We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
infinity pool with a stunning view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
infinity pool with a stunning view
The rental farm, Cortijo la Serena infinity pool, view over garden and rolling hills with mountain range in background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
infinity pool with a stunning view
The rental farm, Cortijo la Serena
infinity pool, view over garden and rolling hills with mountain range in background
almond trees in flower in February/March
part of the garden with horses in back ground, early summer
lounge (pls. note TV is now a flat screen one)
the oriental down stairs  bedroom
romantic fourposter bedroom with balcony overlooking the garden and swimming pool
Mexican twin bedroom
Path to swimming pool and lavender walk
Desert tent for exclusive use of guests
Interior of desert tent, ideal for relaxing, yoga, eating, listening to music etc
BQ area
one of many terraces
part of garden
infinity pool  area, 3 large terraces,6mx11m, 70cm at shallow end to 2 m at deep end , walled/gate
rental villa previously the oldest bakery in the area, Cortijo la Serena
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Finca -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Antequera, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Louise W
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is our second visit to this amazing destination, we love it so much we are already looking at dates to go back. Cortijo la serena is one of the most amazing places we have stayed,even the amazing pictures on the web page don't do this little piece of paradise justice! The villa is a beautiful old bakery and has an amazing rustic kitchen and comfortable living room with all the amenities i.e. TV with satellite if you have kids like we do. The bedrooms are comfortable and each one is decorated to a high and beautiful standard, you won't want to spend so much time inside as the property which is vast has an amazing swimming pool with views that take your breath away and lots of amazing gardens to walk around. I can't say enough how amazing this is for a relaxing holiday destination with your family or friends. The owners are amazing and super friendly and are always on hand if you need any advice, if you book this villa you will definitely want to go again and again xx

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drdabs
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A real gem in the foothills. So pleased we stayed here. Excellent base for touring Granada, Cordoba and perhaps Seville. 40 mins drive from Malaga Airport. Accommodation first class and spotless. Converted property, tastefully restored with many delightful touches. Full of character yet equipped for all contingencies. Landscaped grounds with private pool and lounge areas. Very tempting just to chill out and and simply enjoy the property. The owners Donald and Kathryn are a delightful couple who go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Overall excellent value. We would happily stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonAnn...
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Even Better !”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A return trip to La Serena did not disappoint. The Cortijo which is in a great position for touring, had recently been redecorated and refurbished, making it even more comfortable and a pleasure to be in. The house was warm and cosy. Despite the problems Malaga had experienced with unusually bad weather, the area around La Serena escaped the worst of it so still able to travel around without any problems. New restaurants had opened since we were last there and I am constantly surprised by the quality and originality of the food on offer. It was definitely a gastronomic few days. Catherine and Donald, the owners of La Serena, were as usual helpful and very informative which can save so much time when on a short visit. One of the things visiting in the winter months here is that you get to see things that are not around in the summer. The blossom on the trees, open fires in the restaurants and the snow on the Sierra Nevada. Museums empty of people so free to wander with ease. This area and the Cortijo are not just for Summer visits.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonhC7...
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is an amazing house, traditional Andalusian decor, immaculate clean, fully equipped with everything one could wish for on a holiday. Fantastic location for exploring Andalucía. Don't miss out on this holiday home!!!!

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidlPrinc...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A perfect rural retreat with all you need at hand”
Reviewed September 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The pictures give you some idea how gorgeous the house is, but of course the scale of it will only hit you when you arrive. We were greeted by Donald and given a brief tour of the house and gardens, pointed at a fridge full of lovely snacks, given directions to local markets and left to get on with the serious business of relaxing.
We soon found our favourite spots as every effort to make guests comfortable has been taken; so if you fancy lounging on silk in the tent, by the pool or in the perfectly framed hammocks in the shade, you're going to be happy from the minute you get there.
If we're honest, we were a tiny bit nervous about the owners being on site as we're very private people, but we needn't have been at all concerned. Kathryn and Donald are both very charming and consummate professionals, they are somehow both there when you need them and completely invisible the rest of the time, it's quite a trick.
I'd recommend this house and this part of Spain in a heartbeat, it's quiet but not remote and so well supplied with everything we could have asked for - from kitchen supplies to places to sunbathe or escape from the sun when needed - really, it's a home from home.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's hard to pick one thing, the tent is of course stunning, but the area is amazing too, the insight of the owners into this was invaluable.
Liked least: Not being there now.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
929Jane
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Gem of a traditional Spanish property in the heart of beautiful Andalucia”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Cortijo la Serena for two blissful weeks this summer. As a family, we enjoy getting to know and explore different countries, and this was our first - and hopefully not last - holiday in Spain. In fact, our adult son, who loves to travel to new places each year, said that this was one place he would definitely choose to return to.

The accommodation itself could not be faulted. Lovingly restored by the owners, Kathryn and Donald, to its traditional charm, the villa met all our needs, and more. Eating outside each day was such a treat, soaking up the warmth and marvelling at the beautiful setting - the cortijo's own grounds, with the magnificent mountains beyond. Plenty of shade too, in the heat of the day. Then, of course, there was the pool area, which we returned to late afternoon most days, to relax following daily excursions and before our evening meal.

Cortijo la Serena could not be more conveniently located. Approximately 40 minutes' drive from Malaga airport, yet it seemed a world apart from the hustle and bustle of the coastal resorts. Set in peaceful surroundings, with olive trees as far as the eye could see, our accommodation was still only a short drive from neighbouring towns such as Archidona, Antequera and Rio Frio, with their interesting buildings, market squares, shops, nooks and crannies and selection of good restaurants. Easy access, too, to the Malaga-Granada motorway and to the high-speed railway line near Antequera, where we hopped on trains to Ronda and to Cordoba. The Alhambra in Granada and the La Mezquita in Cordoba are wonders to behold. We also enjoyed walking in the unusual terrain of the El Torcal mountain area.

The owners, Donald and Kathryn, were so welcoming and interesting to talk with - always available nearby, yet offering us complete privacy.

We also found the Spanish people we met when we were out and about to be friendly and helpful too.

Would love to return to this property - perhaps at a different time of year, to see its beauty in a different light.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise W
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Dream holiday”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I have to say cortijo la serena was the most amazing holiday destination we have ever been to, the entire holiday from start to finish was pure luxury. The villa itself was amazing with a great traditional kitchen and the bedrooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable, the 2 bathrooms were great especially the master bath upstairs which was beautifully decorated and very quirky. The outdoor space is something else, it takes your breath away how stunning the landscape is and sitting round the gorgeous pool transports you to exotic faraway places. Myself and my family had such a great time we are booking again for our next school holidays. Thankyou Donald and Kathryn for providing such a beautiful experience that we will keep with us for a long time xx we have already recommended la serena to lots of our friends and as soon as they saw our pictures they definitely agreed how beautiful it is

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing