We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and lots of fun”
Review of Restaurante O Luis

Restaurante O Luis
Ranked #23 of 127 Restaurants in Nazare
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
pa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and lots of fun”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We very much enjoyed our meal here. We were surrounded by locals having a great evening out. The boat seafood platter looked fabulous but we chose the fish stew and pork and clams. Both were delicious, served piping hot . We tried the barnacles but its not something I would order again. Too much trouble to open and with little taste.
The service was very efficient and I would recommend it over any of the restaurants in the lower part of Nazare.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank extonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    94
    14
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good seafood”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great athmosfere and very good seafood. They have a lot of choices in terms of seafood. I tried robalo which was very good and dourada. My friends tried arroz de marisco and was tasty also but a litle bit messy to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood and service!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My favourite Portuguese meal so far!!

We especially enjoyed the atmosphere... Bustling with people but seemed to be many locals as there was no English-speakers in earshot the day we visited. Thankfully the waiters English was perfect and he was able to offer us a lot of help with the menu... he was honest in advising how much to order which was spot on and appreciated!

The seafood is fantastic - go for what is fresh on the day. We shared the sea bass noodles for two and it was amazing, and a huge serving for two!

We will be going back again at the first opportunity!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Sitio's Finest”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A few blocks from the Funicular, dinner at Restaurant O Luis topped off our short visit to Sitio. Bright, lively and friendly atmosphere, serving fresh local seafood, Restaurante O Luis is a great choice if you are staying in Nazare. Similar to most area restaurants, fresh fish, lobster and crab is available and priced per pound. We shared the lobster rice, which was prepared in a light but tasty seafood broth and cooked perfectly. The clams were serviced in the traditional style and delicious as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BYOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
578 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Very good seafood, friendly service”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We visited this restaurant based upon the strong recommendation in the Rick Steve's guidebook. The best part about the visit was actually the funicular ride up the hill and the amazing view of Nazare from above. Not to say that the restaurant was bad. Quite the contrary. Food was very good at O Luis. We splurged for a live lobster to have with rice in the local specialty dish that we found absolutely amazing. The dish was very good although not the best rendition we had in Nazare. Service was super friendly and fast. Good place for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwobkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Luis also viewed

 
Nazare, Leiria District
 

Been to Restaurante O Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing