walked the little distance between the car park and the hotel, you are right in the middle of the sights of Antequera. Maybe with the exception of the Dolmenes (the megalithic monuments) which are probably best reached by other transportation.

After you've climbed the hill to the Alcazaba and the Colegiata church, and enjoyed the sights and the wonderful views, you can relax with a refreshment at the Bodega Escribanos.

To sum up - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the hotel very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosaLilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    46
    82
    28
    12
See reviews for
24
81
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2008

My wife and me stayed in this hotel a couple of weeks ago, and we were a bit disappointed with the staff…specially at the reception. Their level of English is poor and they should be more attentive with the guests… On the other hand, I must say that the waiters at the restaurant were much nicer.

The hotel is located in a beautiful square which is a bit noisy, I must say.

The building is very beautifully decorated.

Well, on the whole, I’d say that it’s OK.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Myself04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed three nights for a family visit, and were looking for a nice, clean and rather functional, hotel. In that sense it met our expectations fully. For a 3* hotel, it even had bathroom amenities, which I wouldn´t expect in Andalusia. Staff all very friendly and helpfull.
But on the other hand there were small things that gave the impression that they don't pay attention to details: through the on-line booking site we asked for one big bed for two, and they gave us a room with two. This is not so bad, but on top of that the bed linen didn't fit on the bed, so you were feeling the mattress after 5 minutes sleep.
The hotel is new ,so I guess those are all small details that will be corrected when the hotel get's really going with the high season, and considering the price (47 € b&b) it was really a bargain. The views on the medieval kind on square with the castle-ruins on the hill top are great by the way!

  • Liked — location, price/quality ratio
  • Disliked — evening shift staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Linage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2007

This is a central hotel located opposite a lovely square. Nice terrace in centre of hotel. Staff overall are quite neutral/average. Room was clean, modern and well decorated with air con/BBC world on the TV. Main problem - our room was at the front and on the first floor. The square opposite is used by bus companies to dropoff/pickup, and the main street is very busy with cruising cars (noisy, with music blaring) and scooters. Found it very hard to sleep in this hotel. Good things - the church and bar/restaurant/alcazaar at the top of the hill are very nice places to visit and eat/drink in. Take earplugs!

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank awarhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Antequera hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antequera hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#5 of 15 in Antequera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
#7 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospederia Colon Antequera
Hospederia Colon Antequera
#12 of 15 in Antequera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coso Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coso Viejo

Property: Hotel Coso Viejo
Address: Calle Encarnacion 9, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coso Viejo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Coso Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing