We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The hidden jewel of Andalusia”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lemon Tree

Private walled garden with own plunge pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private walled garden with own plunge pool
Two al fresco dining areas Large kitchen with feature arch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Private walled garden with own plunge pool
Two al fresco dining areas
Large kitchen with feature arch
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Lounge
Lounging Area leading to Kitchen
Lounging Area
Catering sized oven & hob
Bathroom with walk in Shower
Sun relaxation Area
Large rustic barbecue
Al fresco dining by the pool
Fresh water lakes a 40 minute drive away
The beautiful Santa Maria square a stroll away
Castle at the end of our road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Antequera, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
554Dick
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The hidden jewel of Andalusia”
Reviewed July 29, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Lemon Tree is a truly authentic Spanish apartment in the unspoilt city of Antequera. It is situated in the centre of Andalusia which makes it the perfect base to also explore Seville, Cordoba, Granada and Malaga. Antequera itself is steeped in history, not least because of its occupation by the Romans and later the Moors which has left it with rich architecture and unique flavour. Antequera is a fairly affluent city, unspoilt by mass tourism. It is spotlessly clean with very helpful and friendly residents. Be prepared, though, that English is not widely spoken and whilst a lot of fun can be had making each other understood, a basic knowledge of Spanish would be helpful. Good quality restaurants and bars are plentiful, but these offer very traditional food. Antequera is not for you if you are seeking a typically English diet.

Lemon Tree is situated on the hill side on the edge of the old part of this small Spanish city, but don't be fooled by reference to 'city'. You can walk from one side to the other in ½ hour. It is a very well appointed ground floor appointment with its own enclosed courtyard in a very quiet residential area. It is furnished and equipped to a very high standard for both summer and winter occupation and it offers very relaxing and private surroundings. It offers peace and tranquillity for those who just want to relax with a book by the pool and enjoy alfresco dining, or comfortable surroundings as a base from which to explore further afield. The owner's, Rupert and Melanie, who live in the apartment above, couldn't be more welcoming and are always there to help if needed but are never intrusive. We celebrated our Ruby Wedding Anniversary whilst there and Rupert was more than happy to recommend the best restaurants in the area to celebrate. Lemon Tree is, perhaps, not best suited to you if you have mobility issues because of some of the steep inclines.

We cannot recommend Lemon Tree too highly (and yes there really is a lemon tree in the courtyard). It offered us everything we wanted from our holiday and more and we can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceW14...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central location with ambiance and charm”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was a beautifully appointed bottom level of a house in the charming hill town of Antequerra....close to many sights (La Ronda, Malaga, Fuengirola, Cordoba and Granada). We spent a week here and were busy every day! The pool and patio are a nice oasis and the local restaurants weredeliciously extraordinary! Rupert and Mel were excellent hosts that guided us to splendid local and other significant sights and were extremely gracious and helpful. Thank you for such an amazing experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karendic
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed here for a week in September. There was just my husband and I though the apartment can sleep four. It has absolutely everything that you would need and is very spacious. The small courtyard and plunge pool were absolutely delightful and a great place to relax in the sun. It was still 30c when we stayed in September. The owners Mel and Rupert are lovely and live above. They are there to help if you need anything but you also have total privacy if that's what you want also. One word of warning though is that the hills are extremely steep both up going down into the town and especially getting back up to the apartment - not great for anyone with mobility issues. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Antequera

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacd16
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Lemon Tree was just perfect, Mel & Rupert were lovely, and were there if you needed them. The house was great, it felt more like a home than a holiday let. The lovely garden with its pool is just what you need on a hot sunny day. The town of Antequera is well worth spending time in, it has lots of history, lovely people and lots of great restaurants and bars, proper Spanish- just how we like it! We spent two weeks at lemon tree and didn't hire a car, there is plenty to see and do within walking distance, although we got a taxi up to El Tocal ( well worth a visit) and our taxi driver Carlos was such a friendly chap. The only thing to say is don't wait and get yourself booked in you won't be disapointed

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul8192
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent apartment, great little town, wonderful stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Antequera is delightful and the apartment and its facilities are excellent. Although the shops, bars and restaurants are within a short walking distance, you need to be fairly active to enjoy the hills of Antequera. A car is essential providing fairly easy access to anywhere in Andalucia, including the coast, without being on the coast. The nearby nature reserve, El Torqual, is well worth a visit. The restaurants we tried were very quality whilst being reasonably priced. We will definitely return to stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieho04
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely find”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had a wonderful time, it was more than expected.
Great location, close to a beautiful town, amazing views.
Fab local food & wine. House had everything we needed.
Would recommend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: antequera, food, travel
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanHordle...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Spanish gem - both apartment and town”
Reviewed November 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks here in September 2015. The apartment is a real gem with spacious accommodation and is more than just well equipped. Importantly to us it has real character in its design and furniture/fittings - a lot of thought has gone into keeping this authentic. The plunge pool and courtyard outside mean sunbathing and dining alfresco is also a definite bonus. It is situated in the higher part of the town with a bus stop just round the corner - we mainly walked everywhere anyway unless had shopping to bring home.. I recommend walking round the town just to keep spotting the wonderful architecture and beautifully maintained churches (about 30!).I'm not sure we saw everything within our 2 week stay, so will return again.

Antequera is one the most beautiful and unspoilt parts of Spain that we have been too (and we do explore Spain a lot).Its a fairly affluent town with huge cultural appeal, litter free and clean, helpful and friendly residents, completely unspoilt, and with surprisingly few tourists so retains its typical Spanish culture. An example - we wanted to visit a newly restored blanket making museum but it was closed due to staff illness, so Tourist Info rang town council who sent a civil servant round to open this just for us for 2 hours - and this was a free entry museum!

I cannot recommend too highly both this terrific apartment and the town of Antequera. Do visit - and stay in this apartment!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wonderful character of the property
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing