We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I can say is thank you RFH Fitness, I'll be back.”
Review of Hotel Finca Eslava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Finca Eslava
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Certificate of Excellence
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All I can say is thank you RFH Fitness, I'll be back.”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Can't believe how wonderful I feel after just one week. Not sure what I expected, but know I really appreciated the standard and sincerity of the staff. It seems as everyone is on your side in aiding on your flagging limbs. What impressed me is that at no time did I feel bullied in any of the activities, just encouraged and supported by staff and other guests on the course to go just that bit further. At the end of the week they compare your weight, measurements, muscle and body fat readings, which I anticipated and dreaded in equally. I was so surprised and delighted with the results, I thought I would have had to be starved and flogged to have achieved the results I achieved. Instead I had eaten healthy substantial meals, snacked on fruit and had active days that were tailored to my level of fitness, to achieve in one week what I had been trying to reach since Christmas (not saying which one).
My special thanks to Mel who is always on hand to make you feel capable and who shepherds you along the way. Cannot forget the lush, laid back hiking guide David, who was a real pleasure to hike with. Maybe the most surprising for me was my sessions with Lissa the life coach, I'm a convert.
All in all one of those experiences that I have every intention of repeating.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Avasunbather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    99
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
143
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel due to RFH Fitness program that operates independently in it. It was the worst stay in our travel history. RFH is a fitness program and they have you in this hotel that is a SMOKING hotel. There are NO designated "nonsmoking" rooms (they lie when they tell you there are.) the hotel is situated in an industrial area. The hotel also does the cooking for RFH and the standard is below average although RFH would have you believe that they have the best chef in Spain. So if you are considering RFH Fitness, look elsewhere. But if you want to stay one night in this place as you drive through spain, then you will find the staff to be friendly and the rest is average. On a more positive note, the health club and swimming pool are great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inL0VEwithtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrfh, Tour Operator at Hotel Finca Eslava, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
At RFH Fitness we have had guests staying at the Hotel Finca Eslava for a total of well over 3000 nights since 2007. No other guest has ever complained about the smell of smoke in any of the guest rooms. Since 1 January 2011, in common with all other hotels in Spain and as required by law, Hotel Finca Eslava has instigated a policy of not allowing smoking in any public rooms and in the majority of guest rooms. Smoking is now restricted to 30 percent of the rooms, which are specifically designated. That notwithstanding, Finca Eslava is a modern hotel and all of the rooms are very well ventilated.

At RFH Fitness we have never claimed to have the "best chef in Spain". However, we are very happy to be able to avail of the services of the highly-trained professional chefs employed by the hotel. The hotel restaurant is very highly regarded locally and by the majority of our guests for the quality of the meals that the chefs produce.

In choosing the Hotel Finca Eslava as the base for our fitness holidays, we felt that the hotel´s location in an agricultural area on the edge of town, is more than compensated for by its lovely grounds and gardens, as well as the fantastic gym, pool and spa facilities. The hotel also benefits from being within 3 minutes by taxi of the centre of Antequera, which is one of the most beautiful and interesting large towns in Andalucia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Following some very enthusiastic reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked for an overnight stay on our way through Andalucia. The hotel is a good mile outside Antequera, and not shown on the town's hotel signs - we found it by asking in a shop. It's a pleasant environment, and our room was good, but really more for fitness enthusiasts, businesses and functions than leisure travellers. Lots of fitness activities and a big spa, together with a business centre. The restaurant promised more than it delivered - the food is quite ordinary for Andalucia. It's pleasant enough, but doesn't feel especially warm or cosy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This hotel is an ideal base for anyone who wishes to tour Antequera and its surrounding historical and geological sights.
The hotel was quiet, comfortable and its fitness and leisure facilities only added to the experience.
The rooms are furnished basically but with all mod cons while the dining room offered local fare, nothing spectacular but nonetheless tasty and appetizing.
We stayed midweek (in hot August) so avoided any wedding (and its accompanying noise and hustle and bustle) that might take place.
Getting there is quite easy but the website map is a bit confusing if you are not from the area so better to use these coordinates. N 37.033347, W 4.561092
Would I stay in this hotel again? Yes, without question.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ancigire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We booked two twin rooms in this hotel for two adults and two teenage boys. The rooms were big, clean and the air conditioning is very proficient. Well equipped bathrooms with everything you might need on a short journey.

We arrived in the late afternoon of a very hot day and went to see the swimming pools. The outdoor pool is small with few loungers around but the large indoor pool is the real attraction. It is 20-25m long with lanes and is used by the many sports trainers who were visiting the hotel at that point. It appears the hotel offers week long courses to sport trainers from around Europe and this is a regular feature of the hotel. was a bit off putting for our teenage boys who wanted to mess around in the pool but it was set up for swimming lengths.

The hotel is slightly outside the town so you need a car. it has a very attractive bar with good food served all day and then a restaurant for the evening. Service was excellent with lots of staff speaking English.

We did have difficutly in getting into the hotel late at night so be sure and bring a phone number and your patience - it took about 15 minutes for us to get back in with no apologies from staff for their absence.

Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Located just outside the town of Antequera in not the most attractive surroundings, this hotel is nevertheless one of the loveliest I have ever stayed in. You enter through a decoratively cobbled, covered courtyard, complete with fountain and plants and the rooms radiate up and around this. Great attention has been given to the decor and furnishings, all of which are top quality and in a lush Spanish style. From the huge still life paintings adorning the walls, to the high quality tiling in the bathroom there was much to admire here. On a more practical note the hotel and rooms had all the facilities one would expect from a 4 star establishment and more.

There is a large a la carte restaurant where the food is good and not too pricey and they have a great selection of wines. There is a pleasant outside eating area for the summer and a very attractive bar inside, more like a local taverna than a hotel bar, in which one could eat or spend the evening drinking when the weather is poor.

Across the car park is a large indoor swimming pool and a smaller outside one with a pleasant grassed area for sunbathing. There is also a sauna and very welcome massage pool.

There always has to be a fly, or in this case two, in the ointment. Firstly the breakfast was the worst I had in a month's travelling around Spain. Leathery bacon, cold eggs and sweating salami and cheese were presided over by a waitress who looked as it she resented getting up in the mornings. To add insult to injury this breakfast was not included in the room price (an extra 8 euros) and because of the location of the hotel you are really stuck if you opt not to have it. Secondly the staff, although courteous and mostly helpful were not friendly. The occasional smile would have been most welcome.
Maybe we were unlucky.

By the end of our three day stay the attitude of the staff had taken some of the shine off what remains a very beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junkuz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west country
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

it is VITAL that you put the map coordinates in the sat nav, as the address given is the equivalent of "the road to london." so isn't recognised by most sat navs.. that saying when we got lost the patron drove to find us at 11.30 pm!

i must admit that my first sight of the hotel was a disappointment as i'd thought from the photos it was surrounded by gardens. however to be fair we were not bothered by noise from the road at all( the hotel is set back, with the road only at the front- and although it looks like a major trunk road it doesn't seem to get much traffic).

The longer we stayed(2 nights initially and then went back for 2 more) the more charmed we were by the staff and the hotel. the inner courtyard with fountain is a very relaxing space and has large squishy sofas around it making it a perfect place to read or surf the internet.

breakfast was staffed by pepe(fridays) and eva the rest of the week. trying a few words of spanish definitely helps and we were impressed by the range jamon,chorizo,salami, fresh tomato purree, mollete(THE BREAKFAST ROLL of the area),pastries, fruit(sliced and whole\)cheese, yoghurt, eggs(boiled,fried,omlette) toast, fruit juice, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and the lovely eva produced expresso and capuccino for my husband on a quiet morning.

As we were intending to have a quiet break we opted to spend our first morning at the spa. It is fairer to say that this is a full on sports centre at the end of the hotel garden- or across the carpark. This means that everything is full size and in the case of the jacuzzi -gigantic. so there is a large swimming pool(25 or 30 metres), a fully equipped gym with 2 rooms of equipment from static bikes, weight machines, treadmills etc.changing rooms, and the jewel in the crown the spa.

the spa is in an adjoining annex and comprises a jacuzzi which is probably 20 foot by 30 foot and which has stations all around its perimeter where the bubbles massage particular muscles(feet,ankles,knees,thighs to name but 4),a cold plunge pool, a turkish steam room, a sauna and 2 wonderful electrically heated wooden recliners -all under a blue cloud painted ceiling. outside is a smaller pool surrounded by a small terrace with loungers and a small grassed area.

use of the gym and spa is included in room hire - a real bargain. also included was free wi fi another big plus.

we ate at the hotel one lunch time and had a delicious meal of local dishes (75 euros total )suggested by alberto with a good local wine and the following evening we ate the set meal which was fine for the starter and pudding but the main was rather ordinary. (18 euros each for 3 courses i think). we later discovered that there was a set lunch menu which we hadn't been offered - bit naughty- though in reality the lunch we ate was much nicer. several days later the bar made us some warm mollete stuffed with jamon,cheese olive oil and tomato pulp which with beer was another great lunch (7 euros each - i think)

antequera itself was delightful, and following emilio's advice (the night porter) we saw the dolmen caves( takes only 10 mins so dont miss them, longer if you watch dvd too), drove round antequera on the tourist trainbus - great value, ticket lasts 24 hours and the lovely antonio lets you jump on and off dashing in and out of the sights whilst he double parks(we parked for free at the dolmen caves and took the bus from there being delivered back 2 hours later -but be careful as car park is locked at 6pm. so if you'll be later than that park in the splay outside the centre gates), and having been told off by emilio for even thinking of missing it we drove off to el torcal national park on our way home. what an extraordinary landscape of limestone pavement and rock sculptures. would be a great place to picnic - if you're allowed food up there. green walk really did only take 45 mins.

our rooms were kept incredibly clean, beds were comfortable, towels good quality, not much furniture in the room but when we asked for a chair one was found very quickly.

we left to travel to granada and to see the alhambra.

But when the ash cloud closed malaga airport we re hired the car and drove back to eslava for another 2 nights. this time not getting lost and it only took 54 minutes.

i would definitely go back - indeed we already have!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCountryMozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antequera hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
762 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#6 of 15 in Antequera
177 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Villas de Antikaria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca Eslava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca Eslava

Property: Hotel Finca Eslava
Address: Ctra. A-7281 Km. 4, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Finca Eslava is a beautiful 4 star hotel right on the edge of the large town of Antequera, one of the loveliest and most interesting towns in "The Real" Andalucia.You get everything you’d expect from a hotel – and more – at Hotel Finca Eslava; from beautiful rooms, fabulous food and idyllic grounds to an incredible indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym and luxurious spa!Since December 2007, Hotel Finca Eslava has also been home to RFH Fitness, who provide fantastic fitness and weight-loss holidays for all ages and levels of fitness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Eslava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing