We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison de Caroline

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison de Caroline
Ranked #2 of 38 Alba Iulia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Charming, clean, and quiet with a very courteous staff who went out of their way to accommodate us for a second nights stay. The location is within walking distance of the 'old city' . It's a great place to stay -- and the showers are fantastic.

Room Tip: While all the rooms are lovely and well appointed, the ones facing the courtyard are sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marshagreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
13
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

And so little time. La masion de Caroline is a new hotel in Alba Iulia. It's an old house which was restored and redecorated while respecting its very own structure and heritage. The house and the court yard are very quiet and close to the fortress. It's very clean and the service was always at our service. :)

Room Tip: the rooms at the first floor have a balcony ( see pictures) and at the end of this balcony there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica_stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
219 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Another Transylvania tour. Decided to visit Alba Iulia after Sarmezegetusa Roman ruins. Would have gone straight to Sibiu but the Hilton was full as the Sibiu Jazz Festival was in play. But on Trip Advisor recommendation we visited La Maison. What a great experience, The courtyard was a super place to eat dinner. The meal was excellent with very attentive and experienced .staff. The hotel is a first class experience. Room was very large with separate room with sofa. Bathroom very clean and a power shower with all the different nozzles all over the place. The terrace area outside our room had a table and chairs. But the big surprise was that the Alba Iulia jazz festival was taking place with many acts staying in the hotel. We went to the square in the evening to see one of the acts and then visited the museum at midnight (traditional free openings). Alba Iulia itself is fascinating and we went back the next morning to see the Changing of the Guard and the various churches and sites. First class hote in a first class loacation..............

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This place is brand-new, mini-bars still to be installed ! The reception was extremely friendly by the manager, showed me the room if I liked it (if not, I could change), but it was a beautiful, big room. Very good bed, LCD television and modern bathroom (with some sort of jet shower; very nice). Air conditioning working perfectly !! Maybe one minor thing : lack of electricity outlets in the room. Private parking spots on-site (for around 4 cars max though). I got the directions for a very nice pizza place , yammie ! Breakfast is, as typical in Romania, on the poor side, although I was offered an omelette , very good !!
All in all, a place to stay at, I'll be back there ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BartBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alba Iulia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Transilvania
Hotel Transilvania
#1 of 7 in Alba Iulia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Apulum
Hotel Apulum
#2 of 7 in Alba Iulia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mariss
Hotel Mariss
#3 of 7 in Alba Iulia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marylou Pension
Marylou Pension
#1 of 38 in Alba Iulia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Medieval
Hotel Medieval
#3 of 38 in Alba Iulia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Preciosa
Vila Preciosa
#5 of 38 in Alba Iulia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de Caroline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Caroline

Property: La Maison de Caroline
Address: Strada Primaverii nr.11 ((former Rubin Patitia), Alba Iulia 501010, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Alba County > Alba Iulia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Alba Iulia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison de Caroline 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, great experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Maison de Caroline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison De Caroline Alba Iulia, Alba County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing