We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Globales Reina Cristina
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“an oasis”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Friends of ours have been going here on holiday for over 10 years and love the hotel. We met two other British couples who have been going to the hotel for almost 20 years. We decided to join our friends on holiday for 3 nights to try it out. It was lovely and we were made to feel so welcome by the staff. They even provided complimentary Cava and canapes in our room. It is either a hotel you love or you can find reasons to complain, as I see some people on this site have done. We loved it and will definitely be going back. However it may not be everyones cup of tea. It overlooks the docks and is quite quiet with not much going on. The food is excellent. When the hotel is busy the All Inclusive is a buffet. However while we were there we ate in the main restaurant most of the time with a choice of four starters, four mains, and four deserts.On the one night we had the buffet it was excellent with a good choice, also plenty of choice for my fish eating veggie partner. The room was very clean and had everything we wanted including a balcony with sea (docks) view. However fittings were getting a bit tired and air con was just adequate. We believe the rooms are all being refurbished. A lovely pool which we had to ourselves most mornings. The only small irritation was there seems to be an arrangement whereby if you eat at the hotel you can use the pool and on a couple of occasions this resulted in some noisy children at the pool from about 4pm. Not a big issue just plug in your ipod. Algeciras is a working port with not much to do. However if you want to experience real Spain and have a beer in a real Spanish tapas bar then this is the place. Also a good place to visit Gibraltar from. To conclude this is a lovely, quiet old fashioned hotel steeped in history. We loved it and will be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_watson980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    413
    213
    81
    90
See reviews for
173
579
71
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Was due to stay here with my partner and two young daughters at the end of june for two nights. The place was carpeted... imagine how that smells with wet feet walking through it all day. We refused two rooms. Reasons being... We were given two single beds for four people. Our balcony was a roof. The window fell off when i opened it. The view from our broken window was a brick wall and they absolutely stunk of must and damp.
When paying all inc you expect a buffet for lunch... dont expect it here!
Also dont expect other guests to be staying at this hotel... we didnt see a single other guest (we arrived at lunchtime not the middle of the night)
I would say if you want a very quiet holiday with absolutely no entertainment on offer then you could possibly like it here?!
This review is purely on the hotel alone because the staff seemed really nice and helped us get the hell out of there!!
Having looked at the pictures before we went we thought we was on to an absolute winner... How wrong we were.
DONT DO IT!!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank jadey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Algeciras hotels

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

we have stayed in this hotel several times in the last few years,it is a really lovely buliding with gorgeous gardens and large rooms with traditional old world furnishings,the staff are excellant wellcoming and nothing is too much trouble,both the buffet food and A,La carte restaurant are of very good standard.well situated for trips to gibralter,algeciras itself has a shopping centre with a nice square where you can have a drink or eat tapas.we will definately look forward to staying here once again.

Room Tip: ask for a room on one of the turrets or with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Cannot believe this is only a 4* hotel, everything about it was spotless, fresh & well cared for. The public areas were being cleaned constantly and there was no sign of dust anywhere. The buffet breakfast has to be seen to be believed, by far the best I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying in a hotel. Staff were friendly & helpful, didn't have nuch English - but they still went out of their way to be helpful. Room was slightly small, but everything was there. Maintenance is all to a very high standard, wifi worked faultlessly. No hesitation in recommencding this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I have been at this hotel a number of times, but this time the hotel was cold as a frezer. So vinter stay is not a good idea. Room temperature when I arrived was 10C. When I left 6 days later 16C.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2010

My husband and I dined in the Grill Room one night at the end of October. We enjoyed the surroundings; service was first class and the food was delicious but the meal was marred by the arrival of a cockroach on the floor by our table. As soon as we had finished our meal we went to pay the bill and I told the head waiter about the cockroach. His reaction was a shrug of the shoulders stating that unfortunately this could happen "they come in from outside" ... well, I do not accept this ... pest control is very good in Spain and having lived here for 5 years it is the first time I have encountered a cockroach inside a restaurant ... I think this may have been our last visit to Reina Christina where we have previously enjoyed several nice meals.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pensionistatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Just returned from my 13th visit. During my previous visit (June this year) the hotel's new director arrived, in this 4 month period alot has been achieved to add to this marvellous hotel. There are alot of extras across the board helping the guest's stay more enjoyable. The restaurant food area layout has much improved together with the general appearance. Staff always provide excellent service and are always approachable. The new director is there for the hotel guests and is a pleasure to talk to.
As the hotel is over 100 years old the furnishings are in keeping, the grounds are spectacular with a great outdoor pool, tennis, mini golf and more. A small indoor pool and gym.
Hoping to return to this wonderful hotel many more times.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algeciras
1.4 mi away
AC Hotel Algeciras
AC Hotel Algeciras
#1 of 12 in Algeciras
464 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alboran Algeciras
Alboran Algeciras
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#6 of 12 in Algeciras
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 12 in Algeciras
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Reina Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Reina Cristina

Property: Globales Reina Cristina
Address: Paseo Conferencia s/n, 11207 Algeciras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Reina Cristina 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Reina Cristina in located Algeciras, Cadiz and just a few kilometers from the resort of Tarifa famous for its beach and surf, and just a few minutes’ walk from the gateway to Africa that is the port of Algeciras. The hotel has 168 elegantly decorated guest rooms and boasts beautiful architecture that reflects its rich history. The Globales Reina Cristina is a true paradise within the city of Algeciras, thanks to its extensive gardens, stunning pools (indoor and outdoor) and it´s beautiful views of the Straits of Gibraltar. THE PERFECT LOCATION FOR YOUR EVENTS The Globales Reina Cristiana can also provide all the services you may require for business meetings, conferences and other events. The hotel has a dedicated events team available to help you arrange your wedding, banquet or events within the unbeatable setting of the city of Algeciras. There are 8 function rooms available for weddings, banquets, or events. There is Wi-Fi and ADSL available throughout the hotel and there executive rooms available for those travelling on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Globales Reina Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Cristina Algeciras
Algeciras Reina Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing