We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North-korean breakfast”
Review of Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Palace
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Sinaia
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel itself is ok,quite exquisite, but the breakfast is hilarious( the only similar one i've seen is in Belarus, ten years ago).Overall, the restaurant is out of time in terms of the menu and services.
Very nice location, the garden is beautiful, the roomview - great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corneliu32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 138 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel Palace is a huge, elegant old building in a prime location overlooking a large park. It was probably THE place to stay in Sinaia many years ago. Today, it has the feel of faded glory. My wife and I stayed there on a weekday night when there were few other guests. The long, silent halls, 1800s-era room, and cavernous but deserted ballroom-restaurant were rather eerie. The staff tried hard to make us feel welcome. And the dinner was very good, as was the breakfast buffet. But we ate them in a room built for hundreds yet virtually empty. We really enjoyed our spacious room with a French balcony overlooking the park. But it felt like we were leaving a museum when we checked out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel should be the best in Sinaia if we are to consider it's impressive architecture, magnificent location and close proximity to the casino. But, shamefully, what you get is a small room, pretty worn out, without many of the amenities you would expect in a good hotel. If they cannot afford a full refurbishment, they could at least do some minor improvements which might change the image they are offering today. There is no parking for the hotel, and public parking on the street costs more than in central Bucharest. I wonder if the owner of the hotel doesn t also own the parking!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

very good located,normal double room without balcony,it was fully booked because this is a hotel for conferences or participants of the conferences located at the Casino;it is located near the central park.

Room Tip: ask for a park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiaoWun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting ruined by lack of management.

This could be the most wonderful stay if anyone in the hotel had the slightest interest
in looking after it.
Run down to the point of shabbiness, half the lights were out. My bedroom had a light fitting that
buzzed, the mirror in the bathroom was missing, the table for the suitcase was broken, and the bath had chipped grouting round the plug.
Dinner was ruined by a chap on an electric keyboard belting out music so loud we couldnt talk.
The waitress would not let us charge the meal and insisted on Romanian money,
I went to seek out the manager but there wasnt one only an unhelpful receptionist who said she was in charge. I got the Restaurant manager to let us sign for the meal but it was very unpleasant.
At breakfast, a fly came out of the orangejuice tap.
There was a managers office with glass doors which looked like it had been raided, bags, teapots and bottles of water, and papers all over the floor. A hotel with noone in charge, and a great wasted opportunity.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosslyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has a great location,nice grounds and is a lovely building. However, the staff are surly and unhelpful, the standard of maintenance is awful and I would not recommend it to my worst enemy. I was ripped off in the bar, most of the lights were not working and the basin plug was broken. I was one of a party of 23 and nearly all had complaints of some kind during our 2 day stay including terrible service and rooms not being cleaned.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hotel is old and unappealing. No electric outlet, no tissues, no bathmat, no list of hotel services or phone numbers, no safe in room. Little hot water, towels frayed. Asked for an iron and ironing bord in late afternoon, was told laundry closed for the day, try tomorrow morning. Shower curtain fell down on my wife while she was showering. Breakfas, at best, medeocre. Service in restaurant lacking - appetiser came last.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sinaia hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel International Sinaia
0.4 mi away
New Montana
New Montana
#9 of 29 in Sinaia
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ioana Hotel
Ioana Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sinaia
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vila Retezat
Vila Retezat
#4 of 29 in Sinaia
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Regal
Hotel Regal
#5 of 29 in Sinaia
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cu Farfurii
Casa Cu Farfurii
#20 of 29 in Sinaia
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace

Address: 4-11, Octavian Goga St., Sinaia 2180, Romania
Location: Romania > Southern Romania > Prahova County > Sinaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sinaia
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Sinaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing