We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
10
15
18
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10
15
18
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peles castle spacious rooms enjoyed our stay luggage tv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 57 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

Pros:
-Good location. Next to a park and the telecabina is easily accesible to visit the breathtaking mountains. The center of town is also close.
-Wifi (not a very strong connection)
-Comfy beds
-Enjoyable breakfast
-Spacious rooms, lobby, and staircases
-Beautiful outside of the hotel

Cons:
-The service is not good, as we had to keep asking for our rooms to be cleaned
-The rooms weren't clean and the bathroom felt very dirty. There was mold everywhere.
-The lights didn't work in the bathroom
-The dresser fell apart

Overall:
This hotel is gorgeous from outdoors, but the rooms are dated and need work. The service isn't good either. Despite this, my family and I still enjoyed staying at Hotel Caraiman.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jbv197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016

The hotel interior looks great, especially the spacious staircase with random old furniture. My room had a balcony with a view on a park, very nice. The breakfast is good too.

On the down side the towels and the bed sheets were stained, also wi-fi didn't work in my room at all.

Overall I think the hotel is fine for a short stay.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SergeiS416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2016

And I’ve had some.
So, although I have some doubts that anyone from the hotel management bothers to read these reviews, here’s a couple of tips that could help you improve the client experience:
- Invest in some good cleaning products. And USE them. The carpet in some rooms, the tablecloth, the closet doors and some towels are dirty beyond belief.
- Put a suit jacket on that lady who works on night shift. And tell her to put on a nicer attitude. This could help her look like someone who actually works in a hotel, albeit a two-star one.
- This might come as a surprise, but when told that bed linen & towels should be changed in one of the rooms, because one of the two guests in said room has checked out and another one checked in, saying that you don’t know if you’ve got any, because you have too many guests in the room, is not the most appropriate response. And, when you actually bother to change them, this does not mean that you should just leave the new linen in the room and let the gust deal with it. It actually means that YOU SHOULD REPLACE THE DAMN LINEN YOURSELF. Also, do put some NEW towels in, not some used ones, hoping you’d get away with it.
- When told that you should replace the towels with some NEW ones ( not some old ones), getting offended and asking to see the proof they are dirty is, again, not the most intelligent answer.
- And, please, do something about that terrible smell in that restaurant yours.
All of the above are changes that require minimum, if any financial investments. It probably costs a lot to replace furniture, equipment etc., but it does not cost a dime to replace the old attitude with a new, friendlier, more customer-oriented one.
This being said, the ONLY good point about this hotel is that it’s close to the railway station and to a nice park. And one of the male waiters in the restaurant seems to be a nice guy, and has a bit of a clue about working in this business. But that’s pretty much it, I’m afraid.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Overall it is a nice hotel, with great vintage decoration. On the other hand, it has simple rooms, old building and no outstanding service.
The bathroom was poorly maintained. The shower support was broken.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016

I stayed in the hotel from 3rd to 5th September 2016. By coincidence, we were there during Sinaia Forever Festival.

Location: The hotel is located in the city park, near one of the main avenues of the resort. Nearby there are street food vendors, other hotels, restaurants and shops. Usually it is a very quiet place and our rooms were facing the park. But during the festival, in the park was built a stage for live music performance. It was charming during the day but the concerts continue late in the night and sometimes are interfering with the sleep.

Environment: The hotel was built in the end of 19th century and after the communism was renovated. The façade is really beautiful, in some classic and local architectural styles. There are two entrances - one at the street and the other next to the park. Usually the park's gate is open. Inside there is a 24 hours reception and one elevator.

The elevator is new, can carry 4 people with luggage and is quite fast. The interior is very stylish, the renovators have kept the style from the Victorian period. Everywhere high ceilings, crystal chandeliers and polished marble. Plenty of wood carvings and the furniture is new but still following the same style. There are plenty of leather sofas and chairs in the entrance hall and in the corridors on every floor where you can sit and use the Wi-Fi.

Our room was on the second floor and the Wi-Fi was very weak, so we had to sit in the entrance hall and use the Wi-Fi there.

The rooms are with old fashioned keys, no magnet cards. The room suit consisted of entrance area, a very good size bathroom and a bedroom. There was no terrace.

The bathroom was renovated with new amenities, floor and wall tiles and new bath with a shower. Everything was very clean, with fluffy fresh from the laundry towels, shampoo and soap bars. The soaps and the shampoo were changed every day. For 2 days stay the towels and the linens weren't changed.

There was no electric plugs and hairdryer in the bathroom and the pressure of the warm water was very weak when we were trying to take a shower. I checked and the pressure was okay for the lower faucet for filling the bath tube. Maybe the shower head has been defected, I don't know but it was okay to take a shower.

You can ask for a hairdryer on the reception. It is free.

The bedroom was with carpet flooring and tapestry on the walls, the furniture was new and the matresses very good. I brought my own pillow so I don't know how were the pillow there. There were 2 beds with night stands and lamps, one chair and foot chair, one desk with built-in fridge and flat TV on it and two other small tables with a mirror. In the entrance area there was a built-in wardrobe with additional pillows and a shoe brush. The linens were very clean, the carpet and the window and bed covers also clean and well maintained.

There was no air conditioner but even though we were there in hot days it was never hot enough for air conditioned. There were only 1 electric plug under the desk where the TV and the fridge were plugged in so we had to turned them off if we wanted to charge our phones and camera. This was the only real negative of the room.

Staff: Very friendly and helpful. Immediately found a hairdryer when I asked. The receptionists spoke a good English. The staff in the restaurant didn't speak English at all. Otherwise the were very polite and smiling.

Food: There is a restaurant in the hotel but as I understood they are run separately. The receptionist didn't know when the breakfast started or if I can pay with a card in the restaurant. Otherwise in the dining area that is decorated in a local style everything was clean. I noticed that some of the table clothes has stains on them but they were old ones. The tablecloths were otherwise washed and the napkins, plates and utensils were very clean and not cheap.

We ate only breakfast there so I don't know how is the food for lunch or dinner. The breakfast started late in 8 AM and consisted of two types of sliced bread, buns and sliced cake and brownies, a cup with cornflakes, two types of black and green tea, one fruit tea - all of the Lipton brand, yoghurt, cans with hot water and coffee. There was an orange juice but I was told that it is quite colored water. There were 3 types of salami, sausages, 2 types of ham, a cup with jam, butter, sliced yellow and feta cheese, curd and sliced cucumbers, tomatoes and some fruit. Fried eggs and omelets. The cheese and the eggs were delicious:)

The plates with the salami and cheese slices and the basket with bread was constantly filled in and although basic the breakfast was quite filling.

On the back of the hotel there is a coffee shop where you can eat, buy coffee and water quite cheap, unlike the rest of the shops in Sinaia resort on the main street.

Total: This is a relatively cheap hotel that offers everything necessary, it is situated at a good location and can be comfortable for a quiet stay to wander around in the resort or to be a starting point for exploring Transylvania as we did:)

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank Morana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews