We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveler rating
457
414
124
38
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
457
414
124
38
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel surrounding countryside few minutes walk swimming pool local specialities room was large staff at reception good size free parking comfortable rooms easy parking quiet location junior suite public areas plenty of parking an excellent hotel air conditioning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2019

We spent a week here arranged by Great Rail Journeys. The room was large with an excellent bathroom; there was no tea making facilities but this was not claimed to be present but lack of cups or mugs was a disappointment. The air conditioning did not work which at first did not matter as the air was cool. However when the temperature rose and the room reached 26 degrees I asked for the reason for the non function to be investigated. It took 3 days and 3 requests before a member of staff agreed to come to our room to see what the problem was! it transpired that the fuse had tripped for the air con. The wardrobes etc were all black which was somewhat oppressive.
The food was the worst aspect; meals varied but there was little choice for our group. When I asked the tour manager why an American tour group was being given a considerably better menu i was told that they were probably paying a lot more; I doubted this as our holiday was not cheap. This did not impress me as there was a distinct lack of vegetables or salads and this this was in Spain!! The desserts were very disappointing.
The tour manager spent the whole week trying to get the standard of service improved. When our small party of 23 were the only guests the service was poor but when other groups were present service became spasmodic. On one occasion at breakfast the only member of staff present for breakfast was a poorly trained young waitress attempting to look after about 50 guests.
Two weeks later we stayed in Palmanove at another 4* hotel where the food was superb, the staff bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable and the room was bright and air-conditioned - what a contrast.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank welltravelled354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director P, Gerente at Parador de Antequera, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your valuation and your visit to the Parador de Antequera. We apologize for not meeting your expectations.

I would appreciate if you contact me by email (antequera@parador.es) May it helps to clarify your doubts.

Best wishes.

Abigail
Subdirector Parador Antequera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Very different and exciting food. very nice food. Excellent panorama view from the restaurant. The pork shoulder was very tender and cooked to perfection. Desert was nice nice nice and the service form the waiters was top class.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 778jensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director P, Director de Recepción at Parador de Antequera, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, we are very glad to know that you have enjoyed our restaurant and the views from it. We hope to come soon again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

A lovely modern building on the edge of town, with great views towards the ' Pena de Los Enamorades ' rock formation from parts of the hotel. Comfortable rooms - ours had two single beds pushed together to make a double ( not sure if they have double beds.
Food is available during the day in the cafeteria near the swimming pool - snacks and light lunches. In the evening dinner is served in the main dining room, which also serves as the breakfast room. The menu didn't change ( in the 2 nights we were there anyway ) and had some interesting local specialities. Service tended to be rather slow and hit and miss with some items forgotten, however the staff were working very hard - the hotel needs to employ more staff. Plenty of free parking outside the front of the hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CazBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director P, Director de Recepción at Parador de Antequera, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind word about your stay in Antequera. We are delightful to know that you have enjoyed your stay, the parador and the surroundings.
We hope to see you soon again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

A nice, modern, spacious hotel, with quality decor, carpets/ flooring and furniture.
Easy free parking on the hotel car park in front of the hotel.
We had a very pleasant and helpful greeting at reception.
We were given a good sized room, which had a good bathroom. Unfortunately the shower was over the end of the bath.
A comfy large twin beds pushed together.
The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and all very hardworking. The hotel does suffer from understaffing! The restaurant and bar/cafeteria staff work extremely hard and are very obliging but lack more help as service tends to be slow with very long pauses between getting service/ordering/ courses/ getting drinks (sometimes after the course had been finished or not at all)
Great views of the countryside from the restaurant. Food is rustic and is served in large portions .
Breakfast is buffet style, with a reasonable choice of both cold and hot fare and particularly good cakes.
The highlight of the area are the 5,000 years old Dolmens and the historic town . All within walking distance.
Although the television had 50 or so channels it was unfortunate that it lacked a British, English speaking one.
Overall, A good hotel and we would stay here again. The understaffing lets the hotel down. ****

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank FromtheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director P, Director de Recepción at Parador de Antequera, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank your for taking time to write your opinion of your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed overall our services and the surroundings. We will let know the management your comment about the understaffing.
But we hope to see you soon again. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

A nice, modern, light Parador with good views over the surrounding countryside. Our room was light and airy with a view of the pool. Much of the cafeteria seating is outside, to make the most of the views. We particularly enjoyed the tasting menu here, a delicious variety of local produce. The staff here all did a really good job of making us feel welcome. A great place to stay to explore the town and surrounding countryside.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank julietten683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director P, Director de Recepción at Parador de Antequera, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2019

Dear Juliette, thank younfor your kind review of your recent stay. It's a pleasure for us ti know that you've enjoyed both, our establishment and the service and the surroundings. We would be glad to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews