We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding and remarkable service at this hotel”
Review of Hotel Mitra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mitra
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ptuj
Cavan, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding and remarkable service at this hotel”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed here on business recently and as an experience business person travelling throughout Europe I am very immune to the charms of hotels but this is hotel is number 1 of all the many places I stayed. The service was outstanding - nothing was too much for any of the staff who spoke English and as mentioned by previous posters the owner Peter went out of his way to facilitate all requests and anticipated all our requirements. The hotel has undergone a makeover in the last year or so and has some wonderful facilities including the wine cellar, the wellness centre and a lovely lobby area. The rooms were spacious and outstandingly clean. This is one city and hotel that I can not wait to return to but this time on holiday with my family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
44
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I would echo what all the other raving reviewers have said. This place is excellent. My sister and I arrived late one evening after driving in a foreign country for several hours. We had no reservation and were indeed lucky that it was not high season. The manager, Peter, took very good care of us. He made arrangments for a place for us to eat at the late hour (Amadeus - delicious), made sure we were in a good parking spot, and of course offered a very comfortable and appealing room.

Peter also graciously offered a tour of the wine cellar which has a rich history.

The town itself is darling and historically rich. We love Slovenia and we love Ptuj and Hotel Mitra!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etbwc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a great place to stay. The room and bathroom are luxurious, the common spaces are lovely and the location cannot be beat. Ptuj is a great destination that offers a lot of history and things to do, and Hotel Mitra is right in the heart of it all. Great cafes, restaurants and shopping right across the street, and the castle is up some stairs right around the corner from the front door.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly. We had the smallest room, and it was still wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We really recommend this hotel since we stayed here twice and it was perfect each time. We love the atmosphere of the town with the river Drava cutting through, the castle and the little cafes, the thermal bath and, if you are lucky to catch them on time: the fish kiosk on the marked selling fresh hot adriatic fish and some seafood some days.

But back to the hotel: First we came to spent a long weekend with the family in June 2011 and liked it so much,  that decision was made to come back with a bigger group in September 2012 on a "Semi-Business Meeting" held in the hotel. First time we occupied 4 rooms, second time about 50% of the rooms. Each time everybody was happy and the owner Peter is a wonderful host and he and his team did a great job to make it a perfect stay.The hotel is carefully refurbished,  starting from the wine cellar, where good wine tasting sessions were held. For a hotel in this price category the choice at breakfast was more than satisfiying.

Simply the best hotel in Ptuj :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b2bb_mamacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Ptuj.
Everything was first class, including our host Peter's help to shovel out the snow from behind our car as we were leaving.
Great location, close to the castle, cellars and restaurants.
This is an excellent example of what we would call a "boutique" hotel in Australia.
Disregard the comments on the pool and fitness center as we did not use these.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASIC20121127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent just one night in this lovely hotel, the personnel was outstanding, very friendly and always willing to help. The room was very nice and the hotel is ideally located to visit the old town and the castle, just a short distance from the river. Their wine cellar is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 404 is just great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andr_D155029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Hotel Mitra, occupying a prime position in the old town, was draped in flowers when we stayed and looked as pretty as a picture.
The girl at the front desk was very pleasant and the room very clean and comfortable. A good night's sleep was had.
Unfortunately the breakfast let the establishment down a bit but overall it was a good experience and probably the best place to stay in Ptuj.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very quiet however the town is not busy at night anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotdogDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ptuj
0.7 mi away
Primus Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poetovio
Hotel Poetovio
#3 of 3 in Ptuj
30 reviews
16.5 mi away
Atlantida Boutique Hotel
Atlantida Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Rogaska Slatina
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hotel Tabor Maribor
Hotel Tabor Maribor
#5 of 17 in Maribor
83 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Bajt Maribor
Hotel Bajt Maribor
#6 of 17 in Maribor
40 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Piramida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mitra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitra

Property: Hotel Mitra
Address: Preshernova ulica 6, Ptuj 2250, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Styria Region > Ptuj
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ptuj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mitra 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mitra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitra Hotel Ptuj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing