We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice, quiet - the best hotel in Halden”
Review of Thon Hotel Halden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Halden
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Halden
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel seems to be in quite new condition and the rooms I've had have been quiet 9 out of 10 times. In the rooms next to the "busiest" road you can hear the buses, but that has not bothered me. The busyness is in quotes since that Halden is generally a quiet place with little of traffic and this is not one of the most travelled roads.

Wifi has also worked about 90 % of the times I've been to the hotel, I guess that time with poor functionality it was about my room location that the wifi-reception was just bad.

For me the service has always been proper and I have no complaints. Also the beds are good and the rooms are decent.

The breakfast seems okay, not the best, but you can always find something to get your day started. The price of the breakfast feels high compared to what you get, but in Norway everything is expensive and I do not see that you have much other options here.

When eating in the evening, the restaurant of the hotel is good, but it does not give the best value for your money compared to the other restaurants found in town. But if you are looking for a modern place to eat, this is actually the most modern restaurant you can find in the town.

A small minus side is also that the hotel does not have his own parking facilities, so if you park your car here during the day, you have to pay for it and use the places provided by the town.

Room Tip: The only rooms with scenery are towards the sea (Langbrygga side). The rooms are more noisy on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaabriel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 192 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Perfect location, nice room with a large bathroom. No view from our room. But:
- bad breakfast with NO fresh bread one hour before closing
- service at breakfast was unpolite and not responsive
- no shampoo or soap in the bathroom, forgotten?
- extremely unpolite reception, unable to advice on local attractions, and irritated on me asking. no "welcome" no "hadebra" when we left. I have never seen something like this before.
This is not acceptable at the current price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brillupsgjester2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

A modern, smart and spotlessly clean hotel on the water's edge at Halden. Our room was on the small side and faced the small courtyard, however, the price we paid for our room was low and, no doubt, if we had paid more, we could have had a room facing the harbour. The bathroom was very large. Breakfast was good in the restaurant overlooking the harbour which was delightful. A pleasant stay.

Room Tip: depending on how much you want to spend, try and obtain a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW-Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The room was clean and nice, but we had to change rooms because there were young people who party in the rooms next to us. They went back and forth between the rooms .. there were many who had a party. Breakfast was not the best I had tasted. Below Average.

The hotel is located right in the center of Halden.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A (simple) but very nice and smart hotel in the heart of Halden. Service is very good - small but perfect breakfast - and the staff in the restaurant (view overall seaview) are fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for seeview if available - it is not many feet to the see from the room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainboyGeilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

A pleasant hotel near the marina in central Halden. It is relatively new and has a good standard in rooms and cleanliness. The breakfast buffet is quite large and diverse despite it being a smaller hotel. Downside: In the two times I stayed here, I got a room facing the inner courtyard with a view of a large generator/air handling system. Also, when asking for an iron and ironing board, one is shown to a storage room on the main floor instead of being able to do this in one's room.

Room Tip: Windows of Inner-facing rooms are blocked by a large generator. Norway is dark enough in the winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamonty_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The hotel is beautifully located by the harbour, a few minutes walk from the train station. My room was quite spacious, with a big bathroom, though without bathtub. The room had views of the back of the building, and directly into other rooms. I imagine the harbour view is a lot better. Comfortable beds, though in twin setup, very narrow. Good breakfast (the dining room is the next door Big Horn Steakhouse) with the most common selections. For dinner options in the hotel, the receptionist informed me that I would get 10% off the Big Horn Steakhouse menu, as they didn't have their own restaurant.

Room Tip: Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halden
0.3 mi away
Fredriksten Hotell
Fredriksten Hotell
#2 of 6 in Halden
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Halden
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#4 of 6 in Halden
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Stromstad Spa & Resort
Stromstad Spa & Resort
#2 of 4 in Stromstad
1,116 reviews
14.7 mi away
Scandic Laholmen
Scandic Laholmen
#1 of 4 in Stromstad
302 reviews
17.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Fredrikstad
Quality Hotel Fredrikstad
#1 of 6 in Fredrikstad
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Halden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Halden

Address: Langbrygga 1, Halden 1767, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Ostfold > Halden Municipality > Halden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Halden
Price Range: $158 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Halden 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thon Hotel Halden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing