We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place to stay with amazing views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Castle View

Private terrace with plunge pool with stunning views of Antequera and Torcal Mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private terrace with plunge pool with stunning views of Antequera and Torcal Mountains
Breakfast patio off kitchen with spiral staircase to terrace and pool area Al fresco shaded lounging area to enjoy the view with barbeque. Lovely in the evenings too!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Private terrace with plunge pool with stunning views of Antequera and Torcal Mountains
Breakfast patio off kitchen with spiral staircase to terrace and pool area
Al fresco shaded lounging area to enjoy the view with barbeque. Lovely in the evenings too!
Choice of three dining areas
View of Castle from the terrace
Night view from the terrace
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Stylish Rustic Kitchen with all modern appliances
Kitchen - washing machine and dishwasher
Lounge snug area with flat screen TV & amp; DVD library
Lounge snug area
Stoned walled bathroom with large walk-in twin-headed shower & foot wash
Twin-headed shower
Quarry stone stairs leading to the plunge pool
Sunbeds with a View
Sunbeds
View from the Terrace
Close-up of Castle from Terrace
Early evening from the Terrace
Nearby hill walking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Antequera, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
And0608
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay with amazing views”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had been to Antequera before and fell in love with it then. We had stayed in a nice hotel then much prefered the private accommodation of Rupert and Melanie´s house this time.
The hill was steep but worth every step for the stunning views.
The comfort all round was excellent, with Rupert and Melanie both wonderful hosts.
Will definitely to see you both again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing view
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_the...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A wonderful and memorable break”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The view from the roof terrace at Castle View was a `wow'´! The house is well situated as you feel away from the bustle of the centre of Antequera, yet are so close to it. It was lovely in the evenings looking over the town at the castle all lit up. The house had everything we
needed, as indicated in the advertisement.
Our compliments to Rupert and Mel on their taste in refurbishment. Fab bathroom!
We had a really great break, and should we come back to Antequera would look to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zedeka
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent property with amazing views”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Had a lovely stay in Antequera, and Castle View was an ideal base.

The view as promised was incredible, and it was gin and tonics on the terrace every evening!

We spent a lot of the time just chilling out in the house and eating in. The kitchen is fully equipped, and the little shop 30 seconds away was really useful when we couldn´t be bothered with a supermarket shop.

There was a lot more to Antequera than we had anticipated, and we are planning to come back next year for two weeks rather then one.

Rupert and Melanie were well informed about the town and the surrounds, and we will be in contact again. Thank you both for a super stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia N
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“drains”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at castle view recently with a friend. The visit was unfortunately spoiled by the smell of drains. When we arrived we were told that there may be an occasional smell from the drains and if this happened we should pour bleach down.
Initially the problem was only very slight so we didn't worry. For about 4/5 days during our stay the smell was very strong and so I contacted the owner. I was told that the street drain was broken and that it would be repaired in time.
We tried pouring bleach down the drain in the shower, lavatory and basin from a huge bottle under the sink. It did help for a short time and we also tried covering up the drain in the shower with a flannel and a mat. By the time we left it had improved a bit.
Had we known about this situation we would have found another place to stay. We felt that visitors should be advised prior to making a booking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2013
We were surprised to read your Tripadvisor review. You said you had such a wonderful stay when you left. It was Spanish kisses all round and you both seemed delighted with your holiday. There was no mention of disaffection.
The Spanish plumbing systems are not perfect, and it is common practice amongst homeowners to pour a drop of bleach down the loo from time to time during the summer months. It has been spectacularly hot this year, which has been much enjoyed by visitors.
We phoned the water board after you called towards the end of your stay, as promised, to see if there was a blockage or a crack in the pipe near our house. They came the day after you left and could find no problem. We too couldn´t detect an odour on the day of your departure, or since, but accept they can sometimes occur.
We hope you did enjoy your stay apart from this, as you said. We are sorry if this blighted the many other positive aspects of holidaying in Andalusia and Antequera, and enjoying the views, pool, and accommodation of Castle View.
We get great pleasure having guests visiting Antequera for the first time who appreciate it has so much to offer. Some have become friends, and revisited.
If you do visit Antequera again, you would be most welcome, and we would ensure Castle View is odour free!
It was nice to meet you, and best wishes from us both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkkatie...
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true piece of heaven”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in Castle View for ten days at the beginning of September. This is the second time we have spent at one of Rupert and Mel's properties (we stayed at Lemon Tree last year), and once again we had a fabulous time.

We can't really comment on the town (although the supermarket is very good), as we don't really leave the apartment when we are there. Castle View is exactly as it sounds - it is all about the view. We spent hours on the roof terrace looking at the view, reading and cooling down in the plunge pool.

The apartment is really well equipped and Rupert and Mel are great at talking you through how to use everything once you arrive. The location of the apartment is great - just a few minutes down the hill to the town. The walk is back up a steep hill, but to be honest, we loved getting a bit of exercise on our way back from the supermarket and the hill was the only bit of movement we did for the whole ten days.

Other than the view, the thing that once again made our stay a cut above other rentals, was the friendliness and kind attention from the owners. From the initial booking enquiry to the time we leave, we felt looked after and cared for. We would recommend either of their apartments without hesitation and when we next need a break, doing absolutely nothing, we will be back.

(Just because we do nothing there, Antequera is perfectly situated to get around the area and is an easy coach journey from Malaga).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the pool and the owners
Liked least: That it was a bit windy on a couple of evenings, so we couldn't look at the view all night
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiAndBill
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A real gem!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Just returned from two week holiday at Castle View, Antequera. An absolute gem!

The villa is gorgeous and the view is spectacular, could have spend the whole two weeks on the roof terrace admiring the view!

Rupert and Melanie are wonderful hosts. We previously stayed in their Lemon Tree apartment which was also wonderful and felt as though we were visiting old friends.

Rupert and Melanie went out of their way for us and we thank them for their kindness.

The villa is well equipped with everything you could need for your visit. The beds are wonderfully comfortable with plenty of pillows. The outside space is amazing especially the roof terrace with its plunge pool.

Rupert is particularly knowledgeable and enthusiastic about Antequera and both Rupert and Melanie speak fluent Spanish and live locally and are on hand if there are any questions or issues.

We have already booked for next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanM816
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views and a taste of authentic Spain.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

We liked the look of Antequera when we first drove into the town, we were then greeted by Rupert and Melanie whose genuine affection for the place its culture and its people was infectious. after showing us around the lovely presented interior they then brought us up to the terrace to show us the stunning views of Antequera and the out lying areas, and I have to say we were smitten. Every evening we would sit on the terrace of the aptly named Castle view overlooking the town, relaxing with a drink or two listening to the sound of church bells. Wonderful!

Rupert and Mel throughout our stay were extremely helpful and took care to make sure our stay was enjoyable and hassle free. An example of this was when after a few days of rain and more forecast they turned up with a couple of umbrellas. Our advice would be to just take time to enjoy the history and culture of the place, enjoy its food and drink, engage with the people, but I am sure once you arrive and are greeted by Mel and Rupert you will be enthused and smitten with the property, people and town just as we were.

The property, town and spanish people was for us a great taste of authentic Spain,which is a country we have travelled in quite a bit, but we both feel that Antequera is a little bit special. Thank you Rupert and Mel for your kindness and for sharing your enthusiasm and knowledge of Antequera. x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing