We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, comfortable but quirky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Antequera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parador de Antequera
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stylish, comfortable but quirky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Like all Paradors, this is a comfortable hotel in the centre of a historical and interesting region of Spain. Unlkie most Paradors, it is new and not developed from a historical building. However, it is smart and comfortable, the facilities excellent, the staff friensly and helpful, and the location is within walking distance not only of the town centre, but of the castle that overlooks the town and its surrounding fertile valley. The layout of the hotel is quirky, to say the least, but that is part of its charm. The views from the dining room are extraordinary, and the surroundings lush and beuatiful.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PadT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    282
    77
    23
    14
See reviews for
127
419
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent a few days enjoying some of the beautiful inland parts of Andalucia before heading to the coast and stayed at this parador. This property is a modern one but that did not take away from its wonderful location just a short walk from the centre of old Antequera and with wonderful views out over the plains. It was pretty easy to find following the parador signs and offered plenty of free parking on-site. The bedroom was very well presented with good facilities and you could just about pick up the free wifi though the signal was better in the lounge area. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed a very extensive buffet breakfast each morning looking out over the fabulous view. We also had dinner there on one evening and it was excellent if perhaps pricier than some local restaurants. We did an audio tour of the Moorish Fortress which was well worthwhile and very good value at 6 Euros.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreBuckingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I had lunch in the modern, elegant restaurant of the Parador and it was a delicious, in-expensive and delightful experience. On arrival in the restaurant you are greeted with a glass something which tastes a little like a very dry sherry, a bowl of olives and a large bowl of home baked breads. They have a varied but typically Spanish, lunch time menu (available in English) which includes specials and vegetarian options. We had the classic Antequera platter (a huge plate of local sausage, eggs, pork, ham etc), Rabbit Pate with spiced bread and marmalade & shoulder of beef with artichoke. The food was of a very high standard and service was excellent. The panoramic views from the restaurant are wonderful and only add to the experience. The atmosphere was lovely, someone from a group of people at the table next to us played the grand piano which sits near the window while another guest sang, and all at lunch time! A three course menu was 32 euros which we both thought was excellent value for money for the quantity and quality. All in all we spent four hours at the hotel, eating, drinking, enjoying the wonderful vista and being thoroughly entertained. The afternoon ended our time in Andalucia wonderfully and has left us with a fabulous memory of our stay. We can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel, we only had lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glittergirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I can but agree with the recent consensus about this hotel. Modern high quality Spanish architecture is what you get here. It is away from the main streets, so is very quiet, but is still only a short and pleasant walk past the bullring into the lovely town of Antequera. We liked the modern feel of this hotel and particularly rated the bathroom with its swing door! The room was large and the bed was comfy. The internet was indeed a little patchy. The reception staff were helpful and pleasant, arranging for the previous parador at which we had stayed to send my wife's glasses (which she had left next to the bed) back to our home in the UK. We didn't eat here. The whole point of going to a place like Antequera is to enjoy the coffee/tapas bars. An advantage of this parador is that it is very well placed to get to and from Malaga airport in less than an hour, dual carriageway pretty well all the way. A good starting or finishing point for a tour of Andalusia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Antequera is an interesting town with a rich history and many historical sights to visit. Apart from that is it also a nice town with a relaxed atmosphere. The Parador, however lacks some of this atmosphere. It is a very modern building with cool design, and it has all the services you expect from a Parador. From the map it seemed to be situated a bit away from the city centre, but it was only a five minutes' walk down to the main street, so location was good. Nice rooms with comfortable beds and a bathroom with frosted glass walls. The wash basins have very cool design, but they are to shallow to be very functional. The room and the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean, and everything was working the way it should. There is also an outdoor swimming pool. The staff was correct and professional, but a few more smiles from some of them would have helped. The breakfast was good, especially with a great variety of fresh fruits. It is difficult to point at a certain thing that made us feel it lacked atmosphre, but we felt it a bit impersonal in comparison to other Paradors that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxtel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

A good and clean parador, near the citycentre. Beautiful modern rooms, excellent breakfast and very helpfull staff.
Once at home, i discovered that i had forgotten my phone charger. One e-mail was enough to have it delivered by post, only a few days later. Well done!

Room Tip: There all good, i assume
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very modern, very clean hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights while on some motorcycles touring the area.

Compared to other Paradors, this hotel is very modern, and because of this doesn't have much character. However I do like the pod style bathrooms in the rooms.

Food was ok, did have a few issues with the wireless but they managed to get it working after a while

Very comfortable sleep and good location, close to the town but far enough out to avoid to much noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexbeglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antequera hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
0.4 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#5 of 15 in Antequera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
0.5 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
#7 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Antequera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Antequera

Property: Parador de Antequera
Address: Paseo Garcia del Olmo 2, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Antequera 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green gardens, white walls, confortable furniture and a refreshing swimming-pool bring life to this Parador which is located near to all the important centres, and is ideal for meetings and relaxation. Antequera, which is set of dolmens, one of the best preserved in the world ,is also a barroque enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Parador de Antequera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Antequera Hotel Antequera
Parador De Hotel Antequera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing