We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointment.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Antequera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parador de Antequera
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A disappointment.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have stayed in a number of Paradors over the years and this is the first time we have been disappointed in one. The hotel is aggressively modern and its appearance both externally and internally reminded us of a high quality private hospital.

Despite the hotel having very few guests we were put in a room with no outlook whatever. The room was comfortable enough but again the design was a little odd with the bathroom walls being of translucent glass from floor to ceiling.

At dinner in an almost empty dining room we had to wait 45 minutes before receiving anything to eat and when it did arrive my main course was cold and had to be sent back for reheating. The waiter made no effort to apologise in any way. At breakfast, which was otherwise excellent, the coffee was also likewarm.

The weather during our stay was poor which may not have helped but we decided to reduce our stay from two nights to one and moved on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    282
    77
    23
    14
See reviews for
127
419
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

A very modern parador, just redone. On the surface, everything is beautiful. On closer inspection, it is not. Room heater fan had an uneven rumble, one sink was stopped up, one floor was somewhat buckled.
Suspect this place will be great to stay at for about 2 years and then the less than perfect workmanship will be more obvious. Enjoy it now.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk res
Level Contributor
294 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is atypical of many Paradors but none the worse for that.A very modern stylish building ( could have done without semi-opaque bathromm wall!) in this modest town.
The place was imaculately clean, a very nice terrace for a drink and a good sized pool.
we did not eat here, but the breakfast was extremely good.
Do visir Torcal during your stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here at the start of our touring paradors holiday as this was the only place we could book using the five night discount card.

We found it peaceful, lovely, relaxing and ate in the bar at lunchtime and had drinks in the evening. Pool looks great and garden is nice.

We had a fabulous breakfast and recommend eating in the restaurant/ breakfast room as you get wonderful views over the valley.

Service was friendly and helpful.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed as a couple at this hotel a few days ago and on arrival at the gate we were met by a picket line. The staff, all being goverment employees were having a 2 day strike to complain about their wage cuts. They were very pleasant but wanted to explain why they were not working. As you can imagine we were worried as to how the hotel would perform with 70% of the staff not there. We need not have worried as the manager was running reception , switchboard and porter and doing an excellent job. He upgraded our room to a suite and explained that althought the bar was open, food and breakfast would be minimal. The Dunkirk spirit abounded amongst all the different nationalities and the hotel is really very smart. We would stay there again for the view, facilities and location.
The manager was there early next morning manning the fort and talking about changing towels in the rooms!
The funniest thing was how the large picket line dissapered at lunch time for 2 hours! Very Spanish.
Overall this is a beautiful hotel and the few staff we met were friendly and helpful. Would highly recomend it and in particular the charming manager.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Modern Parador in a good position looking across open countryside.Rooms are spacious .Ours had no view and was very dark as it was more or less blocked in by bushes. Decent size pool and garden area. The breakfast was very good, great choice. As with any hotels in good locations and with good facilities weddings are common and there were two at once while we there but there was minimun disruption.
Down below the Parador and a way off, the new fast AVE train line is being built so there may be construction noise although we didn't hear any.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkavenuefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Perfect hotel. Comfortable, modern rooms; nice pool area and good food in the restaurant. Tip: park your car on the road next to the hotel instead of on the hotel's parking. The latter costs 10 euros, the first is free, whereas it's literally 30 seconds walking away and both are unguarded.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wouter188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antequera hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
0.4 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#5 of 15 in Antequera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
0.5 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
#7 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Antequera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Antequera

Property: Parador de Antequera
Address: Paseo Garcia del Olmo 2, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Antequera 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green gardens, white walls, confortable furniture and a refreshing swimming-pool bring life to this Parador which is located near to all the important centres, and is ideal for meetings and relaxation. Antequera, which is set of dolmens, one of the best preserved in the world ,is also a barroque enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Parador de Antequera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Antequera Hotel Antequera
Parador De Hotel Antequera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing