We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic reception staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alboran Algeciras

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alboran Algeciras
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Algeciras
Reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic reception staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived early hoping to be able to leave our bags and visit Gibraltar but the reception staff were exceptionally helpful and allowed us to check-in very early to one of the two rooms that we had booked. Our 3 bed room was brilliant with 3 proper single beds, the only down-side being that the bathroom was a bit squashed. The hotel is right off the main road so I was expecting it to be noisy but wasn't at all. We went down to the seafront to find somewhere to eat for dinner but as none of the kitchens opened until 9pm we returned to the hotel for their bbq - excellent service but unlike with the reception staff, us only speaking English was a bit of a challenge. Good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    34
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
51
9
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I didn’t get to stay at the hotel long enough since it was just one night. The place is very modest, mainly the rooms, but neat. The restaurant serves a good food, and service is great there. The hotel is about 10 min away by car from the center. And I didn't like the breakfast much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela_Oliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Coming or going to Morocco, this hotel is fantastic, not far from the harbor and very easy to find. The courtyard is lovely and it is a pleasure to enjoy breakfast. Our room was fairly sized and very clean. Fortunately the staff was still there when we arrived at 3 o'clock in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid teh rooms near the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCA0248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We used Alboran Algeciras as our base for day trips to Tanger/Tetouan and to Gibraltar. Hotel is located right on the main road, easy to find (we came late at night) and offers free parking for the guests. Although hotel is so close to the main road we did not have any problems with traffic noise.

Hotel has been built with a lot of Moorish architecture details which gives it some charm. Rooms are equipped with old style furniture but they are very clean and well maintained.

Good continental breakfast and not that good dinner menu food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drago_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

For those of us who are so used to staying in skyscraper type of Hotels, this one was a breather.
Albeit a 3 star hotel, its got a lovely courtyard, and vines growing on the pillars, a beautiful Spanish setup.
Stayed just for a day and loved the ambience. Food was good but a tad expensive.
Rooms were clean, quite spacious. Rooms have a nice balcony. Staff are very courteous. Free wifi in the hotel.
Proximity to the beach is an added plus.
A comfortable stay would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoviceTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed while visiting the port. I was driven around which is essential since the hotel is not located idellicaly. Rooms are average but acceptable for the class of the hotel. Breakfast is without any hot cooked meals, no eggs, omelettes etc. only basic things. The best thing of the hotel is the open garden in the middle. Internet is very poor and usually cannot support skype... I would go back ro stay for a day or two If the internet was good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YiannisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is a decent hotel located on an exit immediately off the A7 highway. The photographs of the hotel look impressive, but the rooms are situated so that they do not face into the interior courtyard and so much of it is not normally seen. The rooms themselves are of good quality and clean, although not outstanding. The hotel has smoking and non-smoking sections. A few negatives are that the reception on the TV is rather noisy, and vews of the outside are limited to either a busy highway or drab backyards of surrounding houses. The reception at the hotel was a mixed bag. The staff are certainly very helpful, and even went out of their way to assist with an unusual problem we had (unrelated to our stay at the hotel itself). One annoyance was that complimentary tapas were offered on check-in, but it surfaced that the invitation is actually limited to a small side dish rather than the drink itself, which led to a very uncomfortable situation where the the staff insisted on payment on leaving, which was at odds with the whole invitation concept. Also, we were kept awake for half of one night due to a guest in an adjacent room making a racket in moving out. Reception tried to assist but was not particularly effective. The Internet connection was weak inside the room, and the speed was just barely sufficient to permit Skyping (with an occasional call drop). The charge for parking in front of the hotel is 5 euros, which is considerably cheaper than at other hotels, and is guarded. A drive to nearby Gibraltar is very quick from the hotel, and the beaches and ferries of Tarifa are also close. A Carrefour supermarket is a few km's down the road. Algeciras is not an exciting town at all, however, and best avoided if possible.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies appear to be mostly smoking-only. The rooms facing back (not towards the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krakus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algeciras
2.3 mi away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#2 of 13 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
1.0 mi away
AC Hotel Algeciras
AC Hotel Algeciras
#1 of 13 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#8 of 13 in Algeciras
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#6 of 13 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Quadacorte Park
Hotel Quadacorte Park
#3 of 4 in Los Barrios
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#4 of 13 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alboran Algeciras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alboran Algeciras

Property: Alboran Algeciras
Address: Calle Alamos 2 | Colonia de San Miguel, 11205 Algeciras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alboran Algeciras 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alboran Algeciras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing