We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Amarante
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This really is somewhere special. You'll start to sense this as you drive through the splendid entrance to the front of the hotel and everything inside lives up to the promise that the entrance suggests. Attentive, helpful reception staff and attractively furnished public areas. There's a fine terrace overlooking the river, good for afternoon tea or evening drinks. The hotel backs onto a steep hill so that the swimming pool is set in a garden to the rear of the hotel and accessed from the back of the fourth floor! Above the garden and further back is the vineyard which produces the grapes for the hotel's own label 'green' (=whjite) wine.

We had a very fine suite overlooking the river. Very comfortable bed.

the buffet style breakfast is good.

We used the hotel as a base to explore the local area: Douro valley, the wonderful Alvao national park and the town of Amarante itself.

No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

One practical hint: you may find that your sat nav doesn't recognise 'Largo do Paco'. Try Av. General Silveira (don't use the English spelling for Avenue). This get you direct to the hotel avoiding very narrow streets. At the end of Av General Silveira the hotel is on your right but you will have to look behind you to see it.




fulfils the promise of the outWe stayed at the Casa da Calcada in mid-May and were blessed with such fine weather that the hotel filled the swimming pool ahead of time so we could enjoy a bracing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorfolkArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our "house".
We are really happy to know that we exceeded your expectations.
Thank you very much for the pointer about the Sat Nav. This is something important, since not all the Sat Nav are updated with the latest information.
Once you get to Amarante and once you are in front of the famous stone bridge from Amarante, the hotel and indicated in this "feedback" will be behind you!

We look forward welcoming you back

From all the team at Casa da Calçada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    94
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
90
375
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just spent two nights here to celebrate my husband's birthday. Let me say straight away that we had a wonderful stay... and the only reason I have given this hotel 4 stars is that the check-in and check-out were not brilliant and I would have expected tighter service at a Relais and Chateaux destination. I would have gone for 4.5 stars if this were poss!
After a less than smooth check-in (we were not given a double-bedded room as requested and so had to change - although I can't complain as we were then given a stunning room with an amazing terrace overlooking the river) we went to our beautiful room. All dark woods and a very majestic bed. The terrace had a perfect view of the town and would have been wonderful to spend time on if only the weather had been better. The hotel's own Sparkling wine arrived shortly after our arrival as this was part of the package ... a fabulous touch and thoroughly enjoyed as we stood on our terrace feeling terribly regal!
On our first night we dined in the very special restaurant in the hotel. We opted for the degustation and were not disappointed. Unfortunately it was a totally new menu and so the english translation had not yet been printed but the staff (including the incredibly helpful and ever smiling GM Oriel Juve who was truly the perfect host) did their best to translate some of the more difficult gourmet words for us! What followed was a real treat... course after course of impeccably presented and amazing tasting food along with matching wines that it appeared the sommelier was deciding on for the first time that night.
Breakfast at the hotel was superb... and served by incredibly helpful waitresses. And yes, we did manage breakfast even after the 10 courses or so the night before.
Common areas of the hotel are beautiful - all dark wood and very very elegant. It has huge gardens and a vineyard at the back but sadly we didn't explore much as the weather was drizzley... next time perhaps...
Again check out wasn't so smooth. We were asked for the umbrella back which the hotel had lent, I said it was in the room and the receptionist asked me to go back to the room to get it. She didn't take my word for it that it was there and indeed didn't offer to send someone to the room to collect it. Of course we went and bought it back down... but this is not what I would have expected at a hotel of this calibre. Just a little hiccup, but shows up the creases. Just generally felt the reception staff were not as well trained as the rest of the hotel's staff.
All in all I would definitely recommend a stay here, its a perfect place for a romantic getaway or a special event, and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: try and get a room overlooking the river as the view is wonderful if on a rainy day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay.
I appreciate very much your comments on where we can improve to make sure next time you visit us you have the perfect experience.
I would like to say that one of the things that I'm most proud of at Casa da Calçada is the team I have. They are incredible professional and I can guarantee you that they will do anything it take to make sure they find out the answer for any question our guest has.
About your disappointment about the procedure for the umbrella, I have to say that this is absolutely not our standard. I have already spoken to the team about that to make sure this is a one time thing.
I would like to clarify that we have implemented a new procedure for the umbrellas and this procedure wasn't clear enough for the team. Now with your comments and suggestion we will be able to make it better to make sure we don't spoil our clients stay in a future.

I hope that we can welcome you again really soon.

From all the team at Casa da Calçada, thank you very much on trusting your short break with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frittenden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for four nights on a short break with Fleetway Travel. we had a hire car and drove to Amarante about 80 kilometres from Porto. the hotel is very relaxing. Our first room was very nice but overlooked the side street. We asked for a room overlooking the river which we got after two nights without any fuss. Amarante is a quiet village but it is easy to go up the Druro Valley from. we got a bus into Porto for a day and that saved all the hassle of parking. the hotel reception was extremely helpful with ideas for trips out and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. we did not eat in the Michelin starred restaurant because we did note find the menu very appealing, but others we spoke to enjoyed it. The breakfast was very good. There are a number of other restaurants within easy walking distance to have dinner and are very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaFrittenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our beautiful house.
We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our hotel well located to get to know the region - Porto, Guimaraes, Braga and the Douro region.
We really hope to welcome you again in a future.

Thank you from all the Team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
353 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Got an excellent value for money 5 night deal through Fleetway Travel. The hotel is in a superb location, just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Amarante. It oozes class, and is obviously very well maintained. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and our room (sorry, can't remember the number) was an excellent size and overlooked the river and the old town opposite. Not a lot too see in Amarante (a longish half day would cover the sites), but it's a great place to just stroll around.

Breakfast was good, without being stupendous, but with plenty of variety. Our budget didn't run to eating in the restaurant in the evenings, but there's a few cheaper eateries in the town.

We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soul_man_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Good evening and thank you very much for your fantastic feedback about your stay in our hotel and in Amarante.
I'm really happy to know that you considered our hotel a GEM.
Amarante is a small city and with 1/2 a day you can really see almost everything. There is a beautiful museum, Sousa Cardoso and there are plenty of "Romanic" monuments.
Excellent place to walk and enjoy the nature.
We really hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards from all the team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night break at this lovely hotel in Amarante which is about 40 mile east of Porto. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. All of them went out of their way to be helpful without being obtrusive. A real credit to to the hotel and it's management..
The rooms were spacious and furnished in a rich traditional style. Both breakfast and the one evening we had a taster gourmet meal was excellent. Since the weather was excellent the swimming pool/garden area was a joy to sit and relax.
The only minor criticisms are that in room 203 the hot water took an age to fill the bath and that the shower pressure could be better. Also a tea and coffee making facility would be particularly welcoming.
Whilst a car is useful to tour the area buses are available to nearby towns/cities including Porto, the bus station being a 10-15 min walk away.
All in all a great place, both the hotel and the town, to chill out, relax, enjoy good food and sample the local atmosphere.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petebuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our charm hotel.
We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and in the area.
About the comments about the pressure in your shower and the hot water, I have already passed the comments to our maintenance team for them to verify this situation. This is something that is really unusual for our hotel. Thank you for letting us know.
About the Tea Facilities, you are not the first client asking for that, but it has been our own decision not to provide this in the room, to avoid certain accidents that happened in the past.
Also is important to mention that in our bar, that is open from Morning to Evening we serve a fantastic English Tea with Scones for 5 Euros per person.

We hope to welcome you back again in a near future.

Best regards
The Whole Team at Casa da Calçada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during May for 4 nights on a Fleetway travel arranged package. The hotel is set in a picturesque setting by the the river Tamega a tributary of the Douro. All aspects of the Hotel are excellent, our room was 303 and it looked over the lovely stone bridge in the centre of Amarante. Due to our planned schedule of trying to fit in as much as possible we only ate only once at dinner in the hotel , slightly in the nouveau cuisine style but it was superb together with compliments from the chef in between courses. Together with a bottle of very nice local wine the cost was around £100 for two people , which due to the excellence of the food and the first class service was well worth it indeed. The rooms are spacious, quiet,and fashioned in a rich elegant style and come with everything excepting perhaps the ability to make yourself a cup of tea or coffee in the early hours or late at night. The beds were very comfortable and made traditionally rather than in the modern duvet style and although I suffer from arthritis in the back I slept very well indeed. Breakfast was self service full of lovely fresh cut fruits cheeses cereals and I believe you could order anything not presented, if required . Special mention to Eugenie who was like a busy bee in the breakfast room but who always had a friendly smile and was always there to help you if required. We had to have a very early start one morning and the Hotel arranged a continental breakfast set up just for us which was very adequate. As this was early May the pool area was just being commissioned but it looked a very nice quiet area to relax. Indeed this Hotel is all about luxurious relaxation and it is perfect for those looking to explore the region or just to sit back and read a book. It would not really be suitable for very young adults looking for late night entertainment. Amarante is some 40 km from Oporto by bus which takes around 45 -60 mins. The nearest train station of any use is Penafiel which is about 10km away down the ip4 but the station is not in the town but some 4km from it , again 40-50 mins by train. Although I am an experienced European driver I found Oporto not for the faint hearted and I suggest that a GPS fitted vehicle would be an advantage as this will save time. Overall an excellent base to explore the upper DOURO and somewhere where we have very fond memories . We would go back tomorrow given the chance !!! Just a helpful hint make sure you obtain accurate directions to the Hotel before arriving at Amarante as it can be quite tricky to locate the right access road , if in doubt phone the Hotel who will be extremely helpful in any way before and during your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Good evening and thank you very much for your fantastic comment about your stay in our hotel, Casa da Calçada and our region.
We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay so much, not only in terms of our hotel, but also restaurant and staff (I will inform Eugenia about your fantastic comment).
Casa da Calçada is the perfect place for you to get to know the Douro and Porto Region. I'm glad to see that you where able to visit a lot of things and get to know the are and the Portuguese way.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Thank you in advance from all the Team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The views from this hotel are magical.Hotel staff are professional and helpful.The restaurant is very good and has a Michelin rosette.Rooms are spacious with high ceilings and comfortable furnishings.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for a view of the river if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our hotel.
We are really happy to know that your stay was fantastic and we hope to welcome you soon.
As you mention, we always recommend our clients to get one of our Luxury, Luxury Superior Rooms or Suites (the price difference is not much) to enjoy a great view over Amarante, the gardens and the city.

Thank you again for your time.

Best regards
Oriol Juve and the whole team at Casa da Calçada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amarante
4.3 mi away
Monverde Hotel
Monverde Hotel
#2 of 4 in Amarante
209 reviews
11.6 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
408 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Quinta da Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Navarras Hotel
Navarras Hotel
#4 of 4 in Amarante
116 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
15.9 mi away
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
#2 of 19 in Guimaraes
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux

Property: Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Address: Largo do Paco, 6 | Amarante, Amarante 4600-007, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Amarante
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Amarante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lemon yellow façades of the Casa da Calçada are a clue to the sunny stay that awaits you at this hotel. Situated at the heart of the town of Amarante, between the bustle of Porto and the sun‑dappled countryside of the Douro Valley (both less than 40 minutes away), this hotel with its golden interiors is a favourite with those who love beauty, golfers (there is a splendid 18-hole course nearby) and fans of great food and wines. The Largo do Paco Restaurant, awarded with the famous 1* Michelin Restaurant, is waiting for you to show you the high Portuguese gatronomy. The proposed visit to the region’s best wine “quintas” will ensure that you never forget the differences between Tawny, Ruby, White or Vintage Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Calcada Amarante
Casa Da Calcada Hotel Amarante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing