We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Citadel of Alba Iulia
from $50.53
More Info
from $72.99
More Info
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveler rating
493
105
17
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
493
105
17
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews at noon rent a bike roman times walk around guard change beautiful place romanian history star shaped union hall takes place catholic church couple of hours the main attraction guided tour citadel walls transylvania
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 616 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2016

A very beautiful place full of history,It was built shortly after the establishment of Habsburg domination in Transylvania. Built between 1715-1738, completely restored.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2016

The citadel is a must visit place in Transylvania.It was renovated and it looks great.It is a very nice place to spend the day.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Manda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

I have visited a few citadels @, but this is something else. An old 17th century citadel, re-builded from scratch. Risen from the earth. A must visit.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Andrei Mihai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016

I spent only one evening around the Citadel of Alba Iulia as I was on a tight schedule. The place was very well renovated and it one of the best landmarks I've seen in Romania. There are all kind of museums, restaurants and walkways around it. I regret not taking the time and visiting all the attractions inside. I was fortunate to catch the changing of the guard, a very nice show with drums and torches which ended with 3 very cool cannon firings. It's available each Friday and Saturday evening and in all week days at noon.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank sorinc509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2016

In Alba Iulia, from what ever side you come, you will end up at some entrance to the city citadel. Few years ago it is completely restored. Flowers, trees, history all around... Beautiful place worth seeing.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank lelujam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews