We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Velha

Large outdoor area on various levels
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large outdoor area on various levels
Outdoor dining area overlooking pool and vineyards beyond Upstairs lounge and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Large outdoor area on various levels
Outdoor dining area overlooking pool and vineyards beyond
Upstairs lounge and dining area
Fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar
Bedroom 1
Dining area
Downstairs lounge with TV, DVD and games
Upstairs lounge with log burning stove
Downstairs lounge with TV and DVD
Shaded area on lawn
Shaded pergola outside
Upstairs dining area looking out to balcony and upper patio
View from across valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Amarante, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth S
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, relaxing”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful villa, lovely location and the owners, Sue and Mark, are lovely! Set over three levels with all amenities. Water, bread, butter, milk and a bottle of the best wine I've ever tasted waiting for you! Fully equipped villa. Ten of us in our party, four children six adults and it wasn't a squeeze! The two oldest slept on z beds as it is advertised as an eight bed. Sue even comes each morning to empty and clean the bbq! The best bit? A cake/bread van comes every morning.....!! This was our second year and we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extras, books games and on a wet day, Sue even bought over a1000 piece jigsaw!
Liked least: ........
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsH791
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Holiday Ever”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Without doubt, the most beautifully decorated and best equipped villa we have stayed in. Susan and Paul have thought of everything and it was a pleasure to stay in. The surrounding area was great to explore (trips to Porto and the Douro valley etc) but it was lovely just staying by the pool and relaxing. The kids also loved the water park in Amarante (but it can get very busy so get there early!).
We would definitely recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles T
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The photos do not do the villa justice. It is large and spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds! The owners, Sue and Paul live nearby and are really helpful (even speaking to the local baker before our arrival to check whether his produce was suitable for our nut-allergic children.) Speaking of the 'bread man', what an amazing added extra! He arrives each morning with an array of fresh baked bread and cakes at a fantastic price. To echo other reviewers, the villa is so peaceful and the children loved the pool so much, that we spent most of the week chilling out. Sue and Paul really have thought of everything to ensure a relaxing holiday and we had a wonderful week.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianread...
1 review
“Wow!”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just spent an amazing holiday at Casa Velha, our time there was so relaxing & certainly far from the maddening crowd.

The house, pool & gardens far exceeded our expectations; it is spacious, very well furnished & maintained, very clean & well stocked with everything you could possibly need during your stay. The daily visit by the local baker was perfect for sticking up on delicious bread & cakes

The owners Sue & Paul who live nearby were so helpful with recommendations, dinner reservations & even the loan of their sat nav when we went out exploring one day.

We had such a wonderful holiday we've already booked to return next year!

In summary an amazing rental property in a beautiful part of Portugal

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our stay at 'Casa Velha' near Amarante. We were not sure what to expect as we had never been to northern Portugal before. We arrived following excellent instructions from the owners. The villa was amazing and Amarante was beautiful. Amarante is a beautiful traditional Portuguese town with friendly people. The villa had everything that we needed, BBQ, pool, every bedroom had an en-suite etc. it was immaculately clean and was very well looked after. The owners are close by and helped us to choose and book restaurants, nothing was too much trouble. The bread man comes everyday with fresh bread and there are supermarkets a 10 minute drive away. We did plan on going out more, but we loved the villa and setting so much we choose to stay in the villa and use the beautiful pool. We would recommend this to our friends and family and would defiantly return. If you want to be able to walk to the beach and want an English pub that serves English food then this is not the place for you. If you want great views, good food, nice people and a great place to stay then you will love it. We were looking to spend quality time as a family, parents, children and grandchildren and we were no disappointed. Thank you to Sue and Paul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C
1 review
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned from one of the best Holidays we have ever experienced. Certainly the best with our 4 young Children. Here's why

Casa Velha - is a wonderful Villa situated on the side of a hill in the Hills east of Porto. a river runs through the bottom of the valley and the villa looks out over to the other side of the valley where houses & vineyards are dotted. Its peaceful & beautiful. The villa itself is on terraces and a very good size whereby 10 of us survived very well for over a week without treading on each others toes. Each large bedroom has en-suite facilities and there are 2 living areas (one for the kids to watch TV & one for the adults to sit & read.
The kitchen is a good sized and the outside eating area is huge with a lovely balcony and massive table & chairs.

The bottom terrace was where we spent most of the time and the swimming pool was very large. We simply spent most of the week in & out of the pool with the children.

Before I go any further I mustn't forget the Baker. He comes every day around 10:30 delivered fresh baked bread - Fantastic!! - and not very expensive either

Finally our very friendly hosts Paul & Sue provided an exceptional level of service. any small problem in the house was dealt with almost immediately and when one of the children was ill (with a sore ear) they were extremely helpful.

The Weather was also great around 30 Degs everyday for the whole week (not guaranteed however!)

I recommend this House fully! and intend on returning in the not too distant future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool & Bakery
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector532
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We've just returned from a wonderful holiday here. The owners really have thought of everything; all mod cons, tastefully decorated and lots of beautiful artwork. Our teenage daughters spent nearly the whole week in the large pool. The villa enjoys beautiful views across the valley. The bread man visits daily with an array of freshly baked bread and cakes. The pretty town of Amarante is roughly a 15 minute drive away if you want cafes and restaurants. Susan and Paul live nearby and were very helpful and friendly but not at all intrusive. We would all highly recommend Casa Velha and hope to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing