We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet hotel, handy for town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Las Villas de Antikaria
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Friendly, basic hotel with a great sun terrace, good no-frills food, a big quiet bedroom and the best rose wine we have ever had! We were with Newmarket holidays on the Seville and Granada tour, and we had a particularly excellent tour guide, Caroline, who looked after us at the hotel and did all the tours with friendliness, wit and real local knowledge. She was always available, from arrival to departure, and did the job brilliantly. The hotel is well placed for walks around the beautiful town of Antiquera, the castle, the shops and the lovely old churches. We found the holiday in the Guardian so our fellow guests were all intelligent and sociable!

Room Tip: Room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank niall18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 164 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed 7 to 12 April 2014, rooms good sized, clean and good facilities though not all rooms have own safe. Overall hotel nice atmosphere and well maintained. Staff don't speak too much English but are pretty helpful though service can be a bit slow on occasion in the restaurant. Bar good with nice but small selection of tapas available. Very handy location for walking into town centre- less than five minutes. Would stay there again if we went back to the area.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank execrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here last week (November) as part of a Newmarket holiday trip to Classic Spain. It's central for the trips to Seville, Cordoba, Ronda and Granada. We found it to be a good base, clean and welcoming. Staff spoke basic English and were always helpful. I had researched before we went and knew there were no tea or coffee making facilities so took my own boiler. The rooms are large, pleasantly decorated but basic. The bathroom was very clean and toiletries replaced on a daily basis. The dining room, to the right of reception, was rather basic, with a screen down the middle separating the breakfast area from the dinner area. Breakfast times changed daily, according to what time we were being picked up for the daily trip, but our fabulous tour operator, Caroline Dodd, made sure we were all aware of the time. There was a good buffet selection of meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt and breads. There was always cereal, scrambled eggs and bacon. Caroline ensured that coffee, tea and milk were in good supply. Breakfast was cleared away quite promptly about 8.45am when we had all finished. There were other guests in the hotel and they were aware of the times. I had forgotten to pack the alarm clock so we had a daily wake up call which was very prompt. Maps of Antequera were freely available at the reception desk, as were books of the area in a range of languages. The hotel is close to churches, museums, statues, restaurants and bars. We were blessed with fabulous weather so spent our first afternoon exploring the area and walked up to the fort. There's lots to see and do. Considering the season, the area was quiet. Shops close on Saturday afternoons and pretty well everything is closed on Sunday. Water can be bought from the 24 hour garage opposite the hotel. The hotel is used for functions and business meetings too. There was a large gathering on Saturday night which was noisy but didn't go on too late. All rooms are supposed to have a balcony. Ours didn't and neither did anyone else we spoke to. Our view was of an apartment block but that didn't bother us - we were only there to sleep. On Sunday we were too tired to go out for dinner so I tried the onion soup. It was fabulous, although strangely to me, came with a poached egg in the middle.
We felt quite sorry for the people who stayed in the 4* Golf hotel. They were quite cut off from the area and had to taxi to get near the sights. We would stay there again, despite no English TV.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Especial08, Jefa Recepcion at Hotel Las Villas de Antikaria, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your commentay in Tripadvisor.
We are very gratefull to read that your stay was pleasant and the meal was fabolous. All of this make us to continue given our guest our best service.
The only room that has balconyy in one of our suite, rest of them have ony Windows (we regret this).
Thank you very much to share your experience with us, it will be a pleasure attend you in our hotel next time if you visit Antequera again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of Newmarket trip and hotel is well placed for trips to Cordoba Ronda Seville and Granada. Basic hotel but meets needs. If you want more then upgrade to the Antequera Golf. Word of warning about Seville. I was pick-pocketed near the alcazar and lost my wallet. Didn't feel a thing. So busy on surrounding streets so beware
I wasn't the only victim either. The NM rep Caroline was extremely helpful in coming to the police station with me to obtain a crime report.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Especial08, Jefa Recepción at Hotel Las Villas de Antikaria, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for his comment in Tripadvisor.

We are sorry about the experience that had in Seville, we wait that the rest of the trip was turning out to be agreeable.It us takes pleasure to read that he remembers with pleasure your stay in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I visited for 5 nights mid-late April 13 whilst using the hotel as a base for day trips to Seville, Cordoba, Granada and Ronda with Newmarket Holidays. We made our way to the hotel independently and were given undercover secure parking for the 5 nights at no extra cost.
As our visit was just before the summer cooling season the main air conditioning plant for the hotel had not been switched on, but we were able to make the room comfortable at night by using the 'fan only' feature of the in-room unit.
Maybe as we were out of season, this was also the reason for the in-room mini-bar not working. Towards the end of our stay, other guests advised that the cable and plug was behind the fridge and just needed plugging in, but this info was not forthcoming when complaining on day 1.
Only other complaint was that the bathroom extract fan did not work. Nice and quiet sure, but no removal of steam or odours !
On the plus side, very good 3 course set dinner with choice, inc bread & bottle of water at €12 pp.
Room was very clean, bathroom modern & clean, ok storage space, beds comfortable.
Piped in music was actually quite good. Just as well really as there were no English language channels on the tv.
View from the window was of a unusual looking distant rock structure known locally as 'The Indian'

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Especial08, Jefa Recepción at Hotel Las Villas de Antikaria, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you for dedicating your time in sharing your opinion about our hotel. We regret that your stay have not been everything agreeable that had to.

We wanted to ask for excuses in name of the hotel and their equipment for the problems during your stay. I will make sure myself that your experience should put in knowledge of all our equipment of service in order that it serves as example.It me takes pleasure to read your positive comment on the dinner, which I will make it be known to the corresponding personnel.

Probably you are interested in knowing that we have foreseen to place informative notes in the rooms explaining the use of the minibar, as well as to indicate like to change channels of the television to different languages.

Once again, I request you accept my excuses and I hope that you could enjoy to the maximum the rest of your trip for Andalusia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have recently retired and chose this hotel to stay in for 2 nights en route to Seville from Granada by train.
The reception staff were unwelcoming and unhelpful - most could not speak English so were unable to answer straightforward questions such as ' where is breakfast served please?' We were not offered a street map but found one on the reception desk - there was no smile or any attempt to welcome us.
Although the hotel states that wifi is available in all areas we could not get on line in our room and had to sit on a seat in the corridor.
When we asked about breakfast ( included in the room price) in the morning the manageress was on duty who spoke English and we were pointed in the direction of the bar) we went to the bar counter - there was no sign of any breakfast . All we could get out of our query to the barman was a grunted ' ham and cheese' and he handed us a bar snack menu which had various priced items on it such as pork loin and was clearly the lunch/ dinner bar menu.
On going back to the manageress for clarification she said the barman would give us toast, ham. cheese and coffee if we asked for it,
Although the hotel stated that toiletries were provided there were only 2 sachets of something we assume was bath gel - no shampoo or soap.
We paid the same price as other hotels in Andalucia during the same 2 weeks but it was a very poor experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Especial08, Recepcionist Chief at Hotel Las Villas de Antikaria, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear guest:

Thank you for dedicating your time in sharing your opinion about our hotel. We are sorry really that your stay have not been everything agreeable that had to.

It wanted to ask for excuses in name of the hotel and their equipment for the problems during your stay. I will make sure myself that your experience should put in tod's knowledge on our equipment of service in order that it serves as practical example.

Probably you are is interested in knowing that soon courses of English are going to be realized for the personnel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly by means of the information indicated down below if you decide to return to Antequera in order that I could deal personally with you and with your near stay.

Once again, I request you accept my excuses and I hope that you could enjoy to the maximum the rest of trip for Andalusia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Having read previous reviews of this hotel we were pleasantly surprised to find it a wonderful place. Good position only minutes walk into the old town area, very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. A lot of the staff didn't speak much English but after all we are in Spain and it wasn't a problem. We spent a great deal of time in the bar and sampling the tapas which was good and our one meal in the restaurant was also very good. We experienced the function room in operation which was quite noisy but only for a few hours and we would agree the breakfasts were very hit and miss.

Chris and Marcia

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Especial08, Jefa Recepción at Hotel Las Villas de Antikaria, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for dedicating your time in writing above our hotel.
We will be been charmed with of being able to attend to you if you will decided to visit Antequera again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antequera hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
889 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#5 of 15 in Antequera
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
0.2 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#6 of 15 in Antequera
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Villas de Antikaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Villas de Antikaria

Address: Calle Cerro de La Cruz 1 | Avd Cruz Blanca n º 1, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range: $49 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Villas de Antikaria 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in Antequera, geographical center of Andalusia. It has 33 double rooms with possibility of transforming in triple and familiar full equipped, where the rest and well-being of the guest is the most important thing. Two of them are suites. Ideal for the celebration of conferences, conventions or any social or professional event because the hotel has several lounges with the highest level of equipment and with capacity from 20 up to 1200 persons. The experience, the professional service and the care of every detail, is the ideal combination to celebrate any type of event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Las Villas de Antikaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing