We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can turn back in time”
Review of Hotel Caraiman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Caraiman
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Sinaia
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel several times so saying I was there just last year is not 100% correct :)

It is not a fancy 4* hotel (I think they have like 2* but it doesn't mean anything because the quality is of 4*) but when you enter on the door you have the feeling the time just stopped, you have the feeling you are pushed back into another century. And not in the bad way but rather in a nice and calm way. The atmosphere has the flavour of 1900. The rooms are small and the furniture is the original one (well if you have more than 190 cm you might have some small issues with the beds), the hotel restaurant looks like a ball room (not a big one but nice and cosy) … The people are nice and everything is so clean. Not to say that if you are looking for really Romanian food this is the right place to find it!

And the location … If you are lucky to have a room on the park side not only that you will enjoy the feeling of staying in a natural garden but you will look at the mountains as well and you can admire the sunrise / sunset and have some great pictures.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veve_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

We made the mistake of staying in Sinaia in order to visit Peles Castle, it is better to stay elsewhere (eg. Brasov) and visit for the day. It is difficult to find fairly priced accommodation in this over-priced town. We chose the Caraiman as they had availability and it was in a good location. The room, although dated, was clean and fairly well kept with a few stylish qualities. We had a room at the back of the hotel and altho it is on a busy road it was quiet enough. The shower was quite poor and leaked. The breakfast was poor and completely disorganised, it took over 15 minutes for anything to be replaced so we found there was cereal but no bowls, milk but no coffee then coffee but no milk! There was no juice, yogurt or fresh fruit which we had seen in other much cheaper hotels and unfortunately quite a few flies around on the cold meats. The staff seemed more interested in taking their own breakfast than in ensuring the guests had theirs. We just gave up in the end and went to the local supermarket for a yoghurt and banana. We wouldn't stay there again at the price it was (£48).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pommiesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The Caraiman is in a great location - near the centre of town but backing onto a nice local park and handy for Peles Castle. It's an old style spa hotel, with high ceilinged rooms which tend to stay cool. It is slightly faded grandeur but comfortable. There is free parking outside the hotel. No internet terminals but wifi available.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2010.
The service people were very nice in the hotel reception and in the restaurant.
The food was tasty and plenty, very good considering the prices.
The location is what really recomends this hotel, in the Ghica park - very well kept and it was a pleasure to walk on its alleys and to admire it from the room balcony.
It's close to everything, the center, the Sinaia monastery, good enough distance to Peles area.
The beds are small, we stayed in a double with 2 separate beds. We were always attentive when we turned from one side to another :)
The room cleaning could be better. First impression was positive then when you start checking thing closely you see why this hotel has only 2 stars. The room cleaning lady came only once in the second day and that was all...
I recomend this hotel for short stays.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiniBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Wow, what a pleasant surprise in Transylvania. Its an old hotel but its is well kept up and clean. The furniture is old but in good shape and solid. They are antiques, really. This is a rarity in the Balkans. I would stay here again. The restaurant is fair to good, and they carry a nice selection of local wines. The meals are Romanian, and portions are good size.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoosierscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Инна К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souarecarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sinaia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel International Sinaia
0.3 mi away
Vila Retezat
Vila Retezat
#4 of 29 in Sinaia
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Camelia
Vila Camelia
#7 of 29 in Sinaia
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel
Bastion Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sinaia
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mara
Hotel Mara
#26 of 29 in Sinaia
63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Economat
Vila Economat
#13 of 29 in Sinaia
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caraiman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caraiman

Address: B-dul. Calol I nr.4, Sinaia 2180, Romania
Location: Romania > Southern Romania > Prahova County > Sinaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Sinaia
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caraiman 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Caraiman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing