We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
england
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ok but very basic”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed overnight here whilst waiting for family to arrive from UK, it was clean and basic, views over the Port and Gibraltar. Beds were soft but really could do with updating, bed linen and towels were clean. We could not get the air con to work, Tv had no English channels.The staff were friendly and helpful, We paid 40 Euros for a double room with twin beds.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the port and Gibraltar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aitbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    32
    30
    15
    11
See reviews for
10
29
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

For a hotel just to overnight for the Tangier ferry it is fine. Basic rooms, clean and had a room with a balcony overlooking the port. The reception were very friendly and helpful. 5 minute walk from the bus station and across the street from the port. Paid $40 Euro for one night.

Room Tip: ask for balcony over looking port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The only good thing is that it is close to the harbour, if you are leaving/entering the city. We had a view towards Gibraltar, pity the harbour disturbed the view in the foreground. The staff are friendly and helpful, but the rooms remind me of mental hospitals, and the rooms are very cold. Had double blankets and slept with clothes on, including hat, so the sleeping quality wasn't too bad after all. I'm sure the room were clean, but since the interior is rather tasteless and old, it's hard to get a fresh feeling of it all. Oh, the other good thing: there wi-fi on the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Algeciras hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you come to algeciras from morroco and only to transit, this hotel is a good option already. Does not matter you come from Tangier Med or Tangier to Tarifa there will be a shuttle bus to bring you to algeciras port and from the port is just 5 minutes walk to this hotel. To the train station and bus station is just 8 minutes walk from the hotel. The room is normal and clean, if you get the room that has balcony that face the street maybe it will be a little bit noisy when you sleep with an open window. The reception only speak spanish and french so it is quite hard to communicate. Do not use the phone to call from this hotel, they charged really expensive and is just a local phone call not the international!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HendryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel faces the port: very convenient for boats to Africa. I found the room larger than usual for a hotel in this price bracket . It was clean, and had an excellent bathroom with a bidet. There is also a lift The desk clerk recommended an excellent restorant just one block away (Meson Algeciras) where I stuffed myself like the Thanksgiving turkey for 8E. And yes, it is a bit dated but if you want decor you will pay for it. All in all, vey satisfactory. I am a senior lady travelling alone.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank betsey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wonderfull stay.friendly and very helpfull staff.very clean.room been clean everyday.easy transport.easy to shop, lots of restaurant/cafe, nice people and helpfull.Will be staying in the same hotel over Easter Holiday 2013. LOVE IT and CANNOT WAIT!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julajuli100562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a cheap hotel. The rooms were basic and clean and I only booked here so that I could visit Gibraltar (Hotels inn Gibtraltar are expensive man!) and then travel to Tangier by boat the next day, It was clean and functional and is rather dated but is just what I expected for the low price that I paid. The decor is minimal and bizarrely, there were three identical framed pictures on the walls of the room! There is also airconditioning in the room, however it sounds rather like a misfiring aircraft engine and so i had to turn it off in case it either exploded or took off! The staff were ok though and the hotel seems reasonably secure. in fact, it looks like it was probably a grand hotel once however it has clearly declined along with the area itself.

It is close to the bus station which services Malaga (12 euros/3hrs) and La Linea (Gibraltar) and also is close to the docks. There are loads of boats to various places such as Ceuta and Tangier (med) from the port in Algeciras, however I found out that my guide book was incorrect and to get to Tangier town properly, I would need to go to Tarifa (which looks lovely!) for the fast boat, however there is a free bus included in the price of the ticket to there.

Algeciras itself is a dump! There is nothing to do or see here and don't be suprised if at night, there are all sorts of prostitutes and other swarthy chancers crashing around the area. The only decent bar is a Spanish place on the corner of the block which forms part of the bus station around the corner - the staff are nice and they have cheap wine and tapas!

Look, it is what it is. It's cheap, basic and is ok to stop for a night or two en route to somewhere else but there is NOTHING to do in the area. You can get to Gibraltar easily, which is a great place and it cost about 1e50 on the bus each way.

In conclusion, if you are a lone traveller or a couple, are on a budget and you have to visit Algeciras for whatever reason - this is the place for you. However if you want to go to Tangier town, I'd recommend that you stay in Tarifa - it looks much better!

Room Tip: You might find that it's a little noisy in some rooms in this hotel. For most of my nights stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauly1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Algeciras hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 12 in Algeciras
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#2 of 12 in Algeciras
1,134 reviews
1.1 mi away
AC Hotel Algeciras
AC Hotel Algeciras
#1 of 12 in Algeciras
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#6 of 12 in Algeciras
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mir Octavio
Hotel Mir Octavio
#8 of 12 in Algeciras
35 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alboran Algeciras
Alboran Algeciras
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras

Property: Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras
Address: Avenida Marina 7, 11201 Algeciras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing