We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just spend a couple of euro's extra and choose a regular room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hospederia Colon Antequera
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We spend three nights in Antequera: The first night in this hotel was a nightmare, the other two I slept like a rose. The first night we had the cheapest rooms available, located on the third floor of the hotel. The Lonely Planet described them as rustic, in fact they were worn down, noisy (heard the neighbors having *** all night long), incredibly hot and the mattresses were a joke. Next morning we immediately booked two rooms in the "newer" part of the hostel, which offered very good value for money: spatial, good beds, plus a small fridge.
The hotel has a particular feeling with all its dark hallways, could very well serve as setting for the next "Hostel" movie. The people a the front desk were very helpful however.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdricO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

Parking in Antequera is next to impossible. Hotel has limited parking on first come first served basis but they charge seven Euros per night. We went Holy Week and the evening processions were interesting but road closures meant we had to leave our car on the outskirts of Antequrera and walk in, then go back at about 11:00pm to get it .

The hotel does not serve breakfast but there are plenty of places to get a cheap breakfast. Also fridge and microwave is provided for those who want to make simple meals themselves.

Most receptionists do not speak English. WiFi internet access is free, a VERY slow computer is provided for those without a laptop. All round good value.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longtallmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I took a long time to settle on hotels for my stay in Spain. Cost was the driving force , and TripAdvisor was the second driving force of that decision. We decided on Hostal Colon because the reviews were okay and the price was very cheap.

Well, you get what you pay for.

We traveled around Spain by bus, and although we were confused at first, we eventually found the hotel, which was a 10 minute walk from the bus station. Very easy. It is located on a busy street, but that was the least of our worries.

When we arrived we were told to go upstairs and look at 3 rooms and choose the one we wanted. They were all the same price so we chose the biggest one. It had 2 beds, and a large bathroom. The size was great. What was not so great? Well, the safe couldn't be unlocked. They even sent their handyman out to try to unlock it and he couldn't. Also the toilet. Oh, the toilet. My husband and I went within 5 minutes of each other and we quickly learned that you can't flush the toilet less than 10 minutes in between flushes. We thought the toilet was broken at first, and it was so embarrassing. We called up the front desk lady to come look at it (and my husband had done more than #1) and we were so embarrassed. She told us to wait 10-15 minutes between flushes. Wow.

The ashtray on the bed stand had chewed gum in it, so that lead me to question the cleanliness of the rest of our room. The bathroom was okay, but could have been cleaner. The hallways smell of cigarettes (as does everything in Spain) thus our room smelled of stale cigarettes.

Normally, we aren't too sensitive when it comes to noise, but these rooms have paper thin walls. We heard the couple next door, umm, doing adult things (if you get my drift) for a good 30 minutes. We could hear EVERYTHING. What they saying, and all the noises they were making. I found it funny, but it just illustrated the lack of privacy.

One good thing is the location. It is within walking distance of all the sights you will want to see in Antequera. We really enjoyed Antequera very much, so the location is perfect.

If you need the internet, there is an internet/business room on each floor, which was nice. We didn't use it however.

Overall, if I could do it again, I would spend more money at a nicer place. Cheap isn't always the best decision.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessika14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

The significan other and I stayed here in Spring and first impressions were, what a lovely, classic, old worldly place. Just what we had hoped for from the web site.
Rooms and services are basic but what does one expect for the money?
Staff were super friendly, laughing at my Spanish, private car parking 100m away, breakfast just across the street, newspapers just down the street, pubs everywhere.
At night everyone went out but the wife and I sat in the little terrace with a bottle of vino and chilled out watching the coming and goings.
The owner is a real nice man, very helpfull.
Antequera is best described as full of old churches and shoe shops, plenty to keep the wife and me happy.
Would recommend , no problem.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank seamusgi4szw2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

Characterful, central and a bit quirky. The entrance is so small you could almost miss it. My bed was large and comfortable but the bathroom was antiquated and grubby.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Clive55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

It might be called a hostal but it's as good as many far more expensive Spanish hotels. Perfectly located in the centre of Antequera and although it's on a busy main road our room was very quiet. In fact we were really lucky and got a room right at the front with a great balcony that we could sit out on at night. The room itself was a good size, traditionally decorated and very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moonface67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Stay of three nights. On the main street. Walking distance to all
and many sites of interest. Cheapest underground car park in
Spain. Hostal it may be, but I have stayed in very much worse 3*
hotels. Large room with safe, fridge, a/c, good large shower,bidet
hair drier, etc. Two windows + french doors to typical balcony.
Top floor, little sitootery ( scottish venacular) just outside, from hallway,to catch some rays.Other rooms look into various courtyards at different levels. Get the best room you can and you are in for a treat
Should you require modern, forget it , more availability for me.
Unbelievable value.
Watch out for some of the more expensive, promoted, eateries, food
was not great. 2 * hotel opposite was used by the local peeps and
food was good.
Bill & Mo Douglas

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank WFDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antequera hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
883 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#5 of 15 in Antequera
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#6 of 15 in Antequera
135 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia Colon Antequera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia Colon Antequera

Address: Calle Infante Don Fernando 31 | Centro Historico y Comercial de Antequera, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range: $34 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hospederia Colon Antequera 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Colon is divided into two parts, one part more modern and renovated rooms with en-suite bathroom, heating, air conditioning, flat TV, safe, dvd, telephone in the bedroom and elsewhere rooms with shared bath, plus old and with very cheap prices for backpackers and guests who prefer to stay and spend little dormir.Nos found the city center, on the main avenue in the historic and commercial center of Antequera. We have private pay garage near the Inn. Free Pet. Free cot on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospederia Colon Antequera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia Colon Hotel Antequera
Antequera Hospederia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing