We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Amarante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in this lovely old hotel for 3 nights in May at the beginning of our European holiday and it was the ideal place to stay after long flights from home. The hotel is very comfortable and up to date but provides the special environment that comes from having catered for guests over many years. The staff were unfailingly friendly and were able to give us detailed advice on what to do and how to do it. We were there during a spell of unseasonably cold weather so were unable to fully appreciate the swimming pool and the lovely terrace looking over the river to the old town.
We found this a good place for visiting Porto as there is an excellent bus service into the city centre only a 15 minute walk from the hotel.
Altogether a hotel that provided us with a great start to our holiday and now that we are home, a very pleasant memory.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our property.
I'm really happy to know that we were able, despite the weather, to give you a great holiday in our beautiful town and house.
As you said, the location of our hotel, is perfect for the people willing to get to know the area, Douro , Porto, Braga and Guimaraes! It is well connected by highway and also by bus.
I hope to welcome you again soon in a near future.

Thank you for all the team at Casa da Calçada.
Oriol Juve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 643 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a lovely few days in Amarante at Casa De Calcada. The hotel is beautiful and service very attentive. They arranged a great day tour of the Douro Valley on very short notice. The pool and gardens provided a great retreat. The room was large and very good but should have had better lighting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our house.
We are glad to know that we were able to make your stay "great".
Thank you also for your comment about the lighting. You are not the first client saying that and this is something that we will improve when we do our annual closing in January 2014.
Hope that next time that you visit us this situation will be resolved.

From all the team at Casa da Calçada thank you very much
Oriol Juve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights and have nothing but praise for the hotel, room, breakfast, restaurant ( very fine dining) roof gardens, pool and location. Reception staff very helpful with useful suggestions and you genuinely felt that they were there to serve YOU. Thoroughly recommended. P.S. Even the air conditioning worked quietly and efficiently - unlike so many hotel rooms I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the5minuteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay!

We are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed it so much and that everything went perfectly well!

Hope that we can welcome you again soon to continue discovering the region (Amarante, Braga, Guimaraes, Porto and the Douro Region).

Best regards from all the team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We went with fleetway travel on a very good value for money trip, the hotel is delightful, and the rooms very comfortable, with every thing you need bar early morning tea making facilities a minor blip in a very co for table hotel. Should you choose this hotel on any booking system you would have an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallybamford700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment about your stay in our House.
We are delighted to know that we were able to make your "short break" an unforgettable one!
We hope to welcome you again in a near by future.
FleetWay is one of our agents in the UK. They are extremely professionals and they really take care of everything for their clients.

Best regards from all the team at Casa da Calçada.

Oriol Juve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spent a wonderful 4 nights here - you will not be disappointed. Top tip do not wait until your last night to try the Restaurant as it is beyond doubt the best dining experience you will have and great value. As per other reviews, the comfort, style and setting make for a very decadent stay - enjoy!

Room Tip: We had the entry level room 301 which was a great size with an extremely comfortable bed, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brenflem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment about your stay.
I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed it so much, the hotel and the restaurant.
The room that you mention, 301 is one of our executive rooms (entry level). Beautiful decor, really good size, but it doesn't have any views.
We look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Best regards from all the Team at Casa da Calçada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights on a Fleetway deal! Such a beautiful place! Loved the area too! The breakfast was plentiful and always fresh! We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant in the evening as we were not overly impressed with the menu for the price! If I had to gripe it would be that we paid for an upgrade and it seems many people are given these free of charge! However our room was lovely, and we wouldn't hesitate in recommended this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenjaneHaroldWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our hotel.
We are really glad to know that everything was great, from the room to the breakfast.
About the upgrade, depending on the offer with our partners we have, sometimes, free upgrade when we have availability, but our normal procedure is to apply a small fee if the client wants to get a even better view.
In terms of the restaurant, sorry to hear that you didn't had the chance to try it. Our weekly menus starts at 25 Euros per person (3 dishes) and we have degustation menus starting at 70 Euros per person (no drinks). In terms of value for money we truly believe that our restaurant, Largo do Paço, is one of the best in Portugal.

We hope to welcome you in a future and hope that you will be able to enjoy our gastronomy.

Thank you in advance from all the team at Casa da Calçada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved it, even though the weather was terrible and most of Amarante was shut because of a national holiday. As soon as we walked in after a stressful journey (the roads leading to the hotel are closed after 5:00PM in the summer) we were welcomed perfectly and we started to relax. The restaurant is exceptional, we ate there both nights, trying out the tasting menus and I would recommend the shorter one especially. You can even get a lovely afternoon tea for 5EUR per person. For a luxury treat we cannot praise the hotel high enough and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth paying a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithC894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our hotel and for the meals that you had in our Michelin Star Restaurant.
Unfortunately, weather, is still one of the things that we can't control in our area. Normally January and February are the wet months, but still with rain, the northern part of Portugal is a beautiful are with plenty of things to visit and discover - Porto / Braga / Guimaraes / Douro Region and many other places.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed so much that you are planning already to come back in a future.

Thank you again
From all the Team at Casa da Calçada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amarante
4.3 mi away
Monverde - Wine Experience Hotel
11.6 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
446 reviews
10.4 mi away
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
#1 of 1 in Mondim de Basto
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Quinta da Cruz
0.2 mi away
Navarras Hotel
Navarras Hotel
#4 of 4 in Amarante
130 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux

Address: Largo Paco 6 | Amarante, Amarante 4600-032, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Amarante
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Amarante
Price Range: $133 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lemon yellow façades of the Casa da Calçada are a clue to the sunny stay that awaits you at this hotel. Situated at the heart of the town of Amarante, between the bustle of Porto and the sun‑dappled countryside of the Douro Valley (both less than 40 minutes away), this hotel with its golden interiors is a favourite with those who love beauty, golfers (there is a splendid 18-hole course nearby) and fans of great food and wines. The Largo do Paco Restaurant, awarded with the famous 1* Michelin Restaurant, is waiting for you to show you the high Portuguese gatronomy. The proposed visit to the region’s best wine “quintas” will ensure that you never forget the differences between Tawny, Ruby, White or Vintage Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Calcada Amarante
Casa Da Calcada Hotel Amarante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing