We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Amarante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed in October 2013 and have meant to post a review since we got back! The hotel is wonderful and the service excellent. We too had a very dark room, and although we only asked to be moved to a brighter room, as we were staying 7 nights we were upgraded to a suite. It was palatial. The food was great and the sitting areas including the bar were welcoming. We tried a variety of port wines and really enjoyed the Rose. We would love to go back when time allows.

Room Tip: The corner suite with a view of the river is recommended
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay with us.
About the room being dark, we have alredy done some changes to all our rooms and we have increased the points of lights during those 20 days that we have been closed in January. Like that we have been able to resolve a problem / situation that already some of our clients complained about.
We hope that next time we welcome you we can show you this change and other changes that we have done to make sure we keep imporving the quality of our hotel and our service to our clients.

Looking forward welcomeing you really soon
The team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 626 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

From the moment you drive through the archway and up the drive to the hotel you get the feeling that the Casa da Calcada is something special...and once you reach the front door, things get even better!
We stayed here for the second time in October. After a four day Fleetway Travel break (excellent value) in December 2012 we were determined to return, this time independently, for two nights as part of a short break in Northern Portugal.
We were welcomed warmly, given help to park, and shown to a large room on the top floor with an enormous terrace overlooking the river and the old town. The room was traditionally furnished and fitted and very comfortable. The well-stocked bathroom was large and modern.
Downstairs were lots of nooks and crannies, furnished with antiques, perfect for a quiet drink. All so full of character.
Excellent meals were served in the elegant dining room, where the service was impeccable. The breakfast buffet offered juices, an impressive selection of fruits (I particularly enjoyed the poached pears), cereals, yogurts, cheeses, cold meats and fish, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages and fabulous artisan bread and preserves. A variety of teas and coffees were served.
Dinner was a sumptuous affair. We chose the table d'hote and it was absolutely delicious - couldn't fault it!
We were particularly impressed by the way the staff at Reception go out of their way to make sure guests get the most out of their stay in this beautiful area. We found the advice we were given on places to visit invaluable. We shall never forget an area of outstanding natural beauty, way off the beaten track, recommended by a very astute member of staff who noticed my ornithologist husband sported a pair of binoculars permanently around his neck. It was somewhere we would never have found on our own!
I do have a couple of tips for anyone staying at this fabulous hotel. Firstly, be sure to arrive at the front entrance by the bridge, not via the vineyards at the rear. Secondly, if outdoor swimming important to you (an outdoor pool is my idea of heaven) it is advisable to check the pool opening dates, as we were there at the very beginning of October when temperatures were in the mid twenties and I was very disappointed to find it was closed.
This is a really wonderful hotel and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who enjoys peaceful, elegant surroundings. My husband and I could not fault it - which was why we just had to return!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river and the town are fabulous.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLG324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you very much for your fantastic review about your stay with us.
We are really happy to know that we were able to "surpass" your expectations and that everything went so well in terms of service, gastronomy and "feel the Casa da Calçada way of service".
We hope to welcome you again really soon.

Best regards from all the team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I booked a Superior River View room, and WOW did we ever get a surprise. They gave us a room whose balcony which spanned an entire roof level. The town is very charming and you can take a splendid easy stroll across the bridge, around the church and take the steps down to the river. The restaurant on site has an excellent dinner service. Breakfast is just OK.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValueSeekerRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay.
Glad to hear that everything went so well.
In terms of the breakfast this is something that we are always trying to improve, but still to day, we haven't reached the 100% ok from our clients. Our breakfast is based in the local cusine, with local products and we try to scape as much as possible from the traditional continental or typical buffett breakfast.
We will continue improving it to make sure in a few months we reach the ok from the majority of our clients.

Thank you in advance for your time and hope to welcome you back in a near future.

The team at Casa da Calçada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The building is impressive and has a great view to the river. The staff is particularly nice and harmonious. The room was a bit dark but very comfortable the soap and gel had a good quality. They could give 2soaps instead of one... Having dinner at the restaurant is a very good experience. The level the the food is unexpectedly good, the service was impeccable. It was not the first time i stayed there and definitely not the last .

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with a river view
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margarida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014
Google Translation

Muito obrigado pelos seus comentários sobre a sua estadia na nossa casa.
Ficamos muito contentes por saber que tudo correu bem.
Sobre o quarto ser um bocado obscuro, já resolvemos esta situação. Colocamos mais iluminação em todos os quartos, visto que foi um comentário que muitos clientes nos disseram.

Ficamos a sua espera num futuro.

Toda a equipa da Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, there is little i can add to what has been said in other reviews. A truly wonderful hotel with friendly helpful staff. The hotel is ideally situated to explore amarante and the surrounding region

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerJim0745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback about your stay with us. I'm glad to know that we were able to deliver a fantastic stay for you.
We hope we can welcome you back again really soon.

Thank you in advance

Oriol Juve and all the Team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Like many other reviewers, we took advantage of the special offer on TravelZoo and stayed at the Casa de Calcada. Here are our quick tips for making this an unforgettable break:
1) The Hotel is wonderful. It's a former royal palace, quiet, and comfortable, and beautifully appointed. The staff are excellent and the food exquisite. What more could you want? Don't miss the dinner, and take a walk down the river.
2) Don't even consider doing this break without hiring a car. It's not a long drive from Porto Airport (about 50 mins) - but you will exhaust the attractions of Amarante in a couple of hours and you need to be able to explore.
3) Our regional highlights were:
**** The Park Natural do Alvao - a stunning national park about 50 minutes drive away. The landscape is very striking, the villages are throwbacks to the sixteenth century, and if you park for the Fisgas waterfall and take the mountain track it is a spectacular walk. We saw a family of wild ibex clearly grazing among the steep rocks!
*** From the Alvao Park drive to Santuario de Nossa Senhora de Graca - you will see it from the park - it is a church on the very top of a mountain. Follow signs to Mondim de Basto and then to the Santuario. The views from the top are to die for.
*** Porto - on the advice of the hotel we parked at the Hospital de Jiao and took the metro into town. It was an easy enough trip and they will probably give you the same instructions. There is enough in Porto for a comfortable day of sightseeing. Take the scenic cable car. Don't expect to do any shopping though. The shops are small and uninspiring.
*** The Douro Valley - we drove to Peso de Regua and then to Lamego (about an hour all done). In Lamego you can climb the 619 steps to the Nossa Senhora da Remedios - a tiring but rewarding climb. There are river boat trips in Regua. And the river valley is impressive. And there are vineyards to visit.
**** finally - not on any brochures that we can find - on the N101 road towards Regua - not many miles from Amarante - you will pass a brown sign saying (something like) 'Parc Archeologico.' The road leads to some wonderfully unspoiled villages and walks.

All said - this is a perfect destination for a short break. Just don't forget the car!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a river view!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank JWIronmonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay.
We are really glad to know that you really enjoyed the whole Amarante and Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux experience.
We are always mentioning to our clients that is better to hire a car, but there is excellent bus transportation from Amarante to Porto and only takes 45 minutes.

Thank you in advance for your feedback and hope that we can welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards

Oriol Juve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked a three night bed and breakfast break through travelzoo and paid £169pp including flights, which turned out to be an absolute bargain.

The hotel is a beautiful building with lovely communal areas, the roof terrace with pool (closed, sadly as we stayed in November) would have been gorgeous in summer, and the staff were incredibly polite, friendly and helpful.

Our room was very spacious and well equipped - twin beds, which although pushed together were made up separately, so not quite as romantic as one had hoped - but other than that, no complaints. The local town is also very pretty and we found an excellent cafe overlooking the river, an excellent place to eat pastel de nata and chat to the shop owner about football, as it turns out!

The restaurant served some of the best food we've ever eaten, and loads of extra courses served too. The puddings we had weren't quite at the same level as the first two courses, but overall really very good. The cocktails before dinner were well mixed (and reasonably priced!) and the sparkling wine made from the vineyard on the roof terrace was lovely.

Overall, we had a fabulous break here and were very sorry to leave. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a bit of r & r in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elly_Virgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for considering your stay with us a WONDERFUL BREAK.
We are extremly happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us and that the whole experience was fantastic.
I hope we can welcome you again soon and this time with a better "pudding experience"

Thank you from all the team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amarante
4.3 mi away
Monverde Hotel
Monverde Hotel
#2 of 4 in Amarante
243 reviews
11.6 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Navarras Hotel
Navarras Hotel
#4 of 4 in Amarante
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Quinta da Cruz
10.4 mi away
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
#1 of 1 in Mondim de Basto
774 reviews
17.2 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux

Address: Largo do Paco, 6 | Amarante, Amarante 4600-007, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Amarante
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Amarante
Price Range: $150 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lemon yellow façades of the Casa da Calçada are a clue to the sunny stay that awaits you at this hotel. Situated at the heart of the town of Amarante, between the bustle of Porto and the sun‑dappled countryside of the Douro Valley (both less than 40 minutes away), this hotel with its golden interiors is a favourite with those who love beauty, golfers (there is a splendid 18-hole course nearby) and fans of great food and wines. The Largo do Paco Restaurant, awarded with the famous 1* Michelin Restaurant, is waiting for you to show you the high Portuguese gatronomy. The proposed visit to the region’s best wine “quintas” will ensure that you never forget the differences between Tawny, Ruby, White or Vintage Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Calcada Amarante
Casa Da Calcada Hotel Amarante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing