We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but too many mosquitos”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Enna
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel but too many mosquitos”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel overnight on our travel from the Western to the Eastern coast of Sicily. The room was spacious and clean. The restaurant is ok but mainly for meat (don't bother to order sea food - it's all frozen).
The swimming pool is ok but the water was too hilly for kids to enjoy.
Mind that the hotel is located next to the lake and the place is full of mosquitos, flies, bees, etc. you will be offered anti repellents of course but never ever open windows!!!!!
Minor problem is the usual Sicilian laziness of staff unwilling to do anything at all but maybe it was just too hot....

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
14
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I'm not one to write reviews and to be fair the hotel rooms, and bathrooms were quite large and clean by Italian standards. The food was quite good as well. There were some significant problems. We were there in middle June of 2013 and Sicily is quite warm with few trade winds to cool the place. So after a long day of sightseeing and hiking around we returned in the late afternoon to find the air conditioning was not working. They informed us that they would not turn it on until 7 pm. The room was an oven until that time. Our stay lasted 3 days and we avoided any attempts to relax in the room while there. This appears to be a family owned establishment and the apparent padrone is an elderly man with a rather unpleasant presentation, at least toward me when I asked for A/C.

Additionally the place appears to rely on a business in catering large parties as most rooms appeared empty during this busy season and the dinning room is extremely large. We were unfortunate to be there on a Saturday night and were looking forward to a night of rest after a busy day but they had two parties catered that day and we got very little sleep until late that evening.

In short it is a large and clean place but if you expect comfort and sleep, find another location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed three nights in this friendly lakeside hotel just outside Enna, and loved it. We chose it for ease of parking, and were very thankful we had, once we had driven into the steep narrow streets of Enna itself. The hotel is actually located in the nearby resort of Pergusa, overlooking a lake (the only natural lake in Sicily) and a little-used motor-racing circuit that - bizarrely - runs around its entire perimeter. (There is a one-way system in force for driving, anticlockwise around the lake, but it's only a couple of miles, through pretty woodland, and doesn't take long.)
The staff were delightful and attentive, the room comfortable with a view over swimming pool and lake. Unusually, the bathroom had a heated towel rail, which was brilliant for drying towels etc overnight.
We enjoyed the distant views of snowcapped Etna while waiting for the lift in the morning.
The restaurant was huge, and the first night was filled with a big local party of 100 people of all ages to celebrate "women's day". We ate the same fishy menu as them, and it was delicious. The other two evenings we ate in the hotel's pizzeria.
From the Riviera, we visited the hilltop castle of Sperlinga to the north, the wonderful Roman villa and its mosaics at Piazza Armerina to the south-east, and a curious little museum of railway and local customs in the tiny station of Villarosa, to the west. Enna is just about in the centre of Sicily, so it would have been quite possible to visit Cefalu on the north coast or Agrigento in the south from here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loiseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were out of season and so the Riviera hotel was very quiet while we were there, although we did have the pleasure of some vintage cars over the first weekend who were staying for a rally at the autodromo. The staff were very helpful, the hotel clean and comfortable, the pool excellent and the food in the restaurent good. We dined in every night. It was obviously a hotel more for visiting Italians than English which we enjoyed. We found it a great place to stay for visits to Enna, the Villa Romana and we even managed a day drive to Agrigento from here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fhdCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Only Italians would build a racetrack around a nature reserve and Sicily's only natural lake!

The hotel itself was much better than we expected from the picture - our room was very modern, clean and spacious, and the bathroom was absolutely enormous! Despite the fact that the season had hardly started and we were one of only a few couples staying in the hotel, the food on offer was quite acceptable.

You can even see Etna in the distance from the upper floors on a good day.

Overall, very good value for money - but as another reviewer said, don't miss the entrance! If you, do you have to go another 2 miles around the one-way system round the lake to get back to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view - I can imagine that summer evenings will be idyllic with crickets a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK-EastAngle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fgura
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I wish I had more time to stay in this Hotel ,very relaxing

I am from Malta

Room Tip: No Problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MotorBikeHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

on edge of lake, but lake surrounds are a race track.. To arrive you drive 1/2 round the lake and the hotel off on the right. to get back to the main road you have to go round the rest of the way round the lake, which is a pain.

plenty of sun beds, friendly staff, eccentric tv and air con, but quickly fixed when requested.

no idea what it would be like on a race day. excellent and cheap local resturants in pergusa, go down the other dead end race track rd to find them, quite brilliant and unexpected

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enna
3.4 mi away
Hotel Sicilia
Hotel Sicilia
#3 of 5 in Enna
243 reviews
1.8 mi away
Federico II Palace Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#2 of 5 in Enna
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#1 of 1 in Pergusa
53 reviews
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel Paradiso
Park Hotel Paradiso
#6 of 10 in Piazza Armerina
299 reviews
13.1 mi away
Antichi Ricordi
Antichi Ricordi
#1 of 4 in Caltanissetta
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Contrada Zagaria Pergusa, 94010, Enna, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Enna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Enna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riviera Hotel is a magnificent three-star hotel within a Protected Natural Reserve, equipped with restaurant, bar and pizzeria; The terrace and pool overlooking the mythical Lake Pergusa, in the province of Enna, thus giving the whole structure the magnificence of a natural view. A more than just recognition for the professionalism also comes from receptions and ceremonies. The Riviera Hotel is in fact able to set up any type of reception in their structure or in villas or external to your home, with dream boards for different occasions: weddings, business lunches, parties and other numerous times, in where the food is the star. The preparation of the service and of the tables is always well cared for and is the setting for many rich dishes and delicious, worthy of the most demanding gourmets .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Enna, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing