We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice interior design but poor service”
Review of Kuib

Kuib
Ranked #5 of 51 Restaurants in Sinaia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant din lemn de stejar si piatra de rau din complexul Piatra Soimului. Meniu incredibil de rafinat si variat pentru o zona turistica de munte si servicii etichetate ecologic. Liniste si priveliste de poveste.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice interior design but poor service”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The location is new and modern, style eco-friendly but the waiters were very slow, we waited quite long to order. The food was not bad at all. I didn't like the bath, is in the hotel lobby and very small, with two W.C., one without light, no soap at the wash-hand basin. I had greater expectations...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Turista2011054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    67
    26
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet,refined place;great restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

You couldn't ask more from a restaurant situated not in a fancy area in a big city,but in a small mountain town...I was really surprised,used to the regular restaurants in Sinaia (with basic and cheap furniture,waiters that are always in a big hurry and the same greasy and unhealthy food)when I came up from town for a dinner,just wanting to change place.
Nice terrace with wooden furniture(they give you blankets if you feel cold in the evening and you still want to eat outside),a very special menu with a large variety of dishes,both traditional and international, good wines,excellent service; gourmet menu,steak on volcanic rock,trout filled with dry plums and nuts(!),chocolate fondue,and list can continue,but also romanian dishes,as "ciulama cu mamaliguta" ,"bulz" and "papanasi"-are definitely a challange at the moment of choosing what to order.
Music-despite other comments(which I truly respect),I enjoyed very much music from the 80's,you know that kind of music known as "oldies,but goldies".I appreciated very much it wasn't very loud, we could speak without shouting at each other.
I truly recommand this restaurant for families(as a detail to add, they offer children drawing pencils and printed paper sheets to keep them busy; playground is also a big plus) and people who know to appreciate a quiet,refined place.And last,but not least,ecofriendly!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've been to many reastaurants around Europe and not only and I know good food when I see it. Do not miss this place if you are looking for an interesting location (not the usual terrace you find in the area), excellent food (except for the sea food, but hey! this is in the mountains), and good service (although sometimes a bit slow). We felt really great and relaxed, enjoying the food and the very affordable prices.
The music could be better though.... :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad food and service”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I ate with some friends in this restaurant few weeks ago and the food was bad. The quality of the services as well.
We didn't like it at all and we advice you to try for another one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofiaserban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resita, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Good food reasonable prices Maybe a little bit far away from the city center but I could reach by taxi

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudiu_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuib also viewed

Sinaia, Prahova County
Sinaia, Prahova County
 
Sinaia, Prahova County
Sinaia, Prahova County
 
Sinaia, Prahova County
Sinaia, Prahova County
 

Been to Kuib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing