We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bastion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Vila Camelia(Sinaia)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Smart Hotel(Sinaia)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rina Cerbul(Sinaia)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Regal(Sinaia)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Retezat(Sinaia)(Great Value!)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marea Neagra(Sinaia)(Great Value!)
$47
$41
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ioana Hotel(Sinaia)
$145
$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
52
47
9
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
47
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to peles castlewalking distancedecorated roomsold stablesone nighttown centrenice hotelbuffet breakfastsurrounded by treestriple roomno elevatorlocation is greatthe main streetwoodsproximitybathtubcastel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 113 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had two bedrooms for 3 nights in June. The hotel was very clean and the bedrooms were very comfortable. The reception staff were very, very helpful and friendly. They gave us suggestions of restaurants and things to do in the area. On the last day they let us have a late check out at no extra cost and without being asked. We just asked if we could leave our cases somewhere safe in the hotel and they let us keep one bedroom.

The hotel is set in woods in the grounds of Peles Castle, which is well worth a visit. It's a little way out of town. I would say a very pleasant 15 minute walk. We were advised not to walk to the hotel after dusk because there were bears in the woods who came to the hotel each night. I'm glad we took their advice and went in taxis to the restaurants, as bears did come to the hotel each night. The taxis were really cheap and only cost £2 a journey.

If I were to visit the area again, I would certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BedfordshireJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We were recommended the Hotel Bastion by the Romanian tourist office in London and it proved excellent advice. Owned by a Romanian American, he has spared little expense to create a first class boutique hotel with a French theme from what used to be the Royal Stables. Fittings are new and high quality, the restaurant is nice and is non-smoking (rare in Romania), our large room had a lovely aspect over the trees and was very quiet. High speed internet and breakfast were included. The breakfast menu included the option of sandwiches that we took as a picnic when hiking and were delicious. They clearly aren't used to "milk and cereal" for breakfast however, as the milk arrived separately from the cereal, warmed and in a glass!

In terms of location, we loved the fact that the Hotel Bastion is up the hill, very close to Peles Castle and away from the bustle and noise of the town. There are one or two restaurants within walking distance as well as one on site, but we did have a car to enable us to go further afield. Without your own wheels the attractiveness of staying up the hill would lessen.

We couldn't understand why the Bastion wasn't busier given the town was full of people. We hope that this will change as we enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

My husband, adult son and I stayed at the Bastion Hotel for one night at Easter. Rooms were clean and well kept. Unfortunately, the bathrooms were slightly smelly and I think there must be a problem with the sewerage system as the smell did not resolve. The view was nice from our room overlooking a waterfall and woods up to the mountains and just a short walk up to Peles castle which is fabulous. The restaurant at the hotel served good, wholesome food and the waiting staff were attentive and friendly. Great cappucino (hard to find in Romania) in the courtyard which is clean and well looked after. Breakfast was included and was freshly cooked which again is a bonus in this country. One slight downside is that it is a little of the beaten track for access to the town, probably a good 30 minute walk but that suited us as we were en route somewhere else. Slightly annoying not being trusted by the Reception staff when asked have you used the minibar, answer: No. And then she still rings the chambermaid to check before allowing us to leave. I think it is strange, bearing in mind that the hotel had our credit card details! Reception staff slightly surly and I feel that this is a shame. Otherwise a nice place to stay...but the smell in the bathroom needs sorting!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewinRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews