We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“High quality villa with four double rooms and...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Velha

Large outdoor area on various levels
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large outdoor area on various levels
Outdoor dining area overlooking pool and vineyards beyond Upstairs lounge and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Large outdoor area on various levels
Outdoor dining area overlooking pool and vineyards beyond
Upstairs lounge and dining area
Fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar
Bedroom 1
Dining area
Downstairs lounge with TV, DVD and games
Upstairs lounge with log burning stove
Downstairs lounge with TV and DVD
Shaded area on lawn
Shaded pergola outside
Upstairs dining area looking out to balcony and upper patio
View from across valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Amarante, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DavidHUk
UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“High quality villa with four double rooms and heated pool”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As the title suggests, this is just what we were looking for. The 'doubles' are actually twins pushed together - but that works fine - each with an en-suite bathroom, two of which have walk-in showers and two of which have baths with showers over.

The highlights of this villa are the heated pool (a very comfortable 30 degrees during our stay) and the high standard of furniture and fittings. In particular, the poolside furniture is very smart, with eight loungers and four parasols; and the villa's interior design is beautifully thought out, including artworks by Susan (one of the proprietors) in most of the rooms. It has TV (with stocks of DVDs), wifi and a CD player. The upper floor has the kitchen, lounge/diner, two en suite bedrooms, and a separate WC, while on the lower floor are the other two en suite bedrooms and a second lounge. Outside there is a laundry room with washing machine.

Another highlight is that Susan and Paul, the proprietors who live next door (Graham is a 'silent' business partner whom you never meet), are very friendly and helpful. For instance, Sue got some shopping in before we arrived, so that we immediately had some snacks and drinks available on arrival. Sue and Paul can also give you plenty of useful information about the locality.

There are two outside eating areas, one of which, under a porch, is perfect for breakfast, and the other, under a parasol near the barbecue, is perfect for evening meal. They both have a view over the pool and indeed across the valley, which is very pleasant.

The villa does not have air conditioning, meaning that on hot nights, it's more comfortable to leave the windows open (they have a tilt facility) - so you may want to take mosquito 'zappers' and use insect repellent to avoid being bitten.

The villa's surroundings are attractive: the site is approached down a steep slope on the north side, is screened by trees (some distance away) on its east and west sides, and has a view of the other side of the valley (the River Olo) to the south. The site is terraced: if you call the area where you park level 1, then you walk down steps past garden/grounds on levels 2 and 3, then the villa is on levels 4 and 5, and the pool on level 6. This is not as arduous as perhaps it sounds, but it does mean that it would not be suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties. The overall feel of the site is of rural peace and seclusion - neither the villa nor the pool is overlooked - unlike the villas just up the road, which are in more suburban surroundings.

A drawback of being on a valley side is indeed the slope of the approach road: it is a fairly steep, cobbled, residential road, that you don't feel at all like walking back up. It's not the sort of location where you can go out for a stroll, so consequently we never explored Fridao, the village the villa is in.

However, we did explore Amarante, the local town a few miles away, and this is a gem. The road (the N312) from Fridao to Amarante brings you into a little square that has two or three very nice cafes and, almost hidden just off the square, the lovely Adega Regional Quelha restaurant. Leading off the square is a pretty little street that also has several good restaurants (e.g. the Lusitania, the Estoril and the Tasquinha) leading to the beautful Roman bridge over the River Tamega, which gives onto the equally beautiful Sao Goncalo square. This lively square is home to two excellent cafe bars, which are a great place to spend the late evening after dinner. Amarante is a large enough town to have other amenities, e.g. four supermarkets (Continente is the best) and four filling stations.

Amarante's best restaurant, however, is surely 1881 Cervejaria, currently only open on Friday and Saturday evenings. Susan told us about it and kindly booked a table for us - which is essential, as it has only six or seven tables, so booking is required. Service is slow, as everything is cooked to order, so settle in and allow two hours or more for dinner! It is in Rua Nova, off the N15, up the hill, near the health centre.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fabulous week at Casa Velha which enjoys a stunning location less than an hour from Porto. The villa was fully equipped and very comfortable with a fabulous pool and outside eating area, Our only regret was that we were not staying longer. Paul and Susan were perfect hosts, helpful and available without being intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HFamilyWe...
West Sussex, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent villa in relaxing and beautiful location”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is an excellent villa with amazing views of the countryside. It is just under an hour from Porto so it was a really easy journey and from the moment we arrived we were able to relax. The villa is very well equipped, immaculately clean and Susan and Paul are nearby and were incredibly helpful - providing a welcome pack for us on arrival (complete with food, wine and beer), showing us to a great restaurant on our first night and suggesting places for us to visit. We loved staying here and enjoyed both relaxing by the pool and seeing the nearby sights. All you need for a great holiday is within a short drive. There is so much to do within one hour or so of the villa including Braga, where we enjoyed both the old town and the modern shopping centres, Guimarães and the cable car and historical sites in Porto. Locally there is a mix of restaurants offering both traditional Portuguese and modern European cuisine. The villa offers privacy, peace and quite in a Portuguese community and Susan and Paul go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need, for example they purchased fans for us because we arrived during a heatwave.

We loved this villa and hope to return in the future. The whole booking process was easy and their communication prior to booking and before the holiday was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth S
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, relaxing”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful villa, lovely location and the owners, Sue and Mark, are lovely! Set over three levels with all amenities. Water, bread, butter, milk and a bottle of the best wine I've ever tasted waiting for you! Fully equipped villa. Ten of us in our party, four children six adults and it wasn't a squeeze! The two oldest slept on z beds as it is advertised as an eight bed. Sue even comes each morning to empty and clean the bbq! The best bit? A cake/bread van comes every morning.....!! This was our second year and we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extras, books games and on a wet day, Sue even bought over a1000 piece jigsaw!
Liked least: ........
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsH791
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Holiday Ever”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Without doubt, the most beautifully decorated and best equipped villa we have stayed in. Susan and Paul have thought of everything and it was a pleasure to stay in. The surrounding area was great to explore (trips to Porto and the Douro valley etc) but it was lovely just staying by the pool and relaxing. The kids also loved the water park in Amarante (but it can get very busy so get there early!).
We would definitely recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles T
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The photos do not do the villa justice. It is large and spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds! The owners, Sue and Paul live nearby and are really helpful (even speaking to the local baker before our arrival to check whether his produce was suitable for our nut-allergic children.) Speaking of the 'bread man', what an amazing added extra! He arrives each morning with an array of fresh baked bread and cakes at a fantastic price. To echo other reviewers, the villa is so peaceful and the children loved the pool so much, that we spent most of the week chilling out. Sue and Paul really have thought of everything to ensure a relaxing holiday and we had a wonderful week.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianread...
1 review
“Wow!”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just spent an amazing holiday at Casa Velha, our time there was so relaxing & certainly far from the maddening crowd.

The house, pool & gardens far exceeded our expectations; it is spacious, very well furnished & maintained, very clean & well stocked with everything you could possibly need during your stay. The daily visit by the local baker was perfect for sticking up on delicious bread & cakes

The owners Sue & Paul who live nearby were so helpful with recommendations, dinner reservations & even the loan of their sat nav when we went out exploring one day.

We had such a wonderful holiday we've already booked to return next year!

In summary an amazing rental property in a beautiful part of Portugal

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing