We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Antequera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Antequera
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The decor is very depressing we had a room for 3 people and it was in the room on the 3rd floor very dark and depressing. Repairs to things like soap dish were dreadful looked like a young child had stuck some putty on it. We were very tired every day and had to wait until 8.00pm to eat. swimming pool not open in the day time except for weekends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessie_bird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 883 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Here at the moment. Hotel rooms ok. Pool area horrible. Extremley dirty changing rooms. Tiles off, shower doors hanging off, lockers dirty with broken doors, toilet paper and dirty towels everywhere. Yuk!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel as part of a Page and Moy tour. Our room was fine, well appointed and clean. The general appearance of the building was of four star standard but looked a little tired. The biggest disappointment was the buffet dinner. It soon became rather boring and we craved fresh vegetables and fruit. The staff were very amenable but 'rushed off their feet'. This hotel, to merit a 'four star rating', needs a significant uplift and a rethink about catering. The location is good for seeing the sights of Andalusia and Antequera is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snowlizardkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Antequera Golf for six nights half board as part of a package visiting Cordoba, Granada & Sevilla. Our twin room on the first floor was a decent size, and I was relieved not to be on the top floor as those rooms looked quite pokey in the photos I had seen. The whole place was spotless, so the housekeeping is obviously excellent. The location of our room was very quiet at night; no doors banging or lift noise or terrace noise, or traffic or scooters, but also no view, no balcony etc. There was a large quantity of food available and good variety, buffet style, but it was not by any stretch of the imagination four star gastronomy. It was really very disappointing to have mainly tinned fruit and overcooked frozen veg available. Reception staff were friendly and most spoke very good English, but they didn't have local bus timetables readily available to hand, again seeming a bit less than four stars to me. The pool furniture is at the end of its lifespan I would say, and the hand rail into the pool is broken, so don't try to lean on it!We liked going to the spa but at 6 Euros per person per hour there's a limit to how much time you can spend in there. The games room is a myth as far as I could see.
I really enjoyed my holiday and don't mean to be complaining about the hotel; I'm just trying to describe it accurately to help others manage their expectations.

Room Tip: Room 111, 113 and similar are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LittleSpartaTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel 6 years ago and returned in September expecting to repeat the pleasure we experienced on the first holiday. Unfortunately we had a week of very bad wet severe weather and were placed in an inferior room compared to the last visit.
Even taking all this into account we both enjoyed the stay at the hotel and the tour with Page and Moy very much. The rooms are looking slightly tired but still acceptable, the staff are wonderful, first class, the food was just as good as 6 years ago, all together we were very satisfied with the hotel, it is a credit to the management taking the bad times Spain is in. Just to add Page and Moy were excellent, We have nothing but full praise for Frank the guide, marvellous.
To finalise Antequera itself is a very good base with some wonderful churches, especially the Collegiate, do not miss if visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ITALIOPHILE_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Antequera Golf is a big hotel with the usual range of facilities. Although it's four star the rooms feel a bit basic and tired. The entrance foyer is massive with a bar off the side that does a good range of food. The swimming pool is a reasonable size in a central courtyard. If you like the feel of a big hotel with formulaic rooms this place will suit you down to the ground. Breakfast is very impressive with the best range of food we had in our tour of Andalucia. The staff were excellent - helping us find our way out of Antequera when rain threatened to block us in. If there was a 'good' score I'd give that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ProfBobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just completed a week in this hotel as part of an organised package. Room and bed very comfortable. We were on floor 3 and found, when attempting to use the stairs that furniture had been stored on the landing. My husband reported this to reception and it was remedied immediately. Front line staff were excellent. Pool was really good - not over chlorinated. Am in agreement with other reviewers with temperature of food - but that is often the case in Spain and was not a huge issue. The variety was very good. A little far from town centre to do anything different in the evenings but as dinner was at 8pm this was not a big concern.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool (above ground level) might be pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CmmC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antequera hotels
0.7 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
832 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#5 of 15 in Antequera
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
0.9 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hospederia Colon Antequera
Hospederia Colon Antequera
#14 of 15 in Antequera
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antequera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antequera

Address: Lugar urbanizacion Santa Catalina s/n, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range: $47 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antequera 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Antequera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing