We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Amarante
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just visited the patio for a quick drink but wanted to send a review as I did get to look around a bit and what a lovely place to stay! The town is small but adorable and this place is just lovely. I drove up and the hotel manager was kind enough to allow us to come in to just have a cocktail at the bar and even took care of my car for me. Not being guests, I didn't expect that kindness. I did look at staying here but wanted something a bit further down the Douro Vallley. I would definitely not pass up staying here again though!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_HeidiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback
I'm glad you got a good impression about our hotel even though you only experienced the bar.
At Casa da Calçada we always like to help all our guests, staying with us or not and It was a pleasure helping you to park your car.
I hope that we can welcome you again in a near future.
Casa da Calçada is only 30 minutes from Porto and 40 minutes from the Douro River. We think that is the perfect place to discover the North part of Portugal.

Best regards from all the Team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    91
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
88
366
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent two lovely days at this high class hotel with very friendly, helpful and attentive staff.Pity the hotel air conditioning couldn't handle the heat and our suite's aircon was very noisy.We were moved to another room and provided with a fan on request.Pool and gardens was a blessing.Noise from across the street is disturbing when one is forced to open windows due to non functioning of air conditioning systems.

Room Tip: Suite #204 not recommended for holiday.Study not required
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wicus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our hotel.
First of all I'm glad to know that your stay was a success and that you enjoyed the region.
Concerning the AirCon situation, as it was in all news, we have had a Heat Wave (something unexpected and something that we can't control) where we reached temperatures of over 45º Celsius. With this heat, no AirCon is able to perform properly. Hospitals nearby, 6 in total, had exactly the same problem (also seen on the news).

We have our maintenance team working for 48 hours to make sure we resolved the problem. We had to change 2 engines and we had to set up an innovative refrigeration system to cool down the AirCons. Unfortunately it took longer than expected, but 48 hours later we manage to had a full functioning AirCon. We explained the situation to all our clients, and we provided, when needed, cooler rooms (without many windows) to avoid the heat. We also bought (myself) some fans that we distributed all over the hotel, and in the rooms from the clients that requested one.
This is a one of a kind situation, but I truly believe that the team at Casa da Calçada performed extremely well to make sure our clients suffered the least.
From all the Casa da Calçada team we would like to apologize for this situation, that was out of our reach and control.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future, in a colder month (February to June / September to December).

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in this lovely old hotel for 3 nights in May at the beginning of our European holiday and it was the ideal place to stay after long flights from home. The hotel is very comfortable and up to date but provides the special environment that comes from having catered for guests over many years. The staff were unfailingly friendly and were able to give us detailed advice on what to do and how to do it. We were there during a spell of unseasonably cold weather so were unable to fully appreciate the swimming pool and the lovely terrace looking over the river to the old town.
We found this a good place for visiting Porto as there is an excellent bus service into the city centre only a 15 minute walk from the hotel.
Altogether a hotel that provided us with a great start to our holiday and now that we are home, a very pleasant memory.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our property.
I'm really happy to know that we were able, despite the weather, to give you a great holiday in our beautiful town and house.
As you said, the location of our hotel, is perfect for the people willing to get to know the area, Douro , Porto, Braga and Guimaraes! It is well connected by highway and also by bus.
I hope to welcome you again soon in a near future.

Thank you for all the team at Casa da Calçada.
Oriol Juve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a lovely few days in Amarante at Casa De Calcada. The hotel is beautiful and service very attentive. They arranged a great day tour of the Douro Valley on very short notice. The pool and gardens provided a great retreat. The room was large and very good but should have had better lighting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our house.
We are glad to know that we were able to make your stay "great".
Thank you also for your comment about the lighting. You are not the first client saying that and this is something that we will improve when we do our annual closing in January 2014.
Hope that next time that you visit us this situation will be resolved.

From all the team at Casa da Calçada thank you very much
Oriol Juve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights and have nothing but praise for the hotel, room, breakfast, restaurant ( very fine dining) roof gardens, pool and location. Reception staff very helpful with useful suggestions and you genuinely felt that they were there to serve YOU. Thoroughly recommended. P.S. Even the air conditioning worked quietly and efficiently - unlike so many hotel rooms I've stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the5minuteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay!

We are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed it so much and that everything went perfectly well!

Hope that we can welcome you again soon to continue discovering the region (Amarante, Braga, Guimaraes, Porto and the Douro Region).

Best regards from all the team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We went with fleetway travel on a very good value for money trip, the hotel is delightful, and the rooms very comfortable, with every thing you need bar early morning tea making facilities a minor blip in a very co for table hotel. Should you choose this hotel on any booking system you would have an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallybamford700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment about your stay in our House.
We are delighted to know that we were able to make your "short break" an unforgettable one!
We hope to welcome you again in a near by future.
FleetWay is one of our agents in the UK. They are extremely professionals and they really take care of everything for their clients.

Best regards from all the team at Casa da Calçada.

Oriol Juve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spent a wonderful 4 nights here - you will not be disappointed. Top tip do not wait until your last night to try the Restaurant as it is beyond doubt the best dining experience you will have and great value. As per other reviews, the comfort, style and setting make for a very decadent stay - enjoy!

Room Tip: We had the entry level room 301 which was a great size with an extremely comfortable bed, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brenflem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment about your stay.
I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed it so much, the hotel and the restaurant.
The room that you mention, 301 is one of our executive rooms (entry level). Beautiful decor, really good size, but it doesn't have any views.
We look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Best regards from all the Team at Casa da Calçada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amarante
11.6 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Quinta da Cruz
4.3 mi away
Monverde Hotel
Monverde Hotel
#2 of 4 in Amarante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Navarras Hotel
Navarras Hotel
#4 of 4 in Amarante
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
15.9 mi away
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
#1 of 19 in Guimaraes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux

Property: Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Address: Largo do Paco, 6 | Amarante, Amarante 4600-007, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Amarante
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Amarante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lemon yellow façades of the Casa da Calçada are a clue to the sunny stay that awaits you at this hotel. Situated at the heart of the town of Amarante, between the bustle of Porto and the sun‑dappled countryside of the Douro Valley (both less than 40 minutes away), this hotel with its golden interiors is a favourite with those who love beauty, golfers (there is a splendid 18-hole course nearby) and fans of great food and wines. The Largo do Paco Restaurant, awarded with the famous 1* Michelin Restaurant, is waiting for you to show you the high Portuguese gatronomy. The proposed visit to the region’s best wine “quintas” will ensure that you never forget the differences between Tawny, Ruby, White or Vintage Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Calcada Amarante
Casa Da Calcada Hotel Amarante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing