We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base for visiting Nazare”
Review of Hotel Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mare
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Nazare
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
514 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A good base for visiting Nazare”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We found this hotel through the internet and stayed here for 2 days in April, 2014.It was easy to find, especially given how confusing it can be to drive in Portuguese cities. We unloaded our luggage and were directed to free parking several blocks up hill. The hotel was basic, clean and quiet. It was a great location for walking around the city, visiting the beach and taking the funicular to Sitio. They have a breakfast room on the roof with incredible city views

Room Tip: Bring your camera to breakfast and take photos of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    165
    76
    12
    2
See reviews for
82
162
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We visit Nazare few weeks ago and wanted some place near town with average price and this one looked good.
The place was ok and the staff was very friendly, they allowed us to park in front of the hotel instead on normal parking is few blocks up on the hill.
The rooms were ok nothing great but clean and warm. The breakfast was not very impressive, could be much better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Could use some redecorating. Rooms were fine, non descript. Nothing stood out about this hotel.

They had a parking garage that you could use for 5 euro.

On the plus side they had a beautiful breakfast area with a rooftop view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street otherwise it will likely be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great place to stay at this charming village, now made known worldwide for surf in huge 30 foot waves.Staff were very helpfull and fun to share experiences, all major atractions not more than 10 minutes walking distance, must visit the lighthouse and if you're lucky presence surfing in huge waves ( October till February), ride up on the lift, visit the surfer's Mcnamara's shop and gallery were you can see the world record breakingbig wave surf board

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room, get the evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meslara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great location, staff are very friendly.
Breakfast was just okay though.
There are plenty of cafes and restaurants around.
The beach is just a step away.
I wish I could stay for a month here.

I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed one night excellent well located hotel, clean, with excellent smiling staff. The Porters for suitcases were women. Kind of embarrassing to watch them lug large suitcases. But did it with a smile. The hotel is 300 yards from the ocean and beach. A beautiful clean beach.
The small town is beautiful and welcoming.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing street with a view of the ocean from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. Nice clean rooms, great balcony which we loved. Nice and very Friendly helpful staff and a great breakfast. 3 streets from the best restaurant in Town "Maria do Mar". Don't miss it. You can see the ocean from the balcony. We would definitely stay here again. The walls are thin, but the WIFI is great compared to other places we stayed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelady201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazare hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar Sul
Hotel Miramar Sul
#1 of 10 in Nazare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miramar Hotel & SPA
Miramar Hotel & SPA
#2 of 10 in Nazare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar Bravo
Hotel Mar Bravo
#4 of 10 in Nazare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Praia
Hotel Praia
#6 of 10 in Nazare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adega Oceano
Adega Oceano
#5 of 10 in Nazare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solar dos Carvalhos
Solar dos Carvalhos
#7 of 10 in Nazare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mare

Property: Hotel Mare
Address: Rua Mouzinho de Albuquerque 10 | Apartado 11, Nazare 2450-255, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Nazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Nazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated less than 100 metres from the beach, Hotel Mare offers 46 rooms with balconies and free Wi-Fi. The breakfast room has panoramic views of the town and Atlantic Ocean.All the modern 46 rooms at Mare Hotel have cable TV and balconies. Each is equipped with air conditioning and has a private bathroom with a hairdryer.Guests can enjoy a range of water sports on the beach, including snorkelling, windsurfing and fishing. Free public parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Hotel Nazare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing