We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Spanish Touch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alboran Algeciras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alboran Algeciras
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Spanish Touch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

For those of us who are so used to staying in skyscraper type of Hotels, this one was a breather.
Albeit a 3 star hotel, its got a lovely courtyard, and vines growing on the pillars, a beautiful Spanish setup.
Stayed just for a day and loved the ambience. Food was good but a tad expensive.
Rooms were clean, quite spacious. Rooms have a nice balcony. Staff are very courteous. Free wifi in the hotel.
Proximity to the beach is an added plus.
A comfortable stay would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoviceTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    70
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
59
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed while visiting the port. I was driven around which is essential since the hotel is not located idellicaly. Rooms are average but acceptable for the class of the hotel. Breakfast is without any hot cooked meals, no eggs, omelettes etc. only basic things. The best thing of the hotel is the open garden in the middle. Internet is very poor and usually cannot support skype... I would go back ro stay for a day or two If the internet was good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YiannisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is a decent hotel located on an exit immediately off the A7 highway. The photographs of the hotel look impressive, but the rooms are situated so that they do not face into the interior courtyard and so much of it is not normally seen. The rooms themselves are of good quality and clean, although not outstanding. The hotel has smoking and non-smoking sections. A few negatives are that the reception on the TV is rather noisy, and vews of the outside are limited to either a busy highway or drab backyards of surrounding houses. The reception at the hotel was a mixed bag. The staff are certainly very helpful, and even went out of their way to assist with an unusual problem we had (unrelated to our stay at the hotel itself). One annoyance was that complimentary tapas were offered on check-in, but it surfaced that the invitation is actually limited to a small side dish rather than the drink itself, which led to a very uncomfortable situation where the the staff insisted on payment on leaving, which was at odds with the whole invitation concept. Also, we were kept awake for half of one night due to a guest in an adjacent room making a racket in moving out. Reception tried to assist but was not particularly effective. The Internet connection was weak inside the room, and the speed was just barely sufficient to permit Skyping (with an occasional call drop). The charge for parking in front of the hotel is 5 euros, which is considerably cheaper than at other hotels, and is guarded. A drive to nearby Gibraltar is very quick from the hotel, and the beaches and ferries of Tarifa are also close. A Carrefour supermarket is a few km's down the road. Algeciras is not an exciting town at all, however, and best avoided if possible.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies appear to be mostly smoking-only. The rooms facing back (not towards the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krakus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangier, Morocco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stay here whenever we go to Algeciras. It's a bit out of the way, and you definitely need a car. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are charming. The set meal in the restaurant is great value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zohor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath, wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

I visited this hotel in realtion to the motogp in Jerez, so distance was the main negative factor, but a fab drive down all the same. A lovely clean hotel with great welcoming staff. The location was the only down point in a very rundown area. A car is essential. The food in the cafe area was very good and reasonably priced. Air con was very good, free wi-fi. Small bathroom. Bed was comfy but with strange long pillows. Supermarket acroos the road for essentials, and petrol station 5 mins up the road.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerNeath_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algeciras
2.3 mi away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#2 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
1.0 mi away
AC Hotel Algeciras
AC Hotel Algeciras
#1 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 12 in Algeciras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#7 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#4 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alboran Algeciras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alboran Algeciras

Property: Alboran Algeciras
Address: Calle Alamos 2 | Colonia de San Miguel, 11205 Algeciras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alboran Algeciras 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alboran Algeciras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing