We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our second home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Reina Cristina
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
kidderminster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“our second home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Having just returned from our break at the Reina Cristina, the hotel was looking better then ever.The reception staff were very welcoming and pleased to see us again.Our room was ready, it was very comfortable and even though the hotel was very busy we were not disturbed by any noise at night.The food was as good as ever, the director had introduced a bar b q one evening a week which was very popular with everyone. As usual all the staff were so helpful,nothing is too much trouble for then, they are so pleasant always smiling.
We would recomend this hotel to anyone. We return to this hotel again and again, it's quite unique.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the drive have sun all day. 360 is a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank annandjohn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    395
    200
    77
    85
See reviews for
160
553
69
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I love this hotel. I came here as a very young child in the 1960's and stayed for many summers until the mid 70's when my parents bought a flat in the town. We come back every summer and I try and pop in to see how the old place is. This Hotel has gone though many a change and now needs to take the opportunity to get out of the cheap tourist market. There is a real call for style and spa. This Hotel has plenty of style but needs to bring back the class and better food. Get a car if you stay here and drive to Tarifa to see the wonderful beaches or drive to Gib for some sightseeing. Algercias is a very Spanish town and there are good restaurants in the roads behind the square and by the park. Shopping is good for shoes and the sales are the best ever. Local beaches Getares and Rinconcillio are 10 mins away and better than the Costa del sol. Be prepared for a very Spanish experience here as it is not a Tourist area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank LondonDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Spent a ten day holiday at the Reina Cristina from 7th to 17th June.

This is a very special hotel which we have been coming to for over 15 years. The service at this hotel is exceptional with all the staff very helpful and polite. Food was good and the very clean rooms are in keeping with this very charming hotel. This is a tranquil oasis from a very busy world.

John and Les

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the patio have the sun during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SpecialK927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We take this opportunity to recommend a stay at the Reina Cristina Hotel in Algeciras. The 'Cristina ' is a famous old hotel with great facilities, set in it's own lovely grounds! There are of course many places of great interest to visit, Seville,Jerez, Cadiz, Tariffa, Ronda, and Marbella. Gibraltar is just a bus ride away, with it's duty free allowances.
The accommodation is very comfortable and clean, all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is very good with a great variety!
A break of a few day's or even much longer is a must, our recommendation is based on annual stays by ourselves for the past twenty plus years.
Gwen & Bill from Kent

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are sunny and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Billfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because we attended a wedding here. The rooms have been newly furnished, but the walls and doors are not renovated, the carpet in the hall was disgustingly dirty. The mattress stank of smoke and the bathroom was not cleaned properly. Hardly a four star accommodation. The food was average, including the cold eggs. Beautiful grounds, but wow! Potential of a magnificent building with lots of history wasted.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NCSFrankfurt_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent five very enjoyable nights at Reina Cristina and found the hotel a great place to relax and unwind after some time on the road. The elegant public areas show the signs of ageing, but there is an overall feeling of class and romantics can easily imagine the days when the hotel was frequented by royalty and well-known guests. The grounds are lovely - many varieties of trees, shrubs, and flowers are well tended and the orange trees on the terrace were spectacular when we were there. The pool is clean and surrounded by lounge chairs. Exercise facilities are good and children love the mini golf. Our room was large with lots of closet space. Furniture was a bit shabby but the view of Gibralta from the chairs and table on our balcony made up for that. The cleaning was not top rate. The bathroom doorframe was black and somewhat sticky from the hands of many previous occupants. The corners were overlooked and an empty box was under the bed. We also found we had fewer towles each day. However, again the history all around us made it all acceptable. We also found this to be a great place for a base for day excursions. It was easy to go to Tarifa, Gibralta, and Ronda from here. Bus and train stations are within walking distance or a short taxi ride away and car rentals are readily available. The hotel is not in the nicer area of the town, but it is just a taxi ride or a longer walk away. The trade-off is being in a quieter area and in a hotel with such large and beautiful outdoor areas. The front desk staff is knowledgeable about the area and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a wasted opportunity this hotel presents!

It caters for mid to down market groups and this is reflected in the food and service. I had the misfortune to have dinner included in my rate i.e. the buffet dinner....... not very nice. Had a glass of their house red, not sure where the connection to Listerine comes in as it tasted of it!

My room, one of their suites (really) would run a close match to places I stayed as a child in the 70's in Blackpool.

Receptionist pretty hopeless and did not want to a credit card as a guarantee for extras. So quickly finishing dinner, and leaving most of the mouthwash, was presented with an issue that I could not sign for my drinks as I had no credit! Simply ameuterish.

Come to think of it a little like Fawlty Towers!

Thank goodness on my Saturday night stay I was booked out to the AC Hotel.

Plus points, location isvhandy for station and port.

The grounds are very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbicanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algeciras
1.4 mi away
AC Hotel Algeciras
AC Hotel Algeciras
#1 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alboran Algeciras
Alboran Algeciras
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 12 in Algeciras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#7 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
5.9 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Reina Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Reina Cristina

Property: Globales Reina Cristina
Address: Paseo Conferencia s/n, 11207 Algeciras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Reina Cristina 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Reina Cristina in located Algeciras, Cadiz and just a few kilometers from the resort of Tarifa famous for its beach and surf, and just a few minutes’ walk from the gateway to Africa that is the port of Algeciras. The hotel has 168 elegantly decorated guest rooms and boasts beautiful architecture that reflects its rich history. The Globales Reina Cristina is a true paradise within the city of Algeciras, thanks to its extensive gardens, stunning pools (indoor and outdoor) and it´s beautiful views of the Straits of Gibraltar. THE PERFECT LOCATION FOR YOUR EVENTS The Globales Reina Cristiana can also provide all the services you may require for business meetings, conferences and other events. The hotel has a dedicated events team available to help you arrange your wedding, banquet or events within the unbeatable setting of the city of Algeciras. There are 8 function rooms available for weddings, banquets, or events. There is Wi-Fi and ADSL available throughout the hotel and there executive rooms available for those travelling on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Reina Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Cristina Algeciras
Algeciras Reina Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing