We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in beautiful Antequera - Un hotel estupendo en la bella Antequera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Antequera
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great hotel in beautiful Antequera - Un hotel estupendo en la bella Antequera”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The hotel was very pleasant with a modern, minimalistic decor. The rooms were very spacious. They were equipped with a flatscreen television which had many channels but with only a news channel in English. The bathroom was spacious and modern. All of the facilities were very clean.

All the staff we met were very pleasant and efficient.

There was adequate free parking in the hotel grounds.

We enjoyed the evening we spent in the hotel restaurant. The service was excellent and the prices reasonable for a hotel of this type. We were a little disappointed in the standard of some of the food. I asked for rare tuna and this was excellent but spoiled by a very salty sauce. I would have preferred it if my vegetables were not fried in batter.

The cafeteria, Terrace and grounds were very pleasant. We did not use the swimming pool as it was closed this time of year. There was a good view of the surrounding countryside from the hotel grounds.

The hotel was very well situated to tour the beautiful countryside in the surrounding area, including the magnificent Torcal national Park. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the centre of Antequera but it was a very steep walk back which should be attempted only by relatively fit people. However, I consider it was better to be slightly on the outside of the town as parking in the town was difficult. For those that considered the walk difficult it would be very cheap and easy to use a taxi.

El hotel era muy agradable con una decoración moderna y minimalista. Las habitaciones eran muy amplias. Estaban equipados con un televisor de pantalla plana que había muchos canales, pero con sólo un canal de noticias en Inglés. El baño era amplio y moderno. Todas las instalaciones estaban muy limpias.

Todo el personal que encontramos era muy agradable y eficiente.

Había aparcamiento gratuito adecuada en el recinto del hotel.

Hemos disfrutado de la noche que pasamos en el restaurante del hotel. El servicio era excelente y los precios razonables para un hotel de este tipo. Nos quedamos un poco decepcionados con el qualidad de algunos de los alimentos. Yo pedí el atún raro y esto fue excelente pero fue estropeado por una salsa muy salada. Hubiera preferido que las verduras no son rebozada.

La cafetería, terraza y los jardines eran muy agradables. No usamos la piscina, ya que estaba cerrado en esta época del año. Había una buena vista de los alrededores desde los jardines del hotel.

El hotel estaba muy bien situado para visitar la hermosa campiña de los alrededores, incluyendo el magnífico Parque Torcal . Fue un paseo de 10 minutos al centro de Antequera, pero se trataba de un paseo de vuelta muy fuerte que debe ser tratado sólo por personas relativamente en forma. Sin embargo, considero que era mejor ser un poco en la parte exterior de la ciudad como el estacionamiento en la ciudad era difícil. Para aquellos que consideran el camino difícil que sería muy barato y fácil de usar un taxi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibsandbobs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    305
    87
    25
    14
See reviews for
136
454
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The Parador was easy to find, as usual in Spain.Our room was down 2 levels as the hotel blended into the hillside and was clean, neat and very modern. Lovely carpets welcomed us along the corridor.
There was an outdoor pool but being November it was closed!
Inside the room was a seperate bathroom area surrounded by dense glass- a very new concept - and containing complimentary shampoo, gel, conditioner plus showercap, toothebrush and soap. Plenty of wardrobe space, a mini bar (expensive), a flat screen tv with the usual foreign channels for us English speaking folk and good info about the hotel.
The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was extremely quiet all night.
Being close to the town it was easy to leave the car and walk into the main area.
The staff were helpful and spoke English too.
Overall a really good place to stay to explore the wonderful surrounding area. Only downside would be the bath where you take a shower- the base was quite slippery when wet and soapy and there wasn't an extractor fan to clear the mirror.

Room Tip: Our room was 212 and faced the garden- very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mummybearSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strensham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This was our third and fourth day's stay in a six day stay in Paradors. My wife is disabled, and the room was perfectly suited to her needs; plenty of space and a good sized accessible bathroom. Access to the other floors is easy via the central lift. the staff were uniformly excellent, very helpful and spoke good English. Wi-fi good speed. The barman is Irish,and we had a good chat with him. While we were there, there was a wedding reception. Apart from restricting access to the bar, this did not affect our stay, as they have a separate room for this. Evening restaurant service seemed slower that evening, however. Due to mobility restrictions we used the restaurant on both evenings. Service and food were excellent; I had a kid (goat) leg; very tasty. The second evening I had a 'rustic' local ingredients meal. On the whole this was not good, the pork dish was awful, but the chickpea stew was superb. Be careful what you order! the Engilsh translation is poor; why can't Paradors get their menus professionally translated? Dictionaries don't always have the specialist translation. The breakfast was the best of all the Paradors we visited - a great selection.
It is a good base to see the local area. The Granada Parador is not disabled friendly, and Antequera is ideal as a base. Don't miss out on the Sierra Nevada; superb scenery.Good directions to the hotel from Seville, not so good from the other direction!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I haven't stayed in a Parador before. I suspect this one is a little different to a lot of the others, having very modern decor. The staff were efficient and pleasant, the room was clean, stylish and comfortable.

Like many continental hotels, this one suffers from the absurdity of twin single beds pushed together instead of a double bed. Who are the customers who prefer this arrangement? Another criticism is that the room had no outside access i.e. no terrace or balcony. To enjoy the excellent Spanish weather, you had to use the communal areas. This was disappointing.

We had a half-board deal, so experienced breakfast and dinner. Dinner was excellent - the kitchen and chef would credit a 5-star establishment, the service was also top-notch. Breakfast was not so good - juices were not regularly replenished and we have found much better selections of food items in other (less expensive) Spanish hotels. Breakfast pastries, however, were notably good.

The hotel has plenty of car parking and is a short walk from Antequera town, which is a pleasant place to spend some time. If you have a car, it's also a potential base for exploring Ronda or Granada and closer than these are the Dolmen sites and the Torcal Nature Reserve.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digitaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I only stayed for one night unfortunately, but the hotel staff was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The pool area was a pleasure to visit, the room was spotless, spacious and beautiful. It felt like a 5 star hotel to me, it was very quiet which I loved, the location surely helps. Breakfast was amazing (free room service). The only let-down was the noise of two lawn-mowers in front of my window for an hour in the morning from 8.30 - but I guess that doesn't happen every day. I definitely want to come back to both the hotel and the town itself.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on floor 2 have a great view onto the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flspes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a nice place to stay as a base to see old antequera .Breakfast was SUPER buffet.With local dishes that we didn't eat....very oily, but nice to be able to try. Good olive oil and nice staff. Ask if there is a wedding - we had one but no bother really except that they had monopolized the outside evening terrace for the wedding and we would have liked to have sat for an evening drink Everything was very clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaaknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Although not one of the historic Paradors I would definitely recommend it. Room was huge - technically a twin which actually meant two nearly double-sized beds put together. Whole hotel is very modern with large squishy sofas in reception which we just had to sit on! and the walls of the bathroom were milky opaque glass - very cool.

The pool was large and inviting and there were plenty of loungers although only some had thick padded cushions which everyone wanted to have. The bar/snack area provided good food and there was a nice terrace. We ate in the restaurant one night, and the food was good, but the service was so slow the next day we decided to have a main meal while out during the day and eat a snack in the bar at night. You can get some of the main meals from the restaurant in the bar too.

If you like chic modern interiors this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antequera hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
806 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#7 of 15 in Antequera
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#6 of 15 in Antequera
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
#5 of 15 in Antequera
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Antequera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Antequera

Property: Parador de Antequera
Address: Paseo Garcia del Olmo 2, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Antequera 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green gardens, white walls, confortable furniture and a refreshing swimming-pool bring life to this Parador which is located near to all the important centres, and is ideal for meetings and relaxation. Antequera, which is set of dolmens, one of the best preserved in the world ,is also a barroque enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Parador de Antequera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Antequera Hotel Antequera
Parador De Hotel Antequera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing