We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wellness hotel”
Review of Primus Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Primus Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ptuj
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent wellness hotel”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel, furbished in style. Polite staff, very helpful.
Excellent wellness offer for reasonable prices (massages, treatments). Excellent service and tasty, delicious food.
Recommended for families with young children.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZigaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    99
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
59
89
3
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
417 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first stop on our tour of Slovenia. First impressions were good - spacious entrance
and amazing spa facilities. Indoor and outdoor pools with various opportunities for massage and relaxation.Friendly ,helpful staff.
Entrance to the water park opposite,included in the rate. .

Our comfortable room with balcony was large and the bathroom well eqipped with shower,but the noise from the air-con was a problem. The unit ran the full length of the room above the bed and cannot be switched off. It constantly rattled along all through the night. If you are a light sleeper then this would be a problem.

The dinner buffet was very poor, often just warm. Usually a choice of two soups, salad and chicken cooked in breadcrumbs, fish cooked in bread crumbs and braised beef. Various just warm vegetables. Good choice of fruit, cheese and cake.
Breakfast was better, though once again the "hot" food was not hot.

For a hotel that states on its website that it "will pamper you with excellent culinary art ",it was a disappointment.

Ptuj is a very pretty town with an interesting castle and museum, it's a short walk along the riverbank . The Primus is an impressive hotel let down by its restaurant .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
145 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We really enjoey 2 nights at Grand Hotel Primus with our baby. The pool is great, we evend didnt go to Bad Therme (because of the closed park). The hotel is nice & comfortable but food - breakfest & dinner could be improved.

We will definitly come in future and will recommend this destination to our friends!

P.S.: Thanks to the hotel staff for early check-in without any problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is located just outside the very pretty town of Ptuj, which is about 20 minutes flat stroll along the river. This was my second visit, the first was just after it opened so I hoped that certain problems had been rectified. Well the staff were pleasant enough and the room was very nice and scrupulously clean and comfortable. The balcony was very small but just enough space for two well padded loungers (I mean the chairs not the people). I liked the feel of the hotel with its attractive paintings and colour schemes. The spa centre is great and my husband and I both had very good massages by staff that seemed to know what they are doing. The pools, despite being the height of the season, were pretty empty only the outside sunbathing area was a little cramped with a shortage of umbrellas. The hotel is also a really short walk, about five minutes, from the attractive Ptuj golf course, one of the main reasons we chose this hotel.

Well now to the problems. Yes the extractor fan in the bathroom is on continuously, not on a time switch. It didn't bother me too much but it did disturb my husband. There were small glitches, for example there was only one bathrobe in the room (another was supplied after a few hours) and they seemed to have run out of the blue bracelets for the pools. Neither of these were really important. What was was the food. It was edible - mostly. I have never been in a self service hotel restaurant of whatever star rating, where there was nothing to tempt me. The food showed a total lack of imagination or cooking skill. Plain pork ribs, plain chicken, uninspired, overcooked cabbage plain boiled potatoes etc. etc. No real starters, two boring soups. No, you would not be hungry, but come on a holiday is meant to be a happy experience not like the works canteen. We decamped to the town for what was one of the best pizzas I have ever had, but it shows how desperate we were. Breakfasts were ok, fortunately with very good bread so everything else falls into place. I will go to this hotel again but I will only stay for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junkuz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Me and my wife spend a few days in Grand Hotel Primus. Best things in the hotel are rooms. Very spacious, but too warm. The air conditioning in the room was too noisy, and you cannot switch it off. Hotel stuff could be more friendly - I expect that from a four stars hotel. Spa and wellness center are nice and clean. They extra charge you for sauna. My suggestion... stay in the hotel's pool and wellness, because Termalni park Ptuj, which is near the hotel is overcrowded and noisy. In Slovenia we have a lot of better places for spa & wellness vacations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaHotelsResorts, Manager at Primus Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Nejc,

impressions, suggestions, comments, compliments and complaints from our guests guide us in developing better tourism services for our guests, and help us to detect any problems regarding our services. All employees in Terme Ptuj, strive that all our guest get good services and that all the guest feel better, while special attention is devoted to ongoing quality of the services. We thank you for your feedback by staying at the Grand Hotel Primus and sharing Your feelings with us. Air conditioning in the hotel is centrally managed and individual changes in temperature in the room can be made + or - three degrees Celsius, but air-conditioning cannot be completely shut down. As per our quality standard all rooms have a centralized air-conditioning that is preventing that bad air is present in the room and that room has over humidity

Allow us that We invite you again to Sava Hotels & Resorts - Grand Hotel Primus, because we want to assure You of our hospitality and the quality of our hotel services that we offer for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We have septn 5 nights at this hotel after reserving it online via a Croatian travel agency, there were no problems checking in with the voucher and we were given blue bracelets for entering the pools, we had a package for 3 persons that included breakfast/dinner, New year's eve dinenra nd celebration, new yera dance and dinner in the hotel's night club on the 1st of January, unlimited access to the hotel's pools and the Thermal park accross the road, one entry each for the sauna world, some discounts for the spa treatments, bathrobes/slippers and fruit.

The room was nice and with enough space for our double bed and our daughter's additional bed and all of our luggage. the TV in the room was a bit fuzzy, minibar which is restocked daily, phone, free WiFi available, safe in the closet, enough hangers in the closet, large bathroom with shower and built in hairdryer. the main problem with the room is that the heating system (and as i see from previous reviews also the cooling one) is VERY noisy, you hear running water at all times and we had troubles to fall asleep and stay asleep. perhaps they use the thermal springs to heat the hotel.. in any case that was rather annoying.

Breakfast and dinner are in buffet style with lots of choice especially if one likes pork, a salad bar, cheeses, fruit, various juices for breakfast and vegetarian spreads available. at dinner the drinks are charged extra. the waiters are very friendly and quick. the good thing is that you can charge anything in the hotel to your room and pay at check out to avoid carrying a wallet around. during the day you can have a snack or lunch at pool's cafe. we entered the sauna once, people are naked of course so we had to come out as our daughter is only 7:) but it seems amazing. the main pool is warm and there are two massaging whirlpools that are even warmer. air temperature is 30degrees and the lounge chairs comfy. unfortunately i have not managed to try the spa but they offer a large range of treatments.

the NY eve dinner was great, with a set menu first (sushi, stuffed quail, veal in parmesan and so on) then a big buffet that included fresh lobster and fish besides the many meat and veggy dishes, a big selection of fruit and drinks, the semidry white Halozan is perfect! the music was upbeat and the old italian/german group danced fiercely along with our daughter. the same band performe don Jan.1, good choice. we almost missed the Jan1. event as we were not informed that it is not in the main restaurant but in the night club, the waitress was the one to guide us, so we had to contact the reception for entrance tickets.
you can only spend a certain amount of time in the pools so we took some trips to Ptuj's Old Town, to Ljubljana, to Maribor and the skiing resorts nearby, good idea to come by car.

Checkout was quick, you can pay by card. All in all, we had a relaxing holiday as we wanted in a nice hotel! the only suggestion is to fix that noise in the building. Please!

Room Tip: i hear there is a suite with a jacuzii with thermal water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Just had a 3 day stay at the Primus Hotel in Ptuj, very good hotel,and clean, sheets changed every day. Good selection of food at all meals. The only problem was the air conditioning in the room, it was very noisy and you could not turn it off. Spoke to reception they said it was a fault which they have had for a long time. So nothing was done about it, hence not very good nights for sleeping. The location was not very good about a 40 min walk to the nearest village. Across the road was a large swimming pool and slide.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ptuj
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mitra
Hotel Mitra
#2 of 3 in Ptuj
83 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Poetovio
Hotel Poetovio
#3 of 3 in Ptuj
29 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Bioterme
Hotel Bioterme
#1 of 1 in Ljutomer
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hotel Habakuk
Hotel Habakuk
#2 of 17 in Maribor
261 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel City Maribor
Hotel City Maribor
#1 of 17 in Maribor
301 reviews
17.8 mi away
Radin Superior Hotel
Radin Superior Hotel
#1 of 3 in Radenci
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primus Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primus Grand Hotel

Property: Primus Grand Hotel
Address: Pot v toplice 9, Ptuj 2250, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Styria Region > Ptuj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ptuj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Primus Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Primus is a medium-sized hotel with 119 rooms. The hotel was named after the famous Roman general Marcus Antonius Primus, who was the first to carry the name of Ptuj, Slovenia's oldest town, out into the world. The town's rich Roman history can be felt at every step: guests of the hotel can relax in a Roman-style wellness centre or enjoy culinary delicacies based on recipes from the distant past. For a different type of enjoyment, there is the Ptuj Golf Course. Even the MICE services have a touch of ancient Rome about them. Next to the hotel there is a large thermal water park featuring an Olympic-size swimming pool for the enjoyment of guests of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Primus Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing