We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value & Clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel Algeciras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AC Hotel Algeciras
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Certificate of Excellence
Marchwood
1 review
“Good Value & Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

The hotel could not be faulted, however, the location was not in the middle of town and there was only one restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    221
    55
    6
    7
See reviews for
55
204
34
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

The rooms are very clean and state-of-the art. My dad and I both stated this was the best hotel in town and frankly, the best hotel we stayed in our entire trip down the coast of spain.

The price point is about $30 usd dollars higher than the other hotels, but it's worth it!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

Hotel is conveniently located... Everything about it was really good. The only drawback was that internet was only available in the Lobby... so if you need it to do some work you will have go to the LOBBY\LOUNGE area and do it there.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank charlie421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

I stayed at the AC Algeciras hotel in late August 2009 on a trip thru Portugal and Spain. I specifically stayed in Algeciras because I came in on the bus from Seville, left on the Renfe AVE train to Madrid and took a ferry across the strait for a day trip to Tangiers, Morocco. Also, there are few hotels in Gibraltar and all were expensive so Algeciras, for me, seemed like the logical place to stay.

Algeciras, in my guide book, is described as a "gritty industrial city" yet I found it to be the most real Spanish city I visited as all the other cities were heavily touristy i.e. Seville, Madrid, Ronda, Toledo, Gibraltar, Segovia, etc. The hotel isn't in the best location as it's about a 20 - 30 minute walk from the train station, bus station and port and there isn't anything of interest nearby. I walked from downtown to the hotel several times and wasn't worried about my safety as the hotel is on a main road with plenty of traffic at all hours of the day and night. This would be a good hotel if you have a car as there is plenty of free on-street parking and a garage. If going to Gibraltar I'd suggest taking the bus for only 2.05 Euros as it ends in La Linea and you don't have to worry about the cost or hassle of parking your car.

The AC Algeciras is, in my opinion, the best hotel in town. It's clean, new and modern. The room I had included a free minibar (soda and water), a nice big soft bed, no view, in-room safe and a flat panel television with 1 English language station (CNN). The room, overall, was quiet but there was some noise (voices and footsteps) from the hallway. Breakfast was not included in my room rate but could be purchased for 8 Euros or 4 Euros if purchased from the front desk when checking in.

My only complaint, other than the location, was the lack of a full-size barrier in the shower which resulted in water getting all over the floor.

There were 2 free Internet PC's in the lobby which I did not use but there seemed to be at least 1 always available.

In all, a nice, clean and new hotel within walking distance of the bus, train and ferry port. I saw some of the other hotels in town and this is definitely the best. While the location is not perfect it is still easy to get around by walking, taking a cab or bus.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

The hotel was very nice and modern, free Wifi in the lobby and also minibar was included in the price. The price for the room of that quality room was very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

The service was good except the bar is not manned by anyone and we had to ask the receptionist to call someone to get us a drink. We did not eat there so we could not comment on the food.

The room and bathroom was fantastic. Beautifully designed. The hotel seems brand new.

The location is about a 15min walk outside of the city centre but this really wasn't a problem as there was a popular bar and tapas restaurant 5mins walk away.

I'm not sure if it was the time of year but given the size of the hotel, it seemed deserted. maybe it's just new and the word is not out yet but we saw about 10 guests in the whole time we were there.

Apart from that I cannot fault the hotel. We hired a car and explored the Costa de la Luz from Algeciras. It is a good base and great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarlips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We discovered AC chain in 2006 in a trip to Valencia and we've been using them since that vacation: Gran Canaria, Barcelona, Madrid.
Very clean, nice modern rooms - in some locations they are more spacious than in others, friendly staff, good location.
We especially appreciate the 'green day' offers for the on-line reservations.

Another good surprise was that Algeciras AC offers free wireless internet connection in the lobby of the hotel. It would be nice to have this in other locations.
Also free parking at the hotel would be a plus.

Overall we are very pleased and will continue using this hotel in our trips to Spain.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lioness78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algeciras
1.4 mi away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#6 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alboran Algeciras
Alboran Algeciras
#2 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 12 in Algeciras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#5 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Algeciras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Algeciras

Property: AC Hotel Algeciras
Address: Ctra del Rinconcillo | esq. C/ Hermanos Portilla, 11204 Algeciras, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Algeciras 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Rinconcillo, next to the port and the Hipercor Commercial Centre and only 2 Kms from the city centre. Its strategic location offers magnificent views of the Strait of Gibraltar, the North of Africa and Algeciras Bay, and also makes it the ideal place for shopping trips or visit to Gibraltar, Ceuta, guided tours of Tangiers and Tetuan, as well as providing easy access to the Sotogrande golf ourses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your AC Hotel Algeciras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Algeciras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing