We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good average 3* Road side Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Los Dolmenes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good average 3* Road side Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

A 3* Hotel on the road side. ... close to Malaga and close to all other major location. Clean tidy and normal size room no thrill ttitude. .. plenty of parking space. .. in house spanish style coffe bar and restaurant. Sure worth the money, spacious bathroom with shower/bath. We stay for one night and have really no complains. Even that the Hotel is on the roads side no traffic noise. .... Wifi signal could be boosted, room 104 had no or ver weak signal. Facebook and Skype seem to be blocked.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Furrydandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    71
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
30
72
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
171 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

A clean modern Spanish-style hotel about a 10 minute drive from Antequera. It's a convenient place to stop if you are on the road, free safe parking in the grounds. The room was spacious with a good sized bathroom with bath/shower and bidet with a fair selection of toiletries. Perfectly clean. We paid €50 as an internet rate, and I noticed the rack rate was €60, including breakfast.

Breakfast is basic toast and coffee in the cafeteria next door - now non-smoking. The staff are helpful, but I imagine their English is a bit limited if you can't speak Spanish. TV is Spanish channels with only the awful CNN in English.

We didn't try the restaurant, but got a taxi into Antequera, where there is much more choice - only €7 each way.

If you have time go Fuente de Piedra, where there is a large saline lake which in early summer has thousands of breeding flamingos - a fantastic sight. Also a half hour drive up a mountain road will take you to El Torcal de Antequera - a national park with stunning rock formations that have been carved into shape by snow and wind over the centuries - well worth a look.

Also there are some unbelievably well preserved dolmens in the area if you can find them (signposting is awful)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

Thought long an hard about how to review this hotel.

There was nothing particularly wrong with it, but it basically lacked any charm or character.

We chose it because it was at a convenient road junction and we were travelling all over the region. From this viewpoint it served the purpose, and the majority of the other guests seemed to have chosen it for the same reason.

Room was large enough but beware - the fountain on the roundabout right next door goes on all night - an the road seems to attract every HGV that is travelling from Malaga to Seville - all night!

If you do not speak Spanish you might struggle, but the staff were just about OK, need some encouragement to interact more with guests.

Food for evening meal was a bit erratic, and breakfast was taken in the bar with the local workforce on their way to work - smoking allowed! Very basic breakfast.

Overall good value for money, good road location for getting about, but lacking in any charm or character.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewartscotland1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

For the past four years, we've held Spring Break in Southern Europe with our two small children, now aged 5 and 6. Following France, Greece, and Italy, we now wanted to explore Andalusia. No doubt, the best way is to drive from Parador to Parador, but we considered this logistically challenging with the kids. Instead, we decided to base ourselves in Antequera, literally at the crossroads of Sevilla-Granada and Cordoba - Malaga/Ronda/Gibraltar. (The freeways in Spain, incidentally, are amazing, having benefitted of EU investment subsidies. Except for the road to the the airport and the coast, we drove on flawless roads through sometimes spectacular landscape, what we imagine California to be 50 years ago).

Just over a year old, Los Dolmenes is a brand new facility. Its location is super convenient, about one mile from the freeway and before you get into town, so it allows you to minimize your driving time. Convenience should be your main driver here; it is at the edge of an industry park (no manufacturing, just distribution, offices, etc.) Having said this, it is adjacent to an old olive grove and rolling hills, offering some pleasant views (i.e. unlike e.g. the Novotel in Malaga, which sits right on the highway) . It is very quiet. The photo's on the hotel's own website of outside views and interior finishings are accurate.

Our room - a triple -was large enough for a fourth bed, and had a sizeable bathroom and huge double bed (2x1.20m, i.e. 8 foot wide total, bigger than a US king size bed). Most (all?) rooms a have a nice balcony. As a bonus to parents, the rooms on the second floor (called the 1st floor in Spain) open to a large glass covered atrium with several tables, where you can have a glass of wine and read when the kids are asleep while not letting your hotel room door out of your sight. (Though we were lucky with the weather, February would generally be too cold to use the balcony for this purpose.)

The included breakast is simple (toast, jam, coffee/tea) but fine. We didn't try the daily set dinner menu, priced at an incredibly low EUR 9.- There's an Aldi supermarket close by, and there's nice things to see in Antequera itself also. Housekeeping was perfect. There's no pool or playground, but if your aims are similar to ours, we would highly recommend this hotel.

P.S.
Try the road trip from Antequera to La Garganta del Chorro, and then on to Ronda, which passes by some spectacular scenery (note: it does include one-lane mountain roads). You also pass by a privately run Wolf zoo in natural surroundings; wolves are not our favorite animals but I realize it's unique.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank dmtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

This is an ideal hotel for an en route overnight stay. It is modern and clean with quite large bedrooms nicely decorated.
We arrived late in the evening so did not use the restaurant. Breakfast is not the biggest we have had(continental)but was tasty, and was taken in the adjoining cafeteria,where the locals were having their morning coffee.(Downside here for us was that smoking is allowed.) It is definately not a hotel to spend a holiday,as there is some building going on close by and it has no pool.It is easy to find.I would recommend requesting a room to the front.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Building work closeby
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedouin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antequera hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.1 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#5 of 15 in Antequera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
2.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
#6 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Dolmenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Dolmenes

Property: Hotel Los Dolmenes
Address: Carretera Malaga 7282 | Km 9,3, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Dolmenes 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Dolmenes Hotel is located at the foot of Mount Romeral, with privileged views over the city of Antequera, the Lovers Cliff and "El Torcal de Antequera" The megalithic constructions, Dolmens of Antequera, give name since 2007 to our Hotel. In fact, we are just a few meters away from Tholos of El Romeral Caminito del Rey "The kings Path" and El Torcal Antequera two of our most important places of Hinterland tourism and cultural tourism in Malaga, heart of Andalucia. Knows the story of Antequera through its "Alcazaba", "La Colegiata" Cathedral , its churches or palaces with the atmosphere of its historic archaeological and architectural heritage . Visit one of the most important megalithic constructions of European prehistory as they are "The dolmens of Menga, Viera and Tholos El Romeral" . Complete your visit with its several museums, including the Municipal Museum , Oil Museum and Bullfighting Museum . Enjoy the magical setting of the most spectacular karstic landscape in Spain , "El Torcal de Antequera", with some exclusive worldwide formations. At a few minutes from Antequera, you can relax doing Ornithological Tourism in the most significant Lagoon in Spain - salt complex , "La Laguna de Fuente de Piedra" with thousands of species of birds as well as the elegant flamingos, definitely a place of great ecological value. Near Antequera , you can find so attractive places like the famous "Caminito del Rey,Desfiladero de Los Gaitanes" , the prehistoric cave "Cueva de Ardales" or the natural fountain of hundred pipes "Fuente de los Cien Caños" in Villanueva del Trabuco, source of the river Guadalhorce with an spectacular beauty . All these attractive options are part of the cultural heritage of the province of Málaga a few minutes from our hotel. Make your holidays different and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Los Dolmenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing